How many calories are in shrimp?
3 oz of cooked shrimp (85 g) has 101 calories. 100 g has 119 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 100.
Three ounces of cooked shrimp (85 g) has 101 calories, 19.4 g of protein and 1.4 g of fat. USDA's record is for boiled or steamed shrimp of mixed species, including shrimp treated with additives that help them hold water, and that shows up in the sodium.
FDA standard format. Values use the FDA rounding rules for the serving you pick. Nutrients USDA does not report for this food print as 0 on the panel and as "not reported" in the table.
Download this label: SVG · PNG Free to use as a reference. A label for a product you sell needs your full recipe and ingredient statement.
3 oz (85 g)
Opens the free label generator with this amount of shrimp already added. Add the rest of your ingredients and the label updates as you go.
| Nutrient | Per serving | % DV* | Per 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories and macronutrients | |||
| Calories | 101 | 119 | |
| Total fat | 1.4 g | 2% | 1.7 g |
| Saturated fat | 0.4 g | 2% | 0.52 g |
| Trans fat | <0.1 g | 0.04 g | |
| Monounsaturated fat | 0.3 g | 0.36 g | |
| Polyunsaturated fat | 0.5 g | 0.59 g | |
| Cholesterol | 179 mg | 60% | 211 mg |
| Sodium | 805 mg | 35% | 947 mg |
| Total carbohydrate | 1.3 g | 0% | 1.52 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g | 0% | 0 g |
| Total sugars | 0 g | 0 g | |
| Added sugars | 0 g | 0% | 0 g |
| Protein | 19.4 g | 22.8 g | |
| Vitamins | |||
| Vitamin D | 0.09 mcg | 0% | 0.1 mcg |
| Vitamin A | 77 mcg | 9% | 90 mcg |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg | 0% | 0 mg |
| Vitamin E | 1.9 mg | 12% | 2.2 mg |
| Vitamin K | 0.34 mcg | 0% | 0.4 mcg |
| Thiamin (B1) | <0.1 mg | 2% | 0.03 mg |
| Riboflavin (B2) | <0.1 mg | 2% | 0.02 mg |
| Niacin (B3) | 2.3 mg | 14% | 2.68 mg |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.21 mg | 12% | 0.24 mg |
| Folate (DFE) | 20 mcg | 5% | 24 mcg |
| Vitamin B12 | 1.4 mcg | 59% | 1.66 mcg |
| Choline | 115 mg | 21% | 135 mg |
| Minerals | |||
| Calcium | 77 mg | 6% | 91 mg |
| Iron | 0.27 mg | 2% | 0.32 mg |
| Potassium | 145 mg | 3% | 170 mg |
| Magnesium | 31 mg | 7% | 37 mg |
| Phosphorus | 260 mg | 21% | 306 mg |
| Zinc | 1.4 mg | 13% | 1.63 mg |
| Copper | 0.22 mg | 24% | 0.26 mg |
| Manganese | <0.1 mg | 2% | 0.05 mg |
| Selenium | 42 mcg | 77% | 49.5 mcg |
| Other | |||
| Water | 60.8 g | 71.6 g | |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | |
| Alcohol | 0 g | 0 g | |
* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet (FDA reference values for adults and children 4 years and older). Per-100 g values are USDA figures before label rounding.
Every serving below is a USDA household measure for this food, a fraction of one, or a unit conversion. Amounts are USDA values scaled by weight; only the Nutrition Facts panel applies the coarser FDA label rounding.
| Serving | Weight | Calories | Total carbohydrate | Protein | Total fat | Dietary fiber | Total sugars |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3 oz | 85 g | 101 | 1.3 g | 19.4 g | 1.4 g | 0 g | 0 g |
| 4 large | 22 g | 26 | 0.3 g | 5 g | 0.4 g | 0 g | 0 g |
| 100 g | 100 g | 119 | 1.5 g | 22.8 g | 1.7 g | 0 g | 0 g |
3 oz of cooked shrimp (85 g) has 101 calories. 100 g has 119 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 100.
3 oz of cooked shrimp (85 g) has 19.4 g protein, 39% of the 50 g Daily Value. 100 g has 22.8 g. At 20% DV or more per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for an "excellent source" claim.
3 oz of cooked shrimp (85 g) has 179 mg of cholesterol, 60% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 211 mg. That is 20% DV or more per serving, which the FDA treats as high.
3 oz of cooked shrimp (85 g) has 805 mg of sodium, 35% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 947 mg. That is 20% DV or more per serving, which the FDA treats as high.
3 oz of cooked shrimp (85 g) has 1.4 mcg of vitamin B12, 59% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 1.66 mcg. At 20% DV or more per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for an "excellent source" claim.
100 g of shrimp has 119 calories, 22.8 g protein, 1.52 g carbohydrate, 0 g fiber, 0 g sugars and 1.7 g fat.
About 5% of the calories in shrimp come from carbohydrate, 14% from fat and 81% from protein (Atwater factors of 4, 9 and 4 calories per gram).
"Mixed species" means USDA averaged the common commercial shrimp rather than one kind, and "moist heat" means boiled or steamed. The record also notes that the shrimp may contain additives to retain moisture. Processors often soak shrimp in solutions of phosphates such as sodium tripolyphosphate, sometimes with salt, so the shrimp hold water through freezing and cooking. Those solutions add sodium.
USDA has a separate cooked shrimp record without that note, and it has far less sodium per 100 g than this one's 947 mg. If the ingredient list on your bag says only "shrimp", expect sodium closer to that lower figure; if it lists sodium tripolyphosphate or salt, the numbers here are the better match.
Shrimp are sold by count: a bag marked 21/25 holds 21 to 25 shrimp per pound, and a lower count means bigger shrimp. Names like "large" and "jumbo" are not standardized, so one store's large can be another's extra large. USDA's measure of four large cooked shrimp weighs 22 g, which makes the count a better guide than the name when you estimate a portion.
Shrimp lose water as they cook, so four large shrimp weigh less cooked than raw, and cooked shrimp has more calories and protein per 100 g than raw. Breading and frying change shrimp much more: USDA's breaded and fried shrimp has about twice the calories per 100 g of the boiled shrimp on this page, with added carbohydrate from the coating and fat from the oil.
Weigh shrimp peeled and in the state you use them. Frozen shrimp often carry a thin ice glaze, so thaw and drain before weighing. This record is for cooked shrimp; if you weigh raw shrimp, use a raw record or account for the water lost in cooking. Sodium varies most between suppliers because of moisture-retaining treatments, so compare your supplier's specification with this record before relying on it. Enter your ingredients in the label generator and find the reference amount for your product in the RACC lookup.
The same serving of shrimp, drawn by the label formats other markets require: the Canadian bilingual Nutrition Facts table, the EU nutrition declaration (per 100 g, energy in kJ and kcal, salt instead of sodium) and the UK nutrition information table with reference intakes. The generator switches between these and many more from one recipe.
| Fat / Lipides | 1.4 g | 2 % |
| Saturated / Saturés | 0.4 g + Trans 0 g | 2 % |
| Cholesterol / Cholestérol | 179 mg | 60 % |
| Sodium | 800 mg | 35 % |
| Carbohydrate / Glucides | 1 g | 0 % |
| Fibre / Fibres | 0 g | 0 % |
| Sugars / Sucres | 0 g | 0 % |
| Protein / Protéines | 19 g | |
| Vitamin D / Vitamine D | 0 mcg | 0 % |
| Calcium | 77 mg | 6 % |
| Iron / Fer | 0 mg | 2 % |
| Potassium | 145 mg | 4 % |
| Per 100g | |
|---|---|
| Energy | 498 kJ / 119 kcal |
| Fat | 1.7 g |
| of which saturates | 0.5 g |
| Carbohydrate | 1.5 g |
| of which sugars | 0.0 g |
| Protein | 23 g |
| Salt | 2.4 g |
| Per 100g | Per 85g | %RI* | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Energy | 498 kJ 119 kcal |
423 kJ 101 kcal |
5.1% |
| Fat | 1.7g | 1.4g | 2.1% |
| of which saturates | 0.5g | 0.4g | 2.2% |
| Carbohydrate | 1.5g | 1.3g | <1% |
| of which sugars | 0 gg | 0 gg | <1% |
| Fibre | 0 gg | 0 gg | - |
| Protein | 23g | 19g | 39% |
| Salt | 2.4g | 2.0g | 34% |
Different forms of the same food are separate USDA records, so each has its own page. Per 100 g:
| Form | Calories | Protein | Total fat | Total carbohydrate |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ShrimpCrustaceans, shrimp, mixed species, cooked, moist heat (may contain additives to retain moisture) | 119 | 22.8 g | 1.7 g | 1.52 g |
| Fried ShrimpCrustaceans, shrimp, mixed species, cooked, breaded and fried | 242 | 21.4 g | 12.3 g | 11.5 g |
| Raw ShrimpCrustaceans, shrimp, mixed species, raw (may contain additives to retain moisture) | 71 | 13.6 g | 1.01 g | 0.91 g |
If you make and sell a product that contains shrimp, these free tools cover the next steps.
Nutrient values are from USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy (April 2018 release, public domain), record 171971: "Crustaceans, shrimp, mixed species, cooked, moist heat (may contain additives to retain moisture)". Values are stored per 100 g exactly as USDA reports them and scaled to each serving by weight. The Nutrition Facts panel applies the FDA rounding rules in 21 CFR 101.9; tables and text show the scaled amounts at reading precision, so a figure can differ slightly from the panel. A nutrient USDA does not report for this food is shown as not reported, never as a guessed value.
SR Legacy predates the added sugars field. This is a whole or unsweetened food, so added sugars are shown as 0 g. View the USDA record ↗