How many calories are in canned tuna?
3 oz of drained canned light tuna (85 g) has 99 calories. 100 g has 116 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 100.
Three ounces of canned light tuna packed in water and drained (85 g) has 99 calories and 21.7 g of protein, with almost no fat and no carbohydrate. A whole can (165 g drained) has 191 calories and 42.1 g of protein. USDA's record is for tuna canned without added salt.
FDA standard format. Values use the FDA rounding rules for the serving you pick. Nutrients USDA does not report for this food print as 0 on the panel and as "not reported" in the table.
Download this label: SVG · PNG Free to use as a reference. A label for a product you sell needs your full recipe and ingredient statement.
3 oz (85 g)
Opens the free label generator with this amount of canned tuna already added. Add the rest of your ingredients and the label updates as you go.
| Nutrient | Per serving | % DV* | Per 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories and macronutrients | |||
| Calories | 99 | 116 | |
| Total fat | 0.7 g | 1% | 0.82 g |
| Saturated fat | 0.2 g | 1% | 0.23 g |
| Trans fat | not reported | ||
| Monounsaturated fat | 0.1 g | 0.16 g | |
| Polyunsaturated fat | 0.3 g | 0.34 g | |
| Cholesterol | 26 mg | 9% | 30 mg |
| Sodium | 43 mg | 2% | 50 mg |
| Total carbohydrate | 0 g | 0% | 0 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g | 0% | 0 g |
| Total sugars | 0 g | 0 g | |
| Added sugars | 0 g | 0% | 0 g |
| Protein | 21.7 g | 25.5 g | |
| Vitamins | |||
| Vitamin D | not reported | ||
| Vitamin A | not reported | ||
| Vitamin C | 0 mg | 0% | 0 mg |
| Vitamin E | not reported | ||
| Vitamin K | not reported | ||
| Thiamin (B1) | <0.1 mg | 2% | 0.03 mg |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.06 mg | 5% | 0.07 mg |
| Niacin (B3) | 11 mg | 71% | 13.3 mg |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.3 mg | 18% | 0.35 mg |
| Folate (DFE) | 3.4 mcg | 1% | 4 mcg |
| Vitamin B12 | 2.5 mcg | 106% | 2.99 mcg |
| Choline | not reported | ||
| Minerals | |||
| Calcium | 9.4 mg | 1% | 11 mg |
| Iron | 1.3 mg | 7% | 1.53 mg |
| Potassium | 201 mg | 4% | 237 mg |
| Magnesium | 23 mg | 5% | 27 mg |
| Phosphorus | 139 mg | 11% | 163 mg |
| Zinc | 0.65 mg | 6% | 0.77 mg |
| Copper | <0.1 mg | 5% | 0.05 mg |
| Manganese | <0.1 mg | 0% | 0.01 mg |
| Selenium | 68 mcg | 124% | 80.4 mcg |
| Other | |||
| Water | 63.9 g | 75.2 g | |
* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet (FDA reference values for adults and children 4 years and older). Per-100 g values are USDA figures before label rounding.
Every serving below is a USDA household measure for this food, a fraction of one, or a unit conversion. Amounts are USDA values scaled by weight; only the Nutrition Facts panel applies the coarser FDA label rounding.
| Serving | Weight | Calories | Total carbohydrate | Protein | Total fat | Dietary fiber | Total sugars |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3 oz | 85 g | 99 | 0 g | 21.7 g | 0.7 g | 0 g | 0 g |
| 1 can | 165 g | 191 | 0 g | 42.1 g | 1.4 g | 0 g | 0 g |
| 100 g | 100 g | 116 | 0 g | 25.5 g | 0.8 g | 0 g | 0 g |
3 oz of drained canned light tuna (85 g) has 99 calories. 100 g has 116 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 100.
3 oz of drained canned light tuna (85 g) has 21.7 g protein, 43% of the 50 g Daily Value. 100 g has 25.5 g. At 20% DV or more per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for an "excellent source" claim.
3 oz of drained canned light tuna (85 g) has 43 mg of sodium, 2% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 50 mg.
3 oz of drained canned light tuna (85 g) has 2.5 mcg of vitamin B12, 106% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 2.99 mcg. At 20% DV or more per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for an "excellent source" claim.
3 oz of drained canned light tuna (85 g) has 1.3 mg of iron, 7% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 1.53 mg. That is below the 10% DV a serving needs for a "good source" claim.
100 g of canned tuna has 116 calories, 25.5 g protein, 0 g carbohydrate, 0 g fiber, 0 g sugars and 0.82 g fat.
About 0% of the calories in canned tuna come from carbohydrate, 7% from fat and 93% from protein (Atwater factors of 4, 9 and 4 calories per gram).
Canned tuna labels combine three choices, and each one moves the numbers:
Fresh tuna steaks are a different product; see ahi tuna for cooked yellowfin steak.
USDA measures canned tuna as drained solids, the fish left after pouring off the liquid. For water-packed tuna, the water adds little besides some sodium when the tuna is salted. For oil-packed tuna, leaving the oil in adds its fat and calories, so drain it if you want the numbers to match a drained record.
USDA's can holds 165 g of drained tuna, more than many cans sold today hold. Weigh the drained tuna, or use the 3 oz serving and adjust the quantity.
For tuna salad, sandwiches or kits, weigh the drained tuna that goes into each batch and enter it in the label generator. Check whether your tuna is salted: this record has no added salt, so salted tuna entered as this record would understate sodium on your label. In that case, use your supplier's nutrition values or add the salt from the can's label. The FDA reference amount for your product is in the RACC lookup, and a mixed recipe can be built in the recipe nutrition calculator.
The same serving of canned tuna, drawn by the label formats other markets require: the Canadian bilingual Nutrition Facts table, the EU nutrition declaration (per 100 g, energy in kJ and kcal, salt instead of sodium) and the UK nutrition information table with reference intakes. The generator switches between these and many more from one recipe.
| Fat / Lipides | 0.7 g | 1 % |
| Saturated / Saturés | 0 g + Trans 0 g | 1 % |
| Cholesterol / Cholestérol | 26 mg | 9 % |
| Sodium | 45 mg | 2 % |
| Carbohydrate / Glucides | 0 g | 0 % |
| Fibre / Fibres | 0 g | 0 % |
| Sugars / Sucres | 0 g | 0 % |
| Protein / Protéines | 22 g | |
| Vitamin D / Vitamine D | 0 mcg | 0 % |
| Calcium | 9 mg | 1 % |
| Iron / Fer | 1 mg | 7 % |
| Potassium | 201 mg | 6 % |
| Per 100g | |
|---|---|
| Energy | 485 kJ / 116 kcal |
| Fat | 0.8 g |
| of which saturates | 0.2 g |
| Carbohydrate | 0.0 g |
| of which sugars | 0.0 g |
| Protein | 26 g |
| Salt | 0.1 g |
| Per 100g | Per 85g | %RI* | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Energy | 485 kJ 116 kcal |
413 kJ 99 kcal |
4.9% |
| Fat | 0.8g | 0.7g | <1% |
| of which saturates | 0.2g | 0.2g | <1% |
| Carbohydrate | 0 gg | 0 gg | <1% |
| of which sugars | 0 gg | 0 gg | <1% |
| Fibre | 0 gg | 0 gg | - |
| Protein | 26g | 22g | 43% |
| Salt | 0.13g | 0.11g | 1.8% |
Different forms of the same food are separate USDA records, so each has its own page. Per 100 g:
| Form | Calories | Protein | Total fat | Total carbohydrate |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Canned TunaFish, tuna, light, canned in water, without salt, drained solids | 116 | 25.5 g | 0.82 g | 0 g |
| Ahi TunaFish, tuna, yellowfin, fresh, cooked, dry heat | 130 | 29.2 g | 0.59 g | 0 g |
| Albacore TunaFish, tuna, white, canned in water, drained solids | 128 | 23.6 g | 2.97 g | 0 g |
| Albacore Tuna in OilFish, tuna, white, canned in oil, drained solids | 186 | 26.5 g | 8.08 g | 0 g |
| Raw Ahi TunaFish, tuna, fresh, yellowfin, raw | 109 | 24.4 g | 0.49 g | 0 g |
| Tuna in OilFish, tuna, light, canned in oil, drained solids | 198 | 29.1 g | 8.21 g | 0 g |
If you make and sell a product that contains canned tuna, these free tools cover the next steps.
Nutrient values are from USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy (April 2018 release, public domain), record 171986: "Fish, tuna, light, canned in water, without salt, drained solids". Values are stored per 100 g exactly as USDA reports them and scaled to each serving by weight. The Nutrition Facts panel applies the FDA rounding rules in 21 CFR 101.9; tables and text show the scaled amounts at reading precision, so a figure can differ slightly from the panel. A nutrient USDA does not report for this food is shown as not reported, never as a guessed value.
SR Legacy predates the added sugars field. This is a whole or unsweetened food, so added sugars are shown as 0 g. View the USDA record ↗