Skip to content
Nutrition database · Breakfast cereals

Instant Oatmeal Nutrition Facts

Instant oatmeal (1 cup, cooked, 234 g) has 159 calories, 5.5 g protein, 27.3 g carbohydrate and 3.2 g fat, according to USDA FoodData Central. 100 g has 68 calories. Change the serving below and the label, the summary and the full nutrient table update together.

Default serving
1 cup, cooked (234 g)

Instant Oatmeal Nutrition Facts label

Nutrition Facts 1 serving per container Serving size 1 cup, cooked (234g) Amount per serving Calories 160 % Daily Value* Total Fat 3g 4% Saturated Fat 0.5g 3% Trans Fat 0g Cholesterol 0mg 0% Sodium 115mg 5% Total Carbohydrate 27g 10% Dietary Fiber 4g 14% Total Sugars 1g Includes 0g Added Sugars 0% Protein 6g Vitamin D 0mcg 0% Calcium 190mg 14% Iron 13.9mg 77% Potassium 140mg 3% The % Daily Value (DV) tells you how much a nutrient in a serving of food contributes to a daily diet. 2,000 calories a day is used for general nutrition advice. *

FDA standard format. Values use the FDA rounding rules for the serving you pick. Nutrients USDA does not report for this food print as 0 on the panel and as "not reported" in the table.

Download this label: · PNG Free to use as a reference. A label for a product you sell needs your full recipe and ingredient statement.

1 cup, cooked (234 g)

At a glance

Calories
159
Protein
5.5 g · 11%
Total carbohydrate
27.3 g · 10%
Total fat
3.2 g · 4%
Dietary fiber
4 g · 14%
Total sugars
1.1 g · 0%
Sodium
115 mg · 5%
Use instant oatmeal in a recipe

Opens the free label generator with this amount of instant oatmeal already added. Add the rest of your ingredients and the label updates as you go.

All nutrients for this serving
1 cup, cooked (234 g)
NutrientPer serving% DV*Per 100 g
Calories and macronutrients
Calories15968
Total fat3.2 g4%1.36 g
Saturated fat0.5 g3%0.23 g
Trans fat<0.1 g0 g
Monounsaturated fat0.9 g0.39 g
Polyunsaturated fat1 g0.43 g
Cholesterol0 mg0%0 mg
Sodium115 mg5%49 mg
Total carbohydrate27.3 g10%11.7 g
Dietary fiber4 g14%1.7 g
Total sugars1.1 g0.46 g
Added sugars0 g0%0 g
Protein5.5 g2.37 g
Vitamins
Vitamin D0 mcg0%0 mcg
Vitamin A304 mcg34%130 mcg
Vitamin C0 mg0%0 mg
Vitamin E0.16 mg1%0.07 mg
Vitamin K0.94 mcg1%0.4 mcg
Thiamin (B1)0.61 mg51%0.26 mg
Riboflavin (B2)0.5 mg39%0.22 mg
Niacin (B3)7.1 mg44%3.03 mg
Vitamin B60.68 mg40%0.29 mg
Folate (DFE)166 mcg42%71 mcg
Vitamin B120 mcg0%0 mcg
Choline11 mg2%4.7 mg
Minerals
Calcium187 mg14%80 mg
Iron14 mg77%5.96 mg
Potassium143 mg3%61 mg
Magnesium61 mg14%26 mg
Phosphorus180 mg14%77 mg
Zinc1.5 mg13%0.62 mg
Copper0.15 mg17%0.07 mg
Manganese1.3 mg57%0.56 mg
Selenium12 mcg21%5 mcg
Other
Water196.6 g84 g
Caffeine0 mg0 mg
Alcohol0 g0 g

* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet (FDA reference values for adults and children 4 years and older). Per-100 g values are USDA figures before label rounding.

Instant Oatmeal nutrition by serving size

Every serving below is a USDA household measure for this food, a fraction of one, or a unit conversion. Amounts are USDA values scaled by weight; only the Nutrition Facts panel applies the coarser FDA label rounding.

ServingWeightCaloriesTotal carbohydrateProteinTotal fatDietary fiberTotal sugars
1 cup, cooked234 g15927.3 g5.5 g3.2 g4 g1.1 g
1 cup, dry, yields501 g34158.5 g11.9 g6.8 g8.5 g2.3 g
1 oz, dry, yields177 g12020.7 g4.2 g2.4 g3 g0.8 g
1 packet, dry, yields177 g12020.7 g4.2 g2.4 g3 g0.8 g
100 g100 g6811.7 g2.4 g1.4 g1.7 g0.5 g

How many calories are in instant oatmeal?

Instant oatmeal (1 cup, cooked, 234 g) has 159 calories. 100 g has 68 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 160.

How much iron is in instant oatmeal?

Instant oatmeal (1 cup, cooked, 234 g) has 14 mg of iron, 77% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 5.96 mg. At 20% DV or more per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for an "excellent source" claim.

How much manganese is in instant oatmeal?

Instant oatmeal (1 cup, cooked, 234 g) has 1.3 mg of manganese, 57% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 0.56 mg. At 20% DV or more per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for an "excellent source" claim.

Instant Oatmeal nutrition per 100 grams

100 g of instant oatmeal has 68 calories, 2.37 g protein, 11.7 g carbohydrate, 1.7 g fiber, 0.46 g sugars and 1.36 g fat.

Where the calories in instant oatmeal come from

About 68% of the calories in instant oatmeal come from carbohydrate, 18% from fat and 14% from protein (Atwater factors of 4, 9 and 4 calories per gram).

Instant Oatmeal nutrition label for Canada, the EU and the UK

The same serving of instant oatmeal, drawn by the label formats other markets require: the Canadian bilingual Nutrition Facts table, the EU nutrition declaration (per 100 g, energy in kJ and kcal, salt instead of sodium) and the UK nutrition information table with reference intakes. The generator switches between these and many more from one recipe.

Frequently asked questions about instant oatmeal

How many calories are in instant oatmeal?
Instant oatmeal (1 cup, cooked, 234 g) has 159 calories. 100 g has 68 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 160.
How many calories are in 100 g of instant oatmeal?
100 g of instant oatmeal has 68 calories, 2.37 g protein, 11.7 g carbohydrate and 1.36 g fat.
How much protein is in instant oatmeal?
Instant oatmeal (1 cup, cooked, 234 g) has 5.5 g protein, 11% of the 50 g Daily Value. 100 g has 2.37 g.
What is a serving of instant oatmeal?
This page defaults to 1 cup, cooked (234 g), a USDA household measure. The serving size on a packaged food label is set by the FDA reference amount (RACC) for its category, so a product label can use a different amount. The selector above shows every USDA measure for instant oatmeal.
Can I use instant oatmeal in a Nutrition Facts label calculation?
Yes. Open the generator with instant oatmeal added, enter the weight you use, add your other ingredients and the label is calculated from the same USDA record shown here. A label for a product you sell must reflect your actual recipe and finished serving.

Often compared or used with instant oatmeal

More in Breakfast cereals

Tools and guides for labeling instant oatmeal

If you make and sell a product that contains instant oatmeal, these free tools cover the next steps.

Source and method

Nutrient values are from USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy (April 2018 release, public domain), record 171662: "Cereals, oats, instant, fortified, plain, prepared with water (boiling water added or microwaved)". Values are stored per 100 g exactly as USDA reports them and scaled to each serving by weight. The Nutrition Facts panel applies the FDA rounding rules in 21 CFR 101.9; tables and text show the scaled amounts at reading precision, so a figure can differ slightly from the panel. A nutrient USDA does not report for this food is shown as not reported, never as a guessed value.

SR Legacy predates the added sugars field. This is a whole or unsweetened food, so added sugars are shown as 0 g. View the USDA record ↗

Make a Nutrition Facts label with instant oatmeal

Add instant oatmeal and the rest of your recipe. The label, %DV and serving math are done for you. Free to start.