How many calories are in chickpeas?
Half a cup of cooked chickpeas (82 g) has 134 calories. 100 g has 164 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 130.
Half a cup of cooked chickpeas (82 g) has 134 calories, 7.3 g of protein, 6.2 g of fiber and 22.5 g of carbohydrate. The figures are for chickpeas boiled from dry without salt, weighed drained.
FDA standard format. Values use the FDA rounding rules for the serving you pick. Nutrients USDA does not report for this food print as 0 on the panel and as "not reported" in the table.
Download this label: SVG · PNG Free to use as a reference. A label for a product you sell needs your full recipe and ingredient statement.
1/2 cup (82 g)
Opens the free label generator with this amount of chickpeas already added. Add the rest of your ingredients and the label updates as you go.
| Nutrient | Per serving | % DV* | Per 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories and macronutrients | |||
| Calories | 134 | 164 | |
| Total fat | 2.1 g | 3% | 2.59 g |
| Saturated fat | 0.2 g | 1% | 0.27 g |
| Trans fat | 0 g | 0 g | |
| Monounsaturated fat | 0.5 g | 0.58 g | |
| Polyunsaturated fat | 0.9 g | 1.16 g | |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg | 0% | 0 mg |
| Sodium | 5.7 mg | 0% | 7 mg |
| Total carbohydrate | 22.5 g | 8% | 27.4 g |
| Dietary fiber | 6.2 g | 22% | 7.6 g |
| Total sugars | 3.9 g | 4.8 g | |
| Added sugars | 0 g | 0% | 0 g |
| Protein | 7.3 g | 8.86 g | |
| Vitamins | |||
| Vitamin D | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Vitamin A | 0.82 mcg | 0% | 1 mcg |
| Vitamin C | 1.1 mg | 1% | 1.3 mg |
| Vitamin E | 0.29 mg | 2% | 0.35 mg |
| Vitamin K | 3.3 mcg | 3% | 4 mcg |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.1 mg | 8% | 0.12 mg |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.05 mg | 4% | 0.06 mg |
| Niacin (B3) | 0.43 mg | 3% | 0.53 mg |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.11 mg | 7% | 0.14 mg |
| Folate (DFE) | 141 mcg | 35% | 172 mcg |
| Vitamin B12 | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Choline | 35 mg | 6% | 42.8 mg |
| Minerals | |||
| Calcium | 40 mg | 3% | 49 mg |
| Iron | 2.4 mg | 13% | 2.89 mg |
| Potassium | 239 mg | 5% | 291 mg |
| Magnesium | 39 mg | 9% | 48 mg |
| Phosphorus | 138 mg | 11% | 168 mg |
| Zinc | 1.3 mg | 11% | 1.53 mg |
| Copper | 0.29 mg | 32% | 0.35 mg |
| Manganese | 0.84 mg | 37% | 1.03 mg |
| Selenium | 3 mcg | 6% | 3.7 mcg |
| Other | |||
| Water | 49.4 g | 60.2 g | |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | |
| Alcohol | 0 g | 0 g | |
* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet (FDA reference values for adults and children 4 years and older). Per-100 g values are USDA figures before label rounding.
Every serving below is a USDA household measure for this food, a fraction of one, or a unit conversion. Amounts are USDA values scaled by weight; only the Nutrition Facts panel applies the coarser FDA label rounding.
| Serving | Weight | Calories | Total carbohydrate | Protein | Total fat | Dietary fiber | Total sugars |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 cup | 164 g | 269 | 45 g | 14.5 g | 4.2 g | 12.5 g | 7.9 g |
| 1/2 cup | 82 g | 134 | 22.5 g | 7.3 g | 2.1 g | 6.2 g | 3.9 g |
| 100 g | 100 g | 164 | 27.4 g | 8.9 g | 2.6 g | 7.6 g | 4.8 g |
Half a cup of cooked chickpeas (82 g) has 134 calories. 100 g has 164 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 130.
Half a cup of cooked chickpeas (82 g) has 7.3 g protein, 15% of the 50 g Daily Value. 100 g has 8.86 g. At 10 to 19% DV per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for a "good source" claim.
Half a cup of cooked chickpeas (82 g) has 6.2 g of fiber, 22% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 7.6 g. At 20% DV or more per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for an "excellent source" claim.
Half a cup of cooked chickpeas (82 g) has 22.5 g total carbohydrate, including 6.2 g dietary fiber and 3.9 g total sugars. Carbohydrate minus fiber is 16.3 g.
Half a cup of cooked chickpeas (82 g) has 141 mcg of folate, 35% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 172 mcg. At 20% DV or more per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for an "excellent source" claim.
Half a cup of cooked chickpeas (82 g) has 2.4 mg of iron, 13% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 2.89 mg. At 10 to 19% DV per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for a "good source" claim.
100 g of chickpeas has 164 calories, 8.86 g protein, 27.4 g carbohydrate, 7.6 g fiber, 4.8 g sugars and 2.59 g fat.
About 65% of the calories in chickpeas come from carbohydrate, 14% from fat and 21% from protein (Atwater factors of 4, 9 and 4 calories per gram).
Chickpeas and garbanzo beans are the same legume, so this page covers both names. The large, pale chickpeas sold dried and canned in US stores are the kabuli type. Desi chickpeas are smaller and darker with a thick seed coat; in India they are split and hulled to make chana dal and ground into besan (gram flour). USDA's record, used here, is for mature chickpeas boiled without salt.
Dried chickpeas take up a lot of water as they soak and simmer, roughly doubling or more in weight. That is why 100 g of dry chickpeas carries far more calories than the 164 calories in 100 g cooked. Always match the record to the state you weigh: this one is cooked.
Canned chickpeas are already cooked and are close to this record once drained, with one exception: most are packed with salt, while this record has only 5.7 mg of sodium per half cup. Draining and rinsing removes part of that salt. A standard can holds about one and a half cups of drained chickpeas.
For hummus, falafel or a chickpea salad, weigh the chickpeas in the state you use them, drained if canned, and enter them with the tahini, oil and other ingredients in the label generator. If you cook dried chickpeas in-house, record the cooked weight or the water gain will throw off every value. For a canned or salted ingredient, use the supplier's sodium rather than this unsalted record. Look up the reference amount for dips, beans or salads in the RACC lookup, and use recipe nutrition to total a batch.
The same serving of chickpeas, drawn by the label formats other markets require: the Canadian bilingual Nutrition Facts table, the EU nutrition declaration (per 100 g, energy in kJ and kcal, salt instead of sodium) and the UK nutrition information table with reference intakes. The generator switches between these and many more from one recipe.
| Fat / Lipides | 2.1 g | 3 % |
| Saturated / Saturés | 0.2 g + Trans 0 g | 1 % |
| Cholesterol / Cholestérol | 0 mg | 0 % |
| Sodium | 5 mg | 0 % |
| Carbohydrate / Glucides | 22 g | 8 % |
| Fibre / Fibres | 6 g | 22 % |
| Sugars / Sucres | 4 g | 4 % |
| Protein / Protéines | 7 g | |
| Vitamin D / Vitamine D | 0 mcg | 0 % |
| Calcium | 40 mg | 3 % |
| Iron / Fer | 2 mg | 13 % |
| Potassium | 239 mg | 7 % |
| Per 100g | |
|---|---|
| Energy | 686 kJ / 164 kcal |
| Fat | 2.6 g |
| of which saturates | 0.3 g |
| Carbohydrate | 27 g |
| of which sugars | 4.8 g |
| Protein | 8.9 g |
| Salt | 0.0 g |
| Per 100g | Per 82g | %RI* | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Energy | 686 kJ 164 kcal |
563 kJ 134 kcal |
6.7% |
| Fat | 2.6g | 2.1g | 3% |
| of which saturates | 0.3g | 0.2g | 1.1% |
| Carbohydrate | 27g | 22g | 8.6% |
| of which sugars | 4.8g | 3.9g | 4.4% |
| Fibre | 7.6g | 6.2g | - |
| Protein | 8.9g | 7.3g | 15% |
| Salt | 0.02g | 0.01g | <1% |
Different forms of the same food are separate USDA records, so each has its own page. Per 100 g:
| Form | Calories | Protein | Total fat | Total carbohydrate |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ChickpeasChickpeas (garbanzo beans, bengal gram), mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt | 164 | 8.86 g | 2.59 g | 27.4 g |
| Canned ChickpeasChickpeas (garbanzo beans, bengal gram), mature seeds, canned, solids and liquids | 88 | 4.92 g | 1.95 g | 13.5 g |
| Dry ChickpeasChickpeas (garbanzo beans, bengal gram), mature seeds, raw | 378 | 20.5 g | 6.04 g | 63 g |
If you make and sell a product that contains chickpeas, these free tools cover the next steps.
Nutrient values are from USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy (April 2018 release, public domain), record 173757: "Chickpeas (garbanzo beans, bengal gram), mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt". Values are stored per 100 g exactly as USDA reports them and scaled to each serving by weight. The Nutrition Facts panel applies the FDA rounding rules in 21 CFR 101.9; tables and text show the scaled amounts at reading precision, so a figure can differ slightly from the panel. A nutrient USDA does not report for this food is shown as not reported, never as a guessed value.
SR Legacy predates the added sugars field. This is a whole or unsweetened food, so added sugars are shown as 0 g. View the USDA record ↗