Onion calories by size
USDA weighs onion in several sizes. Calories rise with weight:
| Serving | Weight | Calories | Total carbohydrate |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 small | 70 g | 28 | 6.5 g |
| 1 medium (2-1/2" dia) | 110 g | 44 | 10.3 g |
| 1 large | 150 g | 60 | 14 g |
A medium raw onion (110 g) has 44 calories, 10.3 g of carbohydrate and 1.9 g of fiber, with almost no fat or sodium. A cup of chopped onion (160 g) has 64 calories.
FDA standard format. Values use the FDA rounding rules for the serving you pick. Nutrients USDA does not report for this food print as 0 on the panel and as "not reported" in the table.
Download this label: SVG · PNG Free to use as a reference. A label for a product you sell needs your full recipe and ingredient statement.
1 medium (2-1/2" dia) (110 g)
Opens the free label generator with this amount of onion already added. Add the rest of your ingredients and the label updates as you go.
| Nutrient | Per serving | % DV* | Per 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories and macronutrients | |||
| Calories | 44 | 40 | |
| Total fat | 0.1 g | 0% | 0.1 g |
| Saturated fat | <0.1 g | 0% | 0.04 g |
| Trans fat | 0 g | 0 g | |
| Monounsaturated fat | <0.1 g | 0.01 g | |
| Polyunsaturated fat | <0.1 g | 0.02 g | |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg | 0% | 0 mg |
| Sodium | 4.4 mg | 0% | 4 mg |
| Total carbohydrate | 10.3 g | 4% | 9.34 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1.9 g | 7% | 1.7 g |
| Total sugars | 4.7 g | 4.24 g | |
| Added sugars | 0 g | 0% | 0 g |
| Protein | 1.2 g | 1.1 g | |
| Vitamins | |||
| Vitamin D | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Vitamin A | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Vitamin C | 8.1 mg | 9% | 7.4 mg |
| Vitamin E | <0.1 mg | 0% | 0.02 mg |
| Vitamin K | 0.44 mcg | 0% | 0.4 mcg |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.05 mg | 4% | 0.05 mg |
| Riboflavin (B2) | <0.1 mg | 2% | 0.03 mg |
| Niacin (B3) | 0.13 mg | 1% | 0.12 mg |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.13 mg | 8% | 0.12 mg |
| Folate (DFE) | 21 mcg | 5% | 19 mcg |
| Vitamin B12 | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Choline | 6.7 mg | 1% | 6.1 mg |
| Minerals | |||
| Calcium | 25 mg | 2% | 23 mg |
| Iron | 0.23 mg | 1% | 0.21 mg |
| Potassium | 161 mg | 3% | 146 mg |
| Magnesium | 11 mg | 3% | 10 mg |
| Phosphorus | 32 mg | 3% | 29 mg |
| Zinc | 0.19 mg | 2% | 0.17 mg |
| Copper | <0.1 mg | 5% | 0.04 mg |
| Manganese | 0.14 mg | 6% | 0.13 mg |
| Selenium | 0.55 mcg | 1% | 0.5 mcg |
| Other | |||
| Water | 98 g | 89.1 g | |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | |
| Alcohol | 0 g | 0 g | |
* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet (FDA reference values for adults and children 4 years and older). Per-100 g values are USDA figures before label rounding.
Every serving below is a USDA household measure for this food, a fraction of one, or a unit conversion. Amounts are USDA values scaled by weight; only the Nutrition Facts panel applies the coarser FDA label rounding.
| Serving | Weight | Calories | Total carbohydrate | Protein | Total fat | Dietary fiber | Total sugars |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 cup, chopped | 160 g | 64 | 14.9 g | 1.8 g | 0.2 g | 2.7 g | 6.8 g |
| 1 cup, sliced | 115 g | 46 | 10.7 g | 1.3 g | 0.1 g | 2 g | 4.9 g |
| 1 tbsp chopped | 10 g | 4 | 0.9 g | 0.1 g | <0.1 g | 0.2 g | 0.4 g |
| 1 large | 150 g | 60 | 14 g | 1.7 g | 0.2 g | 2.6 g | 6.4 g |
| 1 slice, large (1/4" thick) | 38 g | 15 | 3.5 g | 0.4 g | <0.1 g | 0.6 g | 1.6 g |
| 1 medium (2-1/2" dia) | 110 g | 44 | 10.3 g | 1.2 g | 0.1 g | 1.9 g | 4.7 g |
| 1 slice, medium (1/8" thick) | 14 g | 6 | 1.3 g | 0.2 g | <0.1 g | 0.2 g | 0.6 g |
| 1 small | 70 g | 28 | 6.5 g | 0.8 g | 0.1 g | 1.2 g | 3 g |
| 1 slice, thin | 9 g | 4 | 0.8 g | 0.1 g | <0.1 g | 0.2 g | 0.4 g |
| 10 rings | 60 g | 24 | 5.6 g | 0.7 g | 0.1 g | 1 g | 2.5 g |
| 100 g | 100 g | 40 | 9.3 g | 1.1 g | 0.1 g | 1.7 g | 4.2 g |
USDA weighs onion in several sizes. Calories rise with weight:
| Serving | Weight | Calories | Total carbohydrate |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 small | 70 g | 28 | 6.5 g |
| 1 medium (2-1/2" dia) | 110 g | 44 | 10.3 g |
| 1 large | 150 g | 60 | 14 g |
A medium onion (110 g) has 10.3 g total carbohydrate, including 1.9 g dietary fiber and 4.7 g total sugars. Carbohydrate minus fiber is 8.4 g.
A medium onion (110 g) has 4.7 g total sugars. None of it is added sugar.
A medium onion (110 g) has 1.9 g of fiber, 7% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 1.7 g. That is below the 10% DV a serving needs for a "good source" claim.
A medium onion (110 g) has 8.1 mg of vitamin C, 9% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 7.4 mg. That is below the 10% DV a serving needs for a "good source" claim.
100 g of onion has 40 calories, 1.1 g protein, 9.34 g carbohydrate, 1.7 g fiber, 4.24 g sugars and 0.1 g fat.
About 88% of the calories in onion come from carbohydrate, 2% from fat and 10% from protein (Atwater factors of 4, 9 and 4 calories per gram).
USDA's "Onions, raw" record covers mature dry bulb onions, and this page uses it for the everyday types. Green onions (scallions) are harvested young, with their leaves, and have their own USDA data.
Cooking an onion does not add calories by itself, but it removes water. Sauteed onions shrink, and caramelized onions can cook down to a small fraction of their raw weight, so a spoonful of caramelized onion holds the calories and sugar of a much larger amount of raw onion, plus any butter or oil used. USDA keeps separate records for boiled and sauteed onions. Cutting an onion releases a sulfur gas that irritates the eyes; chilling the onion first and using a sharp knife reduces it.
Keep whole dry onions in a cool, dry, dark place with air around them, such as a mesh bag or basket, and away from potatoes, which give off moisture that makes onions sprout and spoil sooner. Sweet onions have more water and keep for less time, so refrigerating them, wrapped individually, helps. Cut onions go in a sealed container in the refrigerator.
Weigh onions peeled and trimmed, in the raw state, and enter them in the label generator with the rest of the recipe. Any cooking loss belongs to the whole batch: weigh the finished soup, jam or sauce and divide it into servings, which the recipe nutrition calculator does for you. For fried onions or onion rings, include the batter and the oil absorbed. Check the reference amount for your product type in the RACC lookup.
The same serving of onion, drawn by the label formats other markets require: the Canadian bilingual Nutrition Facts table, the EU nutrition declaration (per 100 g, energy in kJ and kcal, salt instead of sodium) and the UK nutrition information table with reference intakes. The generator switches between these and many more from one recipe.
| Fat / Lipides | 0 g | 0 % |
| Saturated / Saturés | 0 g + Trans 0 g | 0 % |
| Cholesterol / Cholestérol | 0 mg | 0 % |
| Sodium | 0 mg | 0 % |
| Carbohydrate / Glucides | 10 g | 4 % |
| Fibre / Fibres | 2 g | 7 % |
| Sugars / Sucres | 5 g | 5 % |
| Protein / Protéines | 1 g | |
| Vitamin D / Vitamine D | 0 mcg | 0 % |
| Calcium | 25 mg | 2 % |
| Iron / Fer | 0 mg | 1 % |
| Potassium | 161 mg | 5 % |
| Per 100g | |
|---|---|
| Energy | 167 kJ / 40 kcal |
| Fat | 0.1 g |
| of which saturates | 0.0 g |
| Carbohydrate | 9.3 g |
| of which sugars | 4.2 g |
| Protein | 1.1 g |
| Salt | 0.0 g |
| Per 100g | Per 110g | %RI* | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Energy | 167 kJ 40 kcal |
184 kJ 44 kcal |
2.2% |
| Fat | 0 gg | 0 gg | <1% |
| of which saturates | 0 gg | 0 gg | <1% |
| Carbohydrate | 9.3g | 10g | 4% |
| of which sugars | 4.2g | 4.7g | 5.2% |
| Fibre | 1.7g | 1.9g | - |
| Protein | 1.1g | 1.2g | 2.4% |
| Salt | 0 gg | 0 gg | <1% |
Different forms of the same food are separate USDA records, so each has its own page. Per 100 g:
| Form | Calories | Protein | Total fat | Total carbohydrate |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OnionOnions, raw | 40 | 1.1 g | 0.1 g | 9.34 g |
| Sauteed OnionsOnions, yellow, sauteed | 123 | 0.95 g | 10.8 g | 7.86 g |
| Dried Onion FlakesOnions, dehydrated flakes | 349 | 8.95 g | 0.46 g | 83.3 g |
If you make and sell a product that contains onion, these free tools cover the next steps.
Nutrient values are from USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy (April 2018 release, public domain), record 170000: "Onions, raw". Values are stored per 100 g exactly as USDA reports them and scaled to each serving by weight. The Nutrition Facts panel applies the FDA rounding rules in 21 CFR 101.9; tables and text show the scaled amounts at reading precision, so a figure can differ slightly from the panel. A nutrient USDA does not report for this food is shown as not reported, never as a guessed value.
SR Legacy predates the added sugars field. This is a whole or unsweetened food, so added sugars are shown as 0 g. View the USDA record ↗