How many calories are in tamale?
Tamale (1 item, 140 g) has 244 calories. 100 g has 174 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 240.
Tamale (1 item, 140 g) has 244 calories, 10.3 g protein, 22.1 g carbohydrate and 12.7 g fat, according to USDA FoodData Central. 100 g has 174 calories. Change the serving below and the label, the summary and the full nutrient table update together.
FDA standard format. Values use the FDA rounding rules for the serving you pick. Nutrients USDA does not report for this food print as 0 on the panel and as "not reported" in the table.
1 item (140 g)
Opens the free label generator with this amount of tamale already added. Add the rest of your ingredients and the label updates as you go.
| Nutrient | Per serving | % DV* | Per 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories and macronutrients | |||
| Calories | 244 | 174 | |
| Total fat | 12.7 g | 16% | 9.04 g |
| Saturated fat | 3.8 g | 19% | 2.69 g |
| Trans fat | not reported | ||
| Monounsaturated fat | 4.5 g | 3.2 g | |
| Polyunsaturated fat | 2.8 g | 2.03 g | |
| Cholesterol | 28 mg | 9% | 20 mg |
| Sodium | 662 mg | 29% | 473 mg |
| Total carbohydrate | 22.1 g | 8% | 15.8 g |
| Dietary fiber | 3.4 g | 12% | 2.4 g |
| Total sugars | 0.6 g | 0.46 g | |
| Added sugars | not reported | ||
| Protein | 10.3 g | 7.38 g | |
| Vitamins | |||
| Vitamin D | 0.42 mcg | 2% | 0.3 mcg |
| Vitamin A | 17 mcg | 2% | 12 mcg |
| Vitamin C | 23 mg | 26% | 16.4 mg |
| Vitamin E | 0.74 mg | 5% | 0.53 mg |
| Vitamin K | 7.1 mcg | 6% | 5.1 mcg |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.06 mg | 5% | 0.04 mg |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.07 mg | 5% | 0.05 mg |
| Niacin (B3) | 1.8 mg | 11% | 1.29 mg |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.18 mg | 11% | 0.13 mg |
| Folate (DFE) | 84 mcg | 21% | 60 mcg |
| Vitamin B12 | 0.17 mcg | 7% | 0.12 mcg |
| Choline | 12 mg | 2% | 8.8 mg |
| Minerals | |||
| Calcium | 105 mg | 8% | 75 mg |
| Iron | 1.2 mg | 7% | 0.87 mg |
| Potassium | 213 mg | 5% | 152 mg |
| Magnesium | 36 mg | 9% | 26 mg |
| Phosphorus | 168 mg | 13% | 120 mg |
| Zinc | 1.7 mg | 15% | 1.2 mg |
| Copper | 0.07 mg | 8% | 0.05 mg |
| Manganese | not reported | ||
| Selenium | 14 mcg | 25% | 9.8 mcg |
| Other | |||
| Water | 92.4 g | 66 g | |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | |
| Alcohol | 0 g | 0 g | |
* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet (FDA reference values for adults and children 4 years and older). Per-100 g values are USDA figures before label rounding.
Every serving below is a USDA household measure for this food, a fraction of one, or a unit conversion. Amounts are USDA values scaled by weight; only the Nutrition Facts panel applies the coarser FDA label rounding.
| Serving | Weight | Calories | Total carbohydrate | Protein | Total fat | Dietary fiber | Total sugars |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 item | 140 g | 244 | 22.1 g | 10.3 g | 12.7 g | 3.4 g | 0.6 g |
| 1 cup | 170 g | 296 | 26.9 g | 12.5 g | 15.4 g | 4.1 g | 0.8 g |
| 100 g | 100 g | 174 | 15.8 g | 7.4 g | 9 g | 2.4 g | 0.5 g |
Tamale (1 item, 140 g) has 244 calories. 100 g has 174 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 240.
Tamale (1 item, 140 g) has 662 mg of sodium, 29% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 473 mg. That is 20% DV or more per serving, which the FDA treats as high.
Tamale (1 item, 140 g) has 23 mg of vitamin C, 26% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 16.4 mg. At 20% DV or more per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for an "excellent source" claim.
100 g of tamale has 174 calories, 7.38 g protein, 15.8 g carbohydrate, 2.4 g fiber, 0.46 g sugars and 9.04 g fat.
About 36% of the calories in tamale come from carbohydrate, 47% from fat and 17% from protein (Atwater factors of 4, 9 and 4 calories per gram).
The same serving of tamale, drawn by the label formats other markets require: the Canadian bilingual Nutrition Facts table, the EU nutrition declaration (per 100 g, energy in kJ and kcal, salt instead of sodium) and the UK nutrition information table with reference intakes. The generator switches between these and many more from one recipe.
| Fat / Lipides | 13 g | 17 % |
| Saturated / Saturés | 3.8 g + Trans 0 g | 19 % |
| Cholesterol / Cholestérol | 28 mg | 9 % |
| Sodium | 660 mg | 29 % |
| Carbohydrate / Glucides | 22 g | 8 % |
| Fibre / Fibres | 3 g | 12 % |
| Sugars / Sucres | 1 g | 1 % |
| Protein / Protéines | 10 g | |
| Vitamin D / Vitamine D | 0 mcg | 2 % |
| Calcium | 105 mg | 8 % |
| Iron / Fer | 1 mg | 7 % |
| Potassium | 213 mg | 6 % |
| Per 100g | |
|---|---|
| Energy | 728 kJ / 174 kcal |
| Fat | 9.0 g |
| of which saturates | 2.7 g |
| Carbohydrate | 16 g |
| of which sugars | 0.5 g |
| Protein | 7.4 g |
| Salt | 1.2 g |
| Per 100g | Per 140g | %RI* | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Energy | 728 kJ 174 kcal |
1019 kJ 244 kcal |
12% |
| Fat | 9.0g | 13g | 18% |
| of which saturates | 2.7g | 3.8g | 19% |
| Carbohydrate | 16g | 22g | 8.5% |
| of which sugars | 0 gg | 0.6g | <1% |
| Fibre | 2.4g | 3.4g | - |
| Protein | 7.4g | 10g | 21% |
| Salt | 1.2g | 1.7g | 28% |
If you make and sell a product that contains tamale, these free tools cover the next steps.
Nutrient values are from USDA FoodData Central, FNDDS 2019-2020 (October 2022 release, public domain), record 2344054: "Tamale, NFS". Values are stored per 100 g exactly as USDA reports them and scaled to each serving by weight. The Nutrition Facts panel applies the FDA rounding rules in 21 CFR 101.9; tables and text show the scaled amounts at reading precision, so a figure can differ slightly from the panel. A nutrient USDA does not report for this food is shown as not reported, never as a guessed value.
FNDDS 2019-2020 does not report added sugars, and this prepared dish may contain some, so added sugars are shown as not reported. The label panel prints 0 g because a row cannot be blank; a real product label needs the figure from its recipe. View the USDA record ↗