Skip to content
Nutrition database · Fish

Flounder Nutrition Facts

Flounder nutrition facts from USDA FoodData Central: 73 calories in 3 oz, with 13 g protein, 0 g carbohydrate and 2 g fat. Change the serving below and the label, the summary and the full nutrient table update together.

Default serving
3 oz (85 g)

Flounder Nutrition Facts label

Nutrition Facts 1 serving per container Serving size 3 oz (85g) Amount per serving Calories 70 % Daily Value* Total Fat 2g 3% Saturated Fat 0g 2% Trans Fat 0g Cholesterol 50mg 16% Sodium 310mg 13% Total Carbohydrate 0g 0% Dietary Fiber 0g 0% Total Sugars 0g Includes 0g Added Sugars 0% Protein 13g Vitamin D 3mcg 15% Calcium 20mg 2% Iron 0.2mg 1% Potassium 170mg 4% The % Daily Value (DV) tells you how much a nutrient in a serving of food contributes to a daily diet. 2,000 calories a day is used for general nutrition advice. *

FDA standard format. Values use the FDA rounding rules for the serving you pick. Nutrients USDA does not report for this food print as 0 on the panel and as "not reported" in the table.

Download this label: · PNG Free to use as a reference. A label for a product you sell needs your full recipe and ingredient statement.

3 oz (85 g)

At a glance

Calories
73
Protein
13 g · 26%
Total carbohydrate
0 g · 0%
Total fat
2 g · 3%
Dietary fiber
0 g · 0%
Total sugars
0 g · 0%
Sodium
309 mg · 13%
Use flounder in a recipe

Opens the free label generator with this amount of flounder already added. Add the rest of your ingredients and the label updates as you go.

All nutrients for this serving
3 oz (85 g)
NutrientPer serving% DV*Per 100 g
Calories and macronutrients
Calories7386
Total fat2 g3%2.37 g
Saturated fat0.5 g2%0.54 g
Trans fat<0.1 g0.01 g
Monounsaturated fat0.6 g0.66 g
Polyunsaturated fat0.4 g0.46 g
Cholesterol48 mg16%56 mg
Sodium309 mg13%363 mg
Total carbohydrate0 g0%0 g
Dietary fiber0 g0%0 g
Total sugars0 g0 g
Added sugars0 g0%0 g
Protein13 g15.2 g
Vitamins
Vitamin D3 mcg15%3.5 mcg
Vitamin A10 mcg1%12 mcg
Vitamin C0 mg0%0 mg
Vitamin E0.65 mg4%0.77 mg
Vitamin K0.09 mcg0%0.1 mcg
Thiamin (B1)<0.1 mg2%0.03 mg
Riboflavin (B2)<0.1 mg2%0.03 mg
Niacin (B3)1.1 mg7%1.28 mg
Vitamin B60.1 mg6%0.12 mg
Folate (DFE)5.1 mcg1%6 mcg
Vitamin B121.1 mcg46%1.31 mcg
Choline68 mg12%79.9 mg
Minerals
Calcium21 mg2%25 mg
Iron0.2 mg1%0.23 mg
Potassium167 mg4%197 mg
Magnesium19 mg4%22 mg
Phosphorus263 mg21%309 mg
Zinc0.33 mg3%0.39 mg
Copper<0.1 mg2%0.02 mg
Manganese<0.1 mg1%0.02 mg
Selenium28 mcg50%32.6 mcg
Other
Water68.9 g81.1 g
Caffeine0 mg0 mg
Alcohol0 g0 g

* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet (FDA reference values for adults and children 4 years and older). Per-100 g values are USDA figures before label rounding.

Flounder nutrition by serving size

Every serving below is a USDA household measure for this food, a fraction of one, or a unit conversion. Amounts are USDA values scaled by weight; only the Nutrition Facts panel applies the coarser FDA label rounding.

ServingWeightCaloriesTotal carbohydrateProteinTotal fatDietary fiberTotal sugars
1 fillet127 g1090 g19.4 g3 g0 g0 g
3 oz85 g730 g13 g2 g0 g0 g
100 g100 g860 g15.2 g2.4 g0 g0 g

How many calories are in flounder?

Flounder (3 oz, 85 g) has 73 calories. 100 g has 86 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 70.

How much selenium is in flounder?

Flounder (3 oz, 85 g) has 28 mcg of selenium, 50% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 32.6 mcg. At 20% DV or more per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for an "excellent source" claim.

How much vitamin B12 is in flounder?

Flounder (3 oz, 85 g) has 1.1 mcg of vitamin B12, 46% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 1.31 mcg. At 20% DV or more per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for an "excellent source" claim.

Flounder nutrition per 100 grams

100 g of flounder has 86 calories, 15.2 g protein, 0 g carbohydrate, 0 g fiber, 0 g sugars and 2.37 g fat.

Where the calories in flounder come from

About 0% of the calories in flounder come from carbohydrate, 26% from fat and 74% from protein (Atwater factors of 4, 9 and 4 calories per gram).

Flounder nutrition label for Canada, the EU and the UK

The same serving of flounder, drawn by the label formats other markets require: the Canadian bilingual Nutrition Facts table, the EU nutrition declaration (per 100 g, energy in kJ and kcal, salt instead of sodium) and the UK nutrition information table with reference intakes. The generator switches between these and many more from one recipe.

Frequently asked questions about flounder

How many calories are in flounder?
Flounder (3 oz, 85 g) has 73 calories. 100 g has 86 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 70.
What is a serving of flounder?
This page defaults to 3 oz (85 g), a USDA household measure. The serving size on a packaged food label is set by the FDA reference amount (RACC) for its category, so a product label can use a different amount. The selector above shows every USDA measure for flounder.
Can I use flounder in a Nutrition Facts label calculation?
Yes. Open the generator with flounder added, enter the weight you use, add your other ingredients and the label is calculated from the same USDA record shown here. A label for a product you sell must reflect your actual recipe and finished serving.

Flounder compared with other forms

Different forms of the same food are separate USDA records, so each has its own page. Per 100 g:

FormCaloriesProteinTotal fatTotal carbohydrate
FlounderFish, flatfish (flounder and sole species), cooked, dry heat8615.2 g2.37 g0 g
Raw FlounderFish, flatfish (flounder and sole species), raw7012.4 g1.93 g0 g

Often compared or used with flounder

More in Fish

Tools and guides for labeling flounder

If you make and sell a product that contains flounder, these free tools cover the next steps.

Source and method

Nutrient values are from USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy (April 2018 release, public domain), record 174197: "Fish, flatfish (flounder and sole species), cooked, dry heat". Values are stored per 100 g exactly as USDA reports them and scaled to each serving by weight. The Nutrition Facts panel applies the FDA rounding rules in 21 CFR 101.9; tables and text show the scaled amounts at reading precision, so a figure can differ slightly from the panel. A nutrient USDA does not report for this food is shown as not reported, never as a guessed value.

SR Legacy predates the added sugars field. This is a whole or unsweetened food, so added sugars are shown as 0 g. View the USDA record ↗

Make a Nutrition Facts label with flounder

Add flounder and the rest of your recipe. The label, %DV and serving math are done for you. Free to start.