How many calories are in peanuts?
An ounce of dry-roasted peanuts (28.4 g) has 166 calories. 100 g has 587 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 170.
An ounce of dry-roasted, unsalted peanuts (28.4 g) has 166 calories, 6.9 g of protein and 14.1 g of fat, most of it unsaturated. The values are for shelled kernels, so the shell is not part of the weight.
FDA standard format. Values use the FDA rounding rules for the serving you pick. Nutrients USDA does not report for this food print as 0 on the panel and as "not reported" in the table.
Download this label: SVG · PNG Free to use as a reference. A label for a product you sell needs your full recipe and ingredient statement.
1 oz (28.4 g)
Opens the free label generator with this amount of peanuts already added. Add the rest of your ingredients and the label updates as you go.
| Nutrient | Per serving | % DV* | Per 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories and macronutrients | |||
| Calories | 166 | 587 | |
| Total fat | 14.1 g | 18% | 49.7 g |
| Saturated fat | 2.2 g | 11% | 7.72 g |
| Trans fat | <0.1 g | 0.03 g | |
| Monounsaturated fat | 7.4 g | 26.2 g | |
| Polyunsaturated fat | 2.8 g | 9.77 g | |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg | 0% | 0 mg |
| Sodium | 1.7 mg | 0% | 6 mg |
| Total carbohydrate | 6 g | 2% | 21.3 g |
| Dietary fiber | 2.4 g | 9% | 8.4 g |
| Total sugars | 1.4 g | 4.9 g | |
| Added sugars | 0 g | 0% | 0 g |
| Protein | 6.9 g | 24.4 g | |
| Vitamins | |||
| Vitamin D | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Vitamin A | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg | 0% | 0 mg |
| Vitamin E | 1.4 mg | 9% | 4.93 mg |
| Vitamin K | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Thiamin (B1) | <0.1 mg | 4% | 0.15 mg |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.06 mg | 4% | 0.2 mg |
| Niacin (B3) | 4.1 mg | 25% | 14.4 mg |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.13 mg | 8% | 0.47 mg |
| Folate (DFE) | 27 mcg | 7% | 97 mcg |
| Vitamin B12 | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Choline | 18 mg | 3% | 64.6 mg |
| Minerals | |||
| Calcium | 16 mg | 1% | 58 mg |
| Iron | 0.45 mg | 2% | 1.58 mg |
| Potassium | 180 mg | 4% | 634 mg |
| Magnesium | 50 mg | 12% | 178 mg |
| Phosphorus | 103 mg | 8% | 363 mg |
| Zinc | 0.79 mg | 7% | 2.77 mg |
| Copper | 0.12 mg | 13% | 0.43 mg |
| Manganese | 0.51 mg | 22% | 1.79 mg |
| Selenium | 2.6 mcg | 5% | 9.3 mcg |
| Other | |||
| Water | 0.5 g | 1.81 g | |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | |
| Alcohol | 0 g | 0 g | |
* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet (FDA reference values for adults and children 4 years and older). Per-100 g values are USDA figures before label rounding.
Every serving below is a USDA household measure for this food, a fraction of one, or a unit conversion. Amounts are USDA values scaled by weight; only the Nutrition Facts panel applies the coarser FDA label rounding.
| Serving | Weight | Calories | Total carbohydrate | Protein | Total fat | Dietary fiber | Total sugars |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 cup | 146 g | 857 | 31 g | 35.6 g | 72.5 g | 12.3 g | 7.2 g |
| 1 peanut | 1 g | 6 | 0.2 g | 0.2 g | 0.5 g | 0.1 g | <0.1 g |
| 100 g | 100 g | 587 | 21.3 g | 24.4 g | 49.7 g | 8.4 g | 4.9 g |
An ounce of dry-roasted peanuts (28.4 g) has 166 calories. 100 g has 587 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 170.
An ounce of dry-roasted peanuts (28.4 g) has 6.9 g protein, 14% of the 50 g Daily Value. 100 g has 24.4 g. At 10 to 19% DV per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for a "good source" claim.
An ounce of dry-roasted peanuts (28.4 g) has 14.1 g total fat: 2.2 g saturated, 7.4 g monounsaturated and 2.8 g polyunsaturated.
An ounce of dry-roasted peanuts (28.4 g) has 2.4 g of fiber, 9% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 8.4 g. That is below the 10% DV a serving needs for a "good source" claim.
An ounce of dry-roasted peanuts (28.4 g) has 50 mg of magnesium, 12% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 178 mg. At 10 to 19% DV per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for a "good source" claim.
100 g of peanuts has 587 calories, 24.4 g protein, 21.3 g carbohydrate, 8.4 g fiber, 4.9 g sugars and 49.7 g fat.
About 14% of the calories in peanuts come from carbohydrate, 71% from fat and 15% from protein (Atwater factors of 4, 9 and 4 calories per gram).
Botanically, peanuts are legumes, related to beans and peas. The pods form underground after the flowers bend down into the soil, which is why peanuts are also called groundnuts. In the kitchen they are used like nuts, and their calories and fat are in the same range as tree nuts such as almonds and cashews.
The US grows four main market types: Runner (most of it goes into peanut butter), Virginia (large kernels, often sold roasted in the shell), Spanish (small, red-skinned, used in candy and mixed nuts) and Valencia, a small share used for natural peanut butter and boiling. The USDA record on this page is for all types, dry-roasted without salt or oil.
Because peanuts are mostly fat, they go rancid with time, heat and light. Keep shelled peanuts in a sealed container in a cool, dark place for short storage, or in the refrigerator or freezer for longer. Peanuts in the shell keep better than shelled ones. A bitter or paint-like smell means the oil has oxidized.
Peanut is one of the major food allergens under US law, so any product containing it needs a "Contains: Peanuts" statement or the word peanut in the ingredient list, separate from any tree nut declaration. For the nutrition panel, weigh shelled peanuts and match the record to your process: this one is dry-roasted and unsalted, so oil-roasted or salted peanuts need the added oil and salt entered as ingredients. Build the label in the label generator and check the reference amount for nuts or for your finished snack in the RACC lookup.
The same serving of peanuts, drawn by the label formats other markets require: the Canadian bilingual Nutrition Facts table, the EU nutrition declaration (per 100 g, energy in kJ and kcal, salt instead of sodium) and the UK nutrition information table with reference intakes. The generator switches between these and many more from one recipe.
| Fat / Lipides | 14 g | 19 % |
| Saturated / Saturés | 2.2 g + Trans 0 g | 11 % |
| Cholesterol / Cholestérol | 0 mg | 0 % |
| Sodium | 0 mg | 0 % |
| Carbohydrate / Glucides | 6 g | 2 % |
| Fibre / Fibres | 2 g | 9 % |
| Sugars / Sucres | 1 g | 1 % |
| Protein / Protéines | 7 g | |
| Vitamin D / Vitamine D | 0 mcg | 0 % |
| Calcium | 16 mg | 1 % |
| Iron / Fer | 0 mg | 2 % |
| Potassium | 180 mg | 5 % |
| Per 100g | |
|---|---|
| Energy | 2452 kJ / 586 kcal |
| Fat | 50 g |
| of which saturates | 7.7 g |
| Carbohydrate | 21 g |
| of which sugars | 4.9 g |
| Protein | 24 g |
| Salt | 0.0 g |
| Per 100g | Per 28.4g | %RI* | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Energy | 2452 kJ 586 kcal |
696 kJ 166 kcal |
8.3% |
| Fat | 50g | 14g | 20% |
| of which saturates | 7.7g | 2.2g | 11% |
| Carbohydrate | 21g | 6.0g | 2.3% |
| of which sugars | 4.9g | 1.4g | 1.5% |
| Fibre | 8.4g | 2.4g | - |
| Protein | 24g | 6.9g | 14% |
| Salt | 0.01g | 0 gg | <1% |
Different forms of the same food are separate USDA records, so each has its own page. Per 100 g:
| Form | Calories | Protein | Total fat | Total carbohydrate |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PeanutsPeanuts, all types, dry-roasted, without salt | 587 | 24.4 g | 49.7 g | 21.3 g |
| Boiled PeanutsPeanuts, all types, cooked, boiled, with salt | 318 | 13.5 g | 22 g | 21.3 g |
| Oil Roasted PeanutsPeanuts, all types, oil-roasted, without salt | 599 | 28 g | 52.5 g | 15.3 g |
| Raw PeanutsPeanuts, all types, raw | 567 | 25.8 g | 49.2 g | 16.1 g |
| Salted PeanutsPeanuts, all types, dry-roasted, with salt | 587 | 24.4 g | 49.7 g | 21.3 g |
If you make and sell a product that contains peanuts, these free tools cover the next steps.
Nutrient values are from USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy (April 2018 release, public domain), record 173806: "Peanuts, all types, dry-roasted, without salt". Values are stored per 100 g exactly as USDA reports them and scaled to each serving by weight. The Nutrition Facts panel applies the FDA rounding rules in 21 CFR 101.9; tables and text show the scaled amounts at reading precision, so a figure can differ slightly from the panel. A nutrient USDA does not report for this food is shown as not reported, never as a guessed value.
SR Legacy predates the added sugars field. This is a whole or unsweetened food, so added sugars are shown as 0 g. View the USDA record ↗