How many calories are in walnuts?
An ounce of walnuts (14 halves) (28.4 g) has 185 calories. 100 g has 654 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 190.
An ounce of shelled English walnuts, about 14 halves (28.4 g), has 185 calories, 18.5 g of fat, 4.3 g of protein and 3.9 g of carbohydrate. Most of the fat, 13.4 g, is polyunsaturated, a higher share than in other common nuts.
FDA standard format. Values use the FDA rounding rules for the serving you pick. Nutrients USDA does not report for this food print as 0 on the panel and as "not reported" in the table.
Download this label: SVG · PNG Free to use as a reference. A label for a product you sell needs your full recipe and ingredient statement.
1 oz (14 halves) (28.4 g)
Opens the free label generator with this amount of walnuts already added. Add the rest of your ingredients and the label updates as you go.
| Nutrient | Per serving | % DV* | Per 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories and macronutrients | |||
| Calories | 185 | 654 | |
| Total fat | 18.5 g | 24% | 65.2 g |
| Saturated fat | 1.7 g | 9% | 6.13 g |
| Trans fat | not reported | ||
| Monounsaturated fat | 2.5 g | 8.93 g | |
| Polyunsaturated fat | 13.4 g | 47.2 g | |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg | 0% | 0 mg |
| Sodium | 0.57 mg | 0% | 2 mg |
| Total carbohydrate | 3.9 g | 1% | 13.7 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1.9 g | 7% | 6.7 g |
| Total sugars | 0.7 g | 2.61 g | |
| Added sugars | 0 g | 0% | 0 g |
| Protein | 4.3 g | 15.2 g | |
| Vitamins | |||
| Vitamin D | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Vitamin A | 0.28 mcg | 0% | 1 mcg |
| Vitamin C | 0.37 mg | 0% | 1.3 mg |
| Vitamin E | 0.2 mg | 1% | 0.7 mg |
| Vitamin K | 0.77 mcg | 1% | 2.7 mcg |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.1 mg | 8% | 0.34 mg |
| Riboflavin (B2) | <0.1 mg | 3% | 0.15 mg |
| Niacin (B3) | 0.32 mg | 2% | 1.13 mg |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.15 mg | 9% | 0.54 mg |
| Folate (DFE) | 28 mcg | 7% | 98 mcg |
| Vitamin B12 | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Choline | 11 mg | 2% | 39.2 mg |
| Minerals | |||
| Calcium | 28 mg | 2% | 98 mg |
| Iron | 0.82 mg | 5% | 2.91 mg |
| Potassium | 125 mg | 3% | 441 mg |
| Magnesium | 45 mg | 11% | 158 mg |
| Phosphorus | 98 mg | 8% | 346 mg |
| Zinc | 0.88 mg | 8% | 3.09 mg |
| Copper | 0.45 mg | 50% | 1.59 mg |
| Manganese | 0.97 mg | 42% | 3.41 mg |
| Selenium | 1.4 mcg | 3% | 4.9 mcg |
| Other | |||
| Water | 1.2 g | 4.07 g | |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | |
| Alcohol | 0 g | 0 g | |
* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet (FDA reference values for adults and children 4 years and older). Per-100 g values are USDA figures before label rounding.
Every serving below is a USDA household measure for this food, a fraction of one, or a unit conversion. Amounts are USDA values scaled by weight; only the Nutrition Facts panel applies the coarser FDA label rounding.
| Serving | Weight | Calories | Total carbohydrate | Protein | Total fat | Dietary fiber | Total sugars |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 cup, chopped | 117 g | 765 | 16 g | 17.8 g | 76.3 g | 7.8 g | 3.1 g |
| 1 cup, ground | 80 g | 523 | 11 g | 12.2 g | 52.2 g | 5.4 g | 2.1 g |
| 1 cup, in shell, edible yield (7 nuts) | 28 g | 183 | 3.8 g | 4.3 g | 18.3 g | 1.9 g | 0.7 g |
| 1 cup shelled (50 halves) | 100 g | 654 | 13.7 g | 15.2 g | 65.2 g | 6.7 g | 2.6 g |
| 1 cup pieces or chips | 120 g | 785 | 16.5 g | 18.3 g | 78.3 g | 8 g | 3.1 g |
| 1 oz (14 halves) | 28.4 g | 185 | 3.9 g | 4.3 g | 18.5 g | 1.9 g | 0.7 g |
An ounce of walnuts (14 halves) (28.4 g) has 185 calories. 100 g has 654 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 190.
An ounce of walnuts (14 halves) (28.4 g) has 18.5 g total fat: 1.7 g saturated, 2.5 g monounsaturated and 13.4 g polyunsaturated.
An ounce of walnuts (14 halves) (28.4 g) has 4.3 g protein, 9% of the 50 g Daily Value. 100 g has 15.2 g. That is below the 10% DV a serving needs for a "good source" claim.
An ounce of walnuts (14 halves) (28.4 g) has 3.9 g total carbohydrate, including 1.9 g dietary fiber and 0.7 g total sugars. Carbohydrate minus fiber is 2 g.
An ounce of walnuts (14 halves) (28.4 g) has 45 mg of magnesium, 11% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 158 mg. At 10 to 19% DV per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for a "good source" claim.
100 g of walnuts has 654 calories, 15.2 g protein, 13.7 g carbohydrate, 6.7 g fiber, 2.61 g sugars and 65.2 g fat.
About 8% of the calories in walnuts come from carbohydrate, 84% from fat and 9% from protein (Atwater factors of 4, 9 and 4 calories per gram).
The walnuts sold in most US stores are English walnuts, also called Persian walnuts: a thin-shelled nut with a mild, slightly bitter skin. USDA's record on this page is for them, raw and shelled. Black walnuts are a separate native North American species with a very hard shell and a stronger, earthier flavor; they are sold mostly as pieces for baking and ice cream and have their own USDA record.
USDA measures walnuts several ways: an ounce of halves, a cup of halves, a cup chopped, a cup ground and a cup of whole nuts in the shell, where only the kernel (28 g) counts. A cup of chopped walnuts (117 g) holds more than a cup of halves because the pieces pack tighter.
Walnuts' polyunsaturated fat makes them go rancid faster than most nuts. Keep shelled walnuts in an airtight container in the refrigerator, or freeze them for longer storage; they can be used straight from the freezer. Walnuts in the shell keep longer than shelled ones. A sharp, paint-like smell or a very bitter taste means they have turned.
Walnut is a tree nut, one of the major food allergens, and US labels must name the specific nut: "Contains: Walnuts", not just "tree nuts". For the nutrition panel, weigh shelled walnuts in grams, since a cup can mean halves, pieces or ground walnuts with different weights, and enter them in the label generator. Candied or roasted walnuts need the added sugar, oil and salt entered as ingredients. Check the reference amount for nuts or for your finished product in the RACC lookup.
The same serving of walnuts, drawn by the label formats other markets require: the Canadian bilingual Nutrition Facts table, the EU nutrition declaration (per 100 g, energy in kJ and kcal, salt instead of sodium) and the UK nutrition information table with reference intakes. The generator switches between these and many more from one recipe.
| Fat / Lipides | 18 g | 25 % |
| Saturated / Saturés | 1.7 g + Trans 0 g | 9 % |
| Cholesterol / Cholestérol | 0 mg | 0 % |
| Sodium | 0 mg | 0 % |
| Carbohydrate / Glucides | 4 g | 1 % |
| Fibre / Fibres | 2 g | 7 % |
| Sugars / Sucres | 1 g | 1 % |
| Protein / Protéines | 4 g | |
| Vitamin D / Vitamine D | 0 mcg | 0 % |
| Calcium | 28 mg | 2 % |
| Iron / Fer | 1 mg | 5 % |
| Potassium | 125 mg | 4 % |
| Per 100g | |
|---|---|
| Energy | 2732 kJ / 653 kcal |
| Fat | 65 g |
| of which saturates | 6.1 g |
| Carbohydrate | 14 g |
| of which sugars | 2.6 g |
| Protein | 15 g |
| Salt | 0.0 g |
| Per 100g | Per 28.4g | %RI* | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Energy | 2732 kJ 653 kcal |
776 kJ 185 kcal |
9.3% |
| Fat | 65g | 18g | 26% |
| of which saturates | 6.1g | 1.7g | 8.7% |
| Carbohydrate | 14g | 3.9g | 1.5% |
| of which sugars | 2.6g | 0.7g | <1% |
| Fibre | 6.7g | 1.9g | - |
| Protein | 15g | 4.3g | 8.6% |
| Salt | 0 gg | 0 gg | <1% |
If you make and sell a product that contains walnuts, these free tools cover the next steps.
Nutrient values are from USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy (April 2018 release, public domain), record 170187: "Nuts, walnuts, english". Values are stored per 100 g exactly as USDA reports them and scaled to each serving by weight. The Nutrition Facts panel applies the FDA rounding rules in 21 CFR 101.9; tables and text show the scaled amounts at reading precision, so a figure can differ slightly from the panel. A nutrient USDA does not report for this food is shown as not reported, never as a guessed value.
SR Legacy predates the added sugars field. This is a whole or unsweetened food, so added sugars are shown as 0 g. View the USDA record ↗