How many calories are in flour?
A quarter cup of all-purpose flour (31.3 g) has 114 calories. 100 g has 364 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 110.
A quarter cup of all-purpose flour (31.3 g) has 114 calories, 23.8 g of carbohydrate and 3.2 g of protein, and a full cup (125 g) has 455 calories. The figures come from USDA's record for enriched, bleached all-purpose wheat flour, measured dry.
FDA standard format. Values use the FDA rounding rules for the serving you pick. Nutrients USDA does not report for this food print as 0 on the panel and as "not reported" in the table.
Download this label: SVG · PNG Free to use as a reference. A label for a product you sell needs your full recipe and ingredient statement.
1/4 cup (31.3 g)
Opens the free label generator with this amount of all-purpose flour already added. Add the rest of your ingredients and the label updates as you go.
| Nutrient | Per serving | % DV* | Per 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories and macronutrients | |||
| Calories | 114 | 364 | |
| Total fat | 0.3 g | 0% | 0.98 g |
| Saturated fat | <0.1 g | 0% | 0.16 g |
| Trans fat | not reported | ||
| Monounsaturated fat | <0.1 g | 0.09 g | |
| Polyunsaturated fat | 0.1 g | 0.41 g | |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg | 0% | 0 mg |
| Sodium | 0.63 mg | 0% | 2 mg |
| Total carbohydrate | 23.8 g | 9% | 76.3 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0.8 g | 3% | 2.7 g |
| Total sugars | 0.1 g | 0.27 g | |
| Added sugars | 0 g | 0% | 0 g |
| Protein | 3.2 g | 10.3 g | |
| Vitamins | |||
| Vitamin D | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Vitamin A | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg | 0% | 0 mg |
| Vitamin E | <0.1 mg | 0% | 0.06 mg |
| Vitamin K | 0.09 mcg | 0% | 0.3 mcg |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.25 mg | 20% | 0.79 mg |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.15 mg | 12% | 0.49 mg |
| Niacin (B3) | 1.8 mg | 12% | 5.9 mg |
| Vitamin B6 | <0.1 mg | 1% | 0.04 mg |
| Folate (DFE) | 91 mcg | 23% | 291 mcg |
| Vitamin B12 | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Choline | 3.3 mg | 1% | 10.4 mg |
| Minerals | |||
| Calcium | 4.7 mg | 0% | 15 mg |
| Iron | 1.5 mg | 8% | 4.64 mg |
| Potassium | 33 mg | 1% | 107 mg |
| Magnesium | 6.9 mg | 2% | 22 mg |
| Phosphorus | 34 mg | 3% | 108 mg |
| Zinc | 0.22 mg | 2% | 0.7 mg |
| Copper | <0.1 mg | 5% | 0.14 mg |
| Manganese | 0.21 mg | 9% | 0.68 mg |
| Selenium | 11 mcg | 19% | 33.9 mcg |
| Other | |||
| Water | 3.7 g | 11.9 g | |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | |
| Alcohol | 0 g | 0 g | |
* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet (FDA reference values for adults and children 4 years and older). Per-100 g values are USDA figures before label rounding.
Every serving below is a USDA household measure for this food, a fraction of one, or a unit conversion. Amounts are USDA values scaled by weight; only the Nutrition Facts panel applies the coarser FDA label rounding.
| Serving | Weight | Calories | Total carbohydrate | Protein | Total fat | Dietary fiber | Total sugars |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 cup | 125 g | 455 | 95.4 g | 12.9 g | 1.2 g | 3.4 g | 0.3 g |
| 1/4 cup | 31.3 g | 114 | 23.8 g | 3.2 g | 0.3 g | 0.8 g | 0.1 g |
| 100 g | 100 g | 364 | 76.3 g | 10.3 g | 1 g | 2.7 g | 0.3 g |
A quarter cup of all-purpose flour (31.3 g) has 114 calories. 100 g has 364 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 110.
A quarter cup of all-purpose flour (31.3 g) has 23.8 g total carbohydrate, including 0.8 g dietary fiber and 0.1 g total sugars. Carbohydrate minus fiber is 23 g.
A quarter cup of all-purpose flour (31.3 g) has 3.2 g protein, 6% of the 50 g Daily Value. 100 g has 10.3 g. That is below the 10% DV a serving needs for a "good source" claim.
A quarter cup of all-purpose flour (31.3 g) has 91 mcg of folate, 23% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 291 mcg. At 20% DV or more per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for an "excellent source" claim.
A quarter cup of all-purpose flour (31.3 g) has 1.5 mg of iron, 8% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 4.64 mg. That is below the 10% DV a serving needs for a "good source" claim.
100 g of all-purpose flour has 364 calories, 10.3 g protein, 76.3 g carbohydrate, 2.7 g fiber, 0.27 g sugars and 0.98 g fat.
About 86% of the calories in all-purpose flour come from carbohydrate, 2% from fat and 12% from protein (Atwater factors of 4, 9 and 4 calories per gram).
All-purpose flour is milled from the starchy endosperm of the wheat kernel, with the bran and germ removed. Its protein content sits between soft cake flour and hard bread flour, so it can make tender cookies and still hold together a yeast loaf.
Most all-purpose flour sold in the US is enriched: federal rules for enriched flour require added thiamin, riboflavin, niacin, folic acid and iron, which is why a plain white flour shows 91 mcg of folate and 1.5 mg of iron per quarter cup. Bleached flour has been treated to whiten it and soften its baking behavior; unbleached flour is aged without that treatment. The calories, carbohydrate and protein of the two are essentially the same.
This page also answers searches for "white flour" and "wheat flour", because in US recipes both usually mean refined all-purpose flour. Other types label differently:
Keep flour airtight in a cool, dry cupboard, away from moisture and pantry insects. White flour keeps longer than whole wheat flour, whose germ contains oils that go stale. Flour is a raw ingredient: it has not been treated to kill bacteria, so raw dough and batter should be cooked before eating.
For bread, cookies or a baking mix, weigh the flour in grams rather than cups: a scooped cup packs in more flour than USDA's spooned and leveled cup of 125 g, and that gap goes straight into your calories. Enter every ingredient in the label generator, then set servings from the finished product, which weighs less than the dough because water bakes off. Use the RACC lookup for the reference amount of your product category, and the ingredient formatter to list enriched flour with its added nutrients in parentheses.
The same serving of all-purpose flour, drawn by the label formats other markets require: the Canadian bilingual Nutrition Facts table, the EU nutrition declaration (per 100 g, energy in kJ and kcal, salt instead of sodium) and the UK nutrition information table with reference intakes. The generator switches between these and many more from one recipe.
| Fat / Lipides | 0 g | 0 % |
| Saturated / Saturés | 0 g + Trans 0 g | 0 % |
| Cholesterol / Cholestérol | 0 mg | 0 % |
| Sodium | 0 mg | 0 % |
| Carbohydrate / Glucides | 24 g | 9 % |
| Fibre / Fibres | 1 g | 3 % |
| Sugars / Sucres | 0 g | 0 % |
| Protein / Protéines | 3 g | |
| Vitamin D / Vitamine D | 0 mcg | 0 % |
| Calcium | 5 mg | 0 % |
| Iron / Fer | 1 mg | 8 % |
| Potassium | 33 mg | 1 % |
| Per 100g | |
|---|---|
| Energy | 1521 kJ / 363 kcal |
| Fat | 1.0 g |
| of which saturates | 0.2 g |
| Carbohydrate | 76 g |
| of which sugars | 0.3 g |
| Protein | 10 g |
| Salt | 0.0 g |
| Per 100g | Per 31.3g | %RI* | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Energy | 1521 kJ 363 kcal |
476 kJ 114 kcal |
5.7% |
| Fat | 1.0g | 0 gg | <1% |
| of which saturates | 0.2g | 0 gg | <1% |
| Carbohydrate | 76g | 24g | 9.2% |
| of which sugars | 0 gg | 0 gg | <1% |
| Fibre | 2.7g | 0.8g | - |
| Protein | 10g | 3.2g | 6.5% |
| Salt | 0 gg | 0 gg | <1% |
If you make and sell a product that contains all-purpose flour, these free tools cover the next steps.
Nutrient values are from USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy (April 2018 release, public domain), record 168894: "Wheat flour, white, all-purpose, enriched, bleached". Values are stored per 100 g exactly as USDA reports them and scaled to each serving by weight. The Nutrition Facts panel applies the FDA rounding rules in 21 CFR 101.9; tables and text show the scaled amounts at reading precision, so a figure can differ slightly from the panel. A nutrient USDA does not report for this food is shown as not reported, never as a guessed value.
SR Legacy predates the added sugars field. This is a whole or unsweetened food, so added sugars are shown as 0 g. View the USDA record ↗