Skip to content
Nutrition database · Breakfast cereals

Oats and Oatmeal Nutrition Facts, Dry and Cooked

Half a cup of dry rolled or quick oats (40.5 g) has 153 calories, 5.3 g of protein, 4.1 g of fiber and 27.4 g of carbohydrate. These are USDA's numbers for plain, unfortified oats before cooking; water adds no calories, so a bowl of oatmeal made from that half cup with water has the same totals.

Default serving
1/2 cup (40.5 g)

Oats Nutrition Facts label

Nutrition Facts 1 serving per container Serving size 1/2 cup (40.5g) Amount per serving Calories 150 % Daily Value* Total Fat 2.5g 3% Saturated Fat 0g 2% Trans Fat 0g Cholesterol 0mg 0% Sodium 0mg 0% Total Carbohydrate 27g 10% Dietary Fiber 4g 15% Total Sugars 0g Includes 0g Added Sugars 0% Protein 5g Vitamin D 0mcg 0% Calcium 20mg 2% Iron 1.7mg 10% Potassium 150mg 3% The % Daily Value (DV) tells you how much a nutrient in a serving of food contributes to a daily diet. 2,000 calories a day is used for general nutrition advice. *

FDA standard format. Values use the FDA rounding rules for the serving you pick. Nutrients USDA does not report for this food print as 0 on the panel and as "not reported" in the table.

Download this label: SVG · PNG Free to use as a reference. A label for a product you sell needs your full recipe and ingredient statement.

1/2 cup (40.5 g)

At a glance

Calories
153
Protein
5.3 g · 11%
Total carbohydrate
27.4 g · 10%
Total fat
2.6 g · 3%
Dietary fiber
4.1 g · 15%
Total sugars
0.4 g · 0%
Sodium
2.4 mg · 0%
Use oats in a recipe

Opens the free label generator with this amount of oats already added. Add the rest of your ingredients and the label updates as you go.

All nutrients for this serving
1/2 cup (40.5 g)
NutrientPer serving% DV*Per 100 g
Calories and macronutrients
Calories153379
Total fat2.6 g3%6.52 g
Saturated fat0.4 g2%1.11 g
Trans fatnot reported
Monounsaturated fat0.8 g1.98 g
Polyunsaturated fat0.9 g2.3 g
Cholesterol0 mg0%0 mg
Sodium2.4 mg0%6 mg
Total carbohydrate27.4 g10%67.7 g
Dietary fiber4.1 g15%10.1 g
Total sugars0.4 g0.99 g
Added sugars0 g0%0 g
Protein5.3 g13.2 g
Vitamins
Vitamin D0 mcg0%0 mcg
Vitamin A0 mcg0%0 mcg
Vitamin C0 mg0%0 mg
Vitamin E0.17 mg1%0.42 mg
Vitamin K0.81 mcg1%2 mcg
Thiamin (B1)0.19 mg16%0.46 mg
Riboflavin (B2)0.06 mg5%0.16 mg
Niacin (B3)0.46 mg3%1.13 mg
Vitamin B6<0.1 mg2%0.1 mg
Folate (DFE)13 mcg3%32 mcg
Vitamin B120 mcg0%0 mcg
Choline16 mg3%40.4 mg
Minerals
Calcium21 mg2%52 mg
Iron1.7 mg10%4.25 mg
Potassium147 mg3%362 mg
Magnesium56 mg13%138 mg
Phosphorus166 mg13%410 mg
Zinc1.5 mg13%3.64 mg
Copper0.16 mg18%0.39 mg
Manganese1.5 mg64%3.63 mg
Selenium12 mcg21%28.9 mcg
Other
Water4.4 g10.8 g
Caffeine0 mg0 mg
Alcohol0 g0 g

* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet (FDA reference values for adults and children 4 years and older). Per-100 g values are USDA figures before label rounding.

Oats nutrition by serving size

Every serving below is a USDA household measure for this food, a fraction of one, or a unit conversion. Amounts are USDA values scaled by weight; only the Nutrition Facts panel applies the coarser FDA label rounding.

ServingWeightCaloriesTotal carbohydrateProteinTotal fatDietary fiberTotal sugars
1 cup81 g30754.8 g10.7 g5.3 g8.2 g0.8 g
1/3 cup27 g10218.3 g3.6 g1.8 g2.7 g0.3 g
1/2 cup40.5 g15327.4 g5.3 g2.6 g4.1 g0.4 g
100 g100 g37967.7 g13.2 g6.5 g10.1 g1 g

How many calories are in oats?

A half cup of dry oats (40.5 g) has 153 calories. 100 g has 379 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 150.

How many carbs are in oats?

A half cup of dry oats (40.5 g) has 27.4 g total carbohydrate, including 4.1 g dietary fiber and 0.4 g total sugars. Carbohydrate minus fiber is 23.3 g.

How much fiber is in oats?

A half cup of dry oats (40.5 g) has 4.1 g of fiber, 15% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 10.1 g. At 10 to 19% DV per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for a "good source" claim.

How much protein is in oats?

A half cup of dry oats (40.5 g) has 5.3 g protein, 11% of the 50 g Daily Value. 100 g has 13.2 g. At 10 to 19% DV per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for a "good source" claim.

How much iron is in oats?

A half cup of dry oats (40.5 g) has 1.7 mg of iron, 10% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 4.25 mg. At 10 to 19% DV per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for a "good source" claim.

How much manganese is in oats?

A half cup of dry oats (40.5 g) has 1.5 mg of manganese, 64% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 3.63 mg. At 20% DV or more per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for an "excellent source" claim.

Oats nutrition per 100 grams

100 g of oats has 379 calories, 13.2 g protein, 67.7 g carbohydrate, 10.1 g fiber, 0.99 g sugars and 6.52 g fat.

Where the calories in oats come from

About 71% of the calories in oats come from carbohydrate, 15% from fat and 14% from protein (Atwater factors of 4, 9 and 4 calories per gram).

What USDA's oats record covers

Oats are a cereal grain, and every common form of plain oats is a whole grain: the hull is removed, but the bran, germ and endosperm of the kernel (the groat) stay together. The record on this page covers regular (old-fashioned) rolled oats and quick oats, measured dry and without added vitamins or minerals.

That last point matters when you compare labels. Many instant oatmeal packets are fortified with added iron and B vitamins, and flavored ones contain added sugar and salt, so their panels can look quite different from plain oats even though the grain is the same.

Steel-cut, rolled, quick and instant oats

  • Steel-cut oats: whole groats chopped into pieces. Chewy, and the slowest to cook.
  • Rolled (old-fashioned) oats: groats steamed and flattened into flakes.
  • Quick oats: rolled thinner or cut smaller, so they cook in a few minutes.
  • Instant oats: precooked, dried and rolled very thin; often sold in flavored packets.
  • Oat flour: oats ground fine for baking. See oat flour nutrition.

Per gram, plain oats in all these forms have nearly the same nutrition. Per cup they do not: steel-cut oats are dense, so packages typically list a quarter cup of steel-cut oats as a serving against half a cup of rolled oats for about the same weight. Weigh oats, or compare labels by grams, rather than by cups.

Dry vs cooked oats, with water or milk

Oats absorb liquid as they cook, so half a cup of dry rolled oats becomes about a cup of oatmeal. The calories do not change, they are just spread through more weight. That is why cooked oatmeal looks low in calories per 100 g; most of that weight is water. Count oatmeal by the dry oats you started with.

Cooking oats in milk instead of water adds the milk's calories, protein, fat and sugar. Overnight oats work the same way: the oats are unchanged, and the total is the oats plus the milk, yogurt and toppings you add.

How oats are used

Beyond hot oatmeal and overnight oats, rolled oats go into granola, muesli, oatmeal cookies, muffins and the crumble topping on fruit crisps. They are blended into smoothies, ground into flour for pancakes, and used as a binder in meatballs and meatloaf in place of breadcrumbs. Food manufacturers use oats in breakfast cereals, granola and snack bars, baked goods, and oat-based drinks.

Foods made with oats

Simple oat recipes

Blueberry overnight oats

Stir rolled oats and chia seeds into milk in a jar, refrigerate overnight, and top with blueberries.

Oats · Whole Milk · Chia Seeds · Blueberries

Banana oat pancakes

Blend oats, a ripe banana, an egg and a splash of milk into a batter and cook small pancakes in a pan.

Oats · Banana · Egg · Whole Milk

Peanut butter oat bites

Mix oats with peanut butter and honey, fold in chocolate chips, roll into balls and chill.

Oats · Peanut Butter · Honey · Chocolate Chips

How to store oats

Keep oats in an airtight container in a cool, dry pantry, where they keep for months. Because the whole grain includes the germ, with its small amount of natural fat, very old oats can taste stale; buy amounts you will use. Cooked oatmeal and overnight oats keep a few days in the refrigerator.

Labeling a product made with oats

For granola, bars, cookies or overnight oats, weigh the dry oats that go into the recipe and use dry data like this page, then set servings from the finished product weight. Oats contain no gluten themselves, but regular oats are often contaminated with wheat or barley during growing and milling. A product labeled gluten-free must contain fewer than 20 parts per million of gluten, which in practice means using oats sourced and tested as gluten-free. Build the recipe in the label generator or the recipe nutrition calculator, and check the reference amount for your category, such as cereal or bars, in the RACC lookup.

Oats nutrition label for Canada, the EU and the UK

The same serving of oats, drawn by the label formats other markets require: the Canadian bilingual Nutrition Facts table, the EU nutrition declaration (per 100 g, energy in kJ and kcal, salt instead of sodium) and the UK nutrition information table with reference intakes. The generator switches between these and many more from one recipe.

Frequently asked questions about oats

How many calories are in a cup of dry oats?
A cup of dry rolled or quick oats (81 g) has 307 calories. A third of a cup (27 g) has 102 calories.
How many calories are in oats made with milk vs water?
Made with water, the oatmeal has only the calories of the oats, 153 for half a cup dry. Made with milk, add the milk you use; a cup of whole milk adds almost as many calories as the oats themselves.
How many calories are in overnight oats?
There is no single number, because overnight oats are a mix. Start with 153 calories for half a cup of dry oats and add the milk, yogurt, seeds, fruit and sweetener in your jar, or enter the recipe in the label generator.
Are oats gluten-free?
Oats do not contain gluten, but regular oats are often mixed with traces of wheat, barley or rye during farming and milling. Oats sold as gluten-free are grown and handled to keep them below the FDA gluten-free limit.
Oats vs rice: how do they compare?
Dry for dry, oats and rice have similar calories, but oats have considerably more protein, fat and fiber. Cooked oatmeal holds more water than cooked rice, so it has fewer calories per gram as served.
Are steel-cut oats more nutritious than rolled oats?
Not per gram: they are the same whole grain cut differently. Steel-cut oats take longer to cook and have a chewier texture, and a cup of them weighs more than a cup of rolled oats.
Is there sugar in oats?
Plain oats have very little, 0.4 g in half a cup dry. Flavored instant oatmeal packets often contain added sugar, which shows on their labels as added sugars.
What is a serving of oats?
This page defaults to 1/2 cup (40.5 g), a USDA household measure. The serving size on a packaged food label is set by the FDA reference amount (RACC) for its category, so a product label can use a different amount. The selector above shows every USDA measure for oats.
Can I use oats in a Nutrition Facts label calculation?
Yes. Open the generator with oats added, enter the weight you use, add your other ingredients and the label is calculated from the same USDA record shown here. A label for a product you sell must reflect your actual recipe and finished serving.

Oats compared with other forms

Different forms of the same food are separate USDA records, so each has its own page. Per 100 g:

FormCaloriesProteinTotal fatTotal carbohydrate
OatsCereals, oats, regular and quick, not fortified, dry37913.2 g6.52 g67.7 g
OatmealCereals, oats, regular and quick, unenriched, cooked with water (includes boiling and microwaving), without salt712.54 g1.52 g12 g

Often compared or used with oats

More in Breakfast cereals

Tools and guides for labeling oats

If you make and sell a product that contains oats, these free tools cover the next steps.

Source and method

Nutrient values are from USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy (April 2018 release, public domain), record 173904: "Cereals, oats, regular and quick, not fortified, dry". Values are stored per 100 g exactly as USDA reports them and scaled to each serving by weight. The Nutrition Facts panel applies the FDA rounding rules in 21 CFR 101.9; tables and text show the scaled amounts at reading precision, so a figure can differ slightly from the panel. A nutrient USDA does not report for this food is shown as not reported, never as a guessed value.

SR Legacy predates the added sugars field. This is a whole or unsweetened food, so added sugars are shown as 0 g. View the USDA record ↗

Make a Nutrition Facts label with oats

Add oats and the rest of your recipe. The label, %DV and serving math are done for you. Free to start.