How many calories are in quinoa?
A cup of cooked quinoa (185 g) has 222 calories. 100 g has 120 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 220.
A cup of cooked quinoa (185 g) has 222 calories, 39.4 g of carbohydrate, 8.1 g of protein and 5.2 g of fiber. The numbers are USDA's for quinoa after cooking in water, the way it is measured on the plate, not dry from the bag.
FDA standard format. Values use the FDA rounding rules for the serving you pick. Nutrients USDA does not report for this food print as 0 on the panel and as "not reported" in the table.
Download this label: SVG · PNG Free to use as a reference. A label for a product you sell needs your full recipe and ingredient statement.
1 cup (185 g)
Opens the free label generator with this amount of quinoa already added. Add the rest of your ingredients and the label updates as you go.
| Nutrient | Per serving | % DV* | Per 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories and macronutrients | |||
| Calories | 222 | 120 | |
| Total fat | 3.6 g | 5% | 1.92 g |
| Saturated fat | 0.4 g | 2% | 0.23 g |
| Trans fat | not reported | ||
| Monounsaturated fat | 1 g | 0.53 g | |
| Polyunsaturated fat | 2 g | 1.08 g | |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg | 0% | 0 mg |
| Sodium | 13 mg | 1% | 7 mg |
| Total carbohydrate | 39.4 g | 14% | 21.3 g |
| Dietary fiber | 5.2 g | 19% | 2.8 g |
| Total sugars | 1.6 g | 0.87 g | |
| Added sugars | 0 g | 0% | 0 g |
| Protein | 8.1 g | 4.4 g | |
| Vitamins | |||
| Vitamin D | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Vitamin A | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg | 0% | 0 mg |
| Vitamin E | 1.2 mg | 8% | 0.63 mg |
| Vitamin K | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.2 mg | 16% | 0.11 mg |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.2 mg | 16% | 0.11 mg |
| Niacin (B3) | 0.76 mg | 5% | 0.41 mg |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.23 mg | 13% | 0.12 mg |
| Folate (DFE) | 78 mcg | 19% | 42 mcg |
| Vitamin B12 | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Choline | 43 mg | 8% | 23 mg |
| Minerals | |||
| Calcium | 31 mg | 2% | 17 mg |
| Iron | 2.8 mg | 15% | 1.49 mg |
| Potassium | 318 mg | 7% | 172 mg |
| Magnesium | 118 mg | 28% | 64 mg |
| Phosphorus | 281 mg | 22% | 152 mg |
| Zinc | 2 mg | 18% | 1.09 mg |
| Copper | 0.36 mg | 39% | 0.19 mg |
| Manganese | 1.2 mg | 51% | 0.63 mg |
| Selenium | 5.2 mcg | 9% | 2.8 mcg |
| Other | |||
| Water | 132.5 g | 71.6 g | |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | |
| Alcohol | 0 g | 0 g | |
* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet (FDA reference values for adults and children 4 years and older). Per-100 g values are USDA figures before label rounding.
Every serving below is a USDA household measure for this food, a fraction of one, or a unit conversion. Amounts are USDA values scaled by weight; only the Nutrition Facts panel applies the coarser FDA label rounding.
| Serving | Weight | Calories | Total carbohydrate | Protein | Total fat | Dietary fiber | Total sugars |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 cup | 185 g | 222 | 39.4 g | 8.1 g | 3.6 g | 5.2 g | 1.6 g |
| 1/2 cup | 92.5 g | 111 | 19.7 g | 4.1 g | 1.8 g | 2.6 g | 0.8 g |
| 100 g | 100 g | 120 | 21.3 g | 4.4 g | 1.9 g | 2.8 g | 0.9 g |
A cup of cooked quinoa (185 g) has 222 calories. 100 g has 120 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 220.
A cup of cooked quinoa (185 g) has 8.1 g protein, 16% of the 50 g Daily Value. 100 g has 4.4 g. At 10 to 19% DV per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for a "good source" claim.
A cup of cooked quinoa (185 g) has 39.4 g total carbohydrate, including 5.2 g dietary fiber and 1.6 g total sugars. Carbohydrate minus fiber is 34.2 g.
A cup of cooked quinoa (185 g) has 5.2 g of fiber, 19% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 2.8 g. At 10 to 19% DV per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for a "good source" claim.
A cup of cooked quinoa (185 g) has 118 mg of magnesium, 28% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 64 mg. At 20% DV or more per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for an "excellent source" claim.
A cup of cooked quinoa (185 g) has 2.8 mg of iron, 15% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 1.49 mg. At 10 to 19% DV per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for a "good source" claim.
100 g of quinoa has 120 calories, 4.4 g protein, 21.3 g carbohydrate, 2.8 g fiber, 0.87 g sugars and 1.92 g fat.
About 71% of the calories in quinoa come from carbohydrate, 14% from fat and 15% from protein (Atwater factors of 4, 9 and 4 calories per gram).
Quinoa is the seed of Chenopodium quinoa, a plant related to spinach and beets that has been grown in the Andes for thousands of years. It is not a cereal grass like wheat or rice, but it is cooked and eaten like a grain, so it is often called a pseudocereal. Quinoa contains no gluten.
The seeds grow with a coating of saponins, bitter, soapy compounds. Most quinoa sold in the US has been washed to remove them, and a quick rinse in a fine strainer before cooking removes any bitterness that is left.
White quinoa is the most common and cooks up the softest and fluffiest. Red and black quinoa keep their shape and stay a little chewier, which suits salads, and tricolor blends mix all three. USDA has one record for cooked quinoa and no separate records by color, so this page applies to all of them.
Quinoa absorbs water as it cooks and ends up weighing about three times as much as it did dry. The calories stay with the seeds, so 100 g of uncooked quinoa has roughly three times the calories of 100 g cooked, which has 120. This is the most common source of confusion with quinoa numbers: a package label gives values for dry quinoa, while this page gives values for cooked. By USDA's cup weights, a quarter cup of dry quinoa makes about three-quarters of a cup cooked.
Decide whether you weigh quinoa dry or cooked and stay consistent. This record is for cooked quinoa, so it fits a salad or bowl where you weigh the cooked quinoa that goes into each batch. If your recipe starts from dry quinoa, use an uncooked quinoa record for the dry weight instead, or the water it absorbs will be counted wrong. Enter the ingredients in the label generator or the recipe nutrition calculator, and check the reference amount for your product type in the RACC lookup. A gluten-free claim depends on how your quinoa and other ingredients are handled, not only on quinoa itself.
The same serving of quinoa, drawn by the label formats other markets require: the Canadian bilingual Nutrition Facts table, the EU nutrition declaration (per 100 g, energy in kJ and kcal, salt instead of sodium) and the UK nutrition information table with reference intakes. The generator switches between these and many more from one recipe.
| Fat / Lipides | 3.6 g | 5 % |
| Saturated / Saturés | 0.4 g + Trans 0 g | 2 % |
| Cholesterol / Cholestérol | 0 mg | 0 % |
| Sodium | 15 mg | 1 % |
| Carbohydrate / Glucides | 39 g | 14 % |
| Fibre / Fibres | 5 g | 19 % |
| Sugars / Sucres | 2 g | 2 % |
| Protein / Protéines | 8 g | |
| Vitamin D / Vitamine D | 0 mcg | 0 % |
| Calcium | 31 mg | 2 % |
| Iron / Fer | 3 mg | 15 % |
| Potassium | 318 mg | 9 % |
| Per 100g | |
|---|---|
| Energy | 502 kJ / 120 kcal |
| Fat | 1.9 g |
| of which saturates | 0.2 g |
| Carbohydrate | 21 g |
| of which sugars | 0.9 g |
| Protein | 4.4 g |
| Salt | 0.0 g |
| Per 100g | Per 185g | %RI* | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Energy | 502 kJ 120 kcal |
929 kJ 222 kcal |
11% |
| Fat | 1.9g | 3.6g | 5.1% |
| of which saturates | 0.2g | 0.4g | 2.1% |
| Carbohydrate | 21g | 39g | 15% |
| of which sugars | 0.9g | 1.6g | 1.8% |
| Fibre | 2.8g | 5.2g | - |
| Protein | 4.4g | 8.1g | 16% |
| Salt | 0.02g | 0.03g | <1% |
Different forms of the same food are separate USDA records, so each has its own page. Per 100 g:
| Form | Calories | Protein | Total fat | Total carbohydrate |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| QuinoaQuinoa, cooked | 120 | 4.4 g | 1.92 g | 21.3 g |
| Dry QuinoaQuinoa, uncooked | 368 | 14.1 g | 6.07 g | 64.2 g |
If you make and sell a product that contains quinoa, these free tools cover the next steps.
Nutrient values are from USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy (April 2018 release, public domain), record 168917: "Quinoa, cooked". Values are stored per 100 g exactly as USDA reports them and scaled to each serving by weight. The Nutrition Facts panel applies the FDA rounding rules in 21 CFR 101.9; tables and text show the scaled amounts at reading precision, so a figure can differ slightly from the panel. A nutrient USDA does not report for this food is shown as not reported, never as a guessed value.
SR Legacy predates the added sugars field. This is a whole or unsweetened food, so added sugars are shown as 0 g. View the USDA record ↗