Skip to content
Nutrition database · Coffee and tea

Instant Coffee Nutrition Facts

Instant Coffee nutrition facts from USDA FoodData Central: 4 calories in 1 serving 6 fl oz, with 0.2 g protein, 0.6 g carbohydrate and 0 g fat. Change the serving below and the label, the summary and the full nutrient table update together.

Default serving
1 serving 6 fl oz (179 g)

Instant Coffee Nutrition Facts label

Nutrition Facts 1 serving per container Serving size 1 serving 6 fl oz (179g) Amount per serving Calories 0 % Daily Value* Total Fat 0g 0% Saturated Fat 0g 0% Trans Fat 0g Cholesterol 0mg 0% Sodium 5mg 0% Total Carbohydrate less than 1g 0% Dietary Fiber 0g 0% Total Sugars 0g Includes 0g Added Sugars 0% Protein 0g Vitamin D 0mcg 0% Calcium 10mg 1% Iron 0.1mg 0% Potassium 55mg 1% The % Daily Value (DV) tells you how much a nutrient in a serving of food contributes to a daily diet. 2,000 calories a day is used for general nutrition advice. *

FDA standard format. Values use the FDA rounding rules for the serving you pick. Nutrients USDA does not report for this food print as 0 on the panel and as "not reported" in the table.

Download this label: · PNG Free to use as a reference. A label for a product you sell needs your full recipe and ingredient statement.

1 serving 6 fl oz (179 g)

At a glance

Calories
4
Protein
0.2 g · 0%
Total carbohydrate
0.6 g · 0%
Total fat
0 g · 0%
Dietary fiber
0 g · 0%
Total sugars
0 g · 0%
Sodium
7.2 mg · 0%
Use instant coffee in a recipe

Opens the free label generator with this amount of instant coffee already added. Add the rest of your ingredients and the label updates as you go.

All nutrients for this serving
1 serving 6 fl oz (179 g)
NutrientPer serving% DV*Per 100 g
Calories and macronutrients
Calories42
Total fat0 g0%0 g
Saturated fat<0.1 g0%0 g
Trans fat0 g0 g
Monounsaturated fat0 g0 g
Polyunsaturated fat<0.1 g0 g
Cholesterol0 mg0%0 mg
Sodium7.2 mg0%4 mg
Total carbohydrate0.6 g0%0.34 g
Dietary fiber0 g0%0 g
Total sugars0 g0 g
Added sugars0 g0%0 g
Protein0.2 g0.1 g
Vitamins
Vitamin Dnot reported
Vitamin A0 mcg0%0 mcg
Vitamin C0 mg0%0 mg
Vitamin E0 mg0%0 mg
Vitamin K0 mcg0%0 mcg
Thiamin (B1)0 mg0%0 mg
Riboflavin (B2)<0.1 mg0%0 mg
Niacin (B3)0.42 mg3%0.24 mg
Vitamin B60 mg0%0 mg
Folate (DFE)0 mcg0%0 mcg
Vitamin B120 mcg0%0 mcg
Cholinenot reported
Minerals
Calcium7.2 mg1%4 mg
Iron0.07 mg0%0.04 mg
Potassium54 mg1%30 mg
Magnesium7.2 mg2%4 mg
Phosphorus5.4 mg0%3 mg
Zinc<0.1 mg0%0.01 mg
Copper<0.1 mg2%0.01 mg
Manganese<0.1 mg1%0.02 mg
Selenium0.18 mcg0%0.1 mcg
Other
Water177.4 g99.1 g
Caffeine47 mg26 mg
Alcohol0 g0 g

* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet (FDA reference values for adults and children 4 years and older). Per-100 g values are USDA figures before label rounding.

Instant Coffee nutrition by serving size

Every serving below is a USDA household measure for this food, a fraction of one, or a unit conversion. Amounts are USDA values scaled by weight; only the Nutrition Facts panel applies the coarser FDA label rounding.

ServingWeightCaloriesTotal carbohydrateProteinTotal fatDietary fiberTotal sugars
1 fl oz29.8 g10.1 g<0.1 g0 g0 g0 g
1 serving 6 fl oz179 g40.6 g0.2 g0 g0 g0 g
100 g100 g20.3 g0.1 g0 g0 g0 g

How many calories are in instant coffee?

Instant coffee (1 serving 6 fl oz, 179 g) has 4 calories. 100 g has 2 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 0.

Instant Coffee nutrition per 100 grams

100 g of instant coffee has 2 calories, 0.1 g protein, 0.34 g carbohydrate, 0 g fiber, 0 g sugars and 0 g fat.

Where the calories in instant coffee come from

About 77% of the calories in instant coffee come from carbohydrate, 0% from fat and 23% from protein (Atwater factors of 4, 9 and 4 calories per gram).

Instant Coffee nutrition label for Canada, the EU and the UK

The same serving of instant coffee, drawn by the label formats other markets require: the Canadian bilingual Nutrition Facts table, the EU nutrition declaration (per 100 g, energy in kJ and kcal, salt instead of sodium) and the UK nutrition information table with reference intakes. The generator switches between these and many more from one recipe.

Frequently asked questions about instant coffee

How many calories are in instant coffee?
Instant coffee (1 serving 6 fl oz, 179 g) has 4 calories. 100 g has 2 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 0.
What is a serving of instant coffee?
This page defaults to 1 serving 6 fl oz (179 g), a USDA household measure. The serving size on a packaged food label is set by the FDA reference amount (RACC) for its category, so a product label can use a different amount. The selector above shows every USDA measure for instant coffee.
Can I use instant coffee in a Nutrition Facts label calculation?
Yes. Open the generator with instant coffee added, enter the weight you use, add your other ingredients and the label is calculated from the same USDA record shown here. A label for a product you sell must reflect your actual recipe and finished serving.

Instant Coffee compared with other forms

Different forms of the same food are separate USDA records, so each has its own page. Per 100 g:

FormCaloriesProteinTotal fatTotal carbohydrate
Instant CoffeeBeverages, coffee, instant, regular, prepared with water20.1 g0 g0.34 g
CoffeeBeverages, coffee, brewed, prepared with tap water10.12 g0.02 g0 g
Decaf CoffeeBeverages, coffee, brewed, prepared with tap water, decaffeinated00.1 g0 g0 g
Instant Coffee PowderBeverages, coffee, instant, regular, powder35312.2 g0.5 g75.4 g

Often compared or used with instant coffee

More in Coffee and tea

Tools and guides for labeling instant coffee

If you make and sell a product that contains instant coffee, these free tools cover the next steps.

Source and method

Nutrient values are from USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy (April 2018 release, public domain), record 174130: "Beverages, coffee, instant, regular, prepared with water". Values are stored per 100 g exactly as USDA reports them and scaled to each serving by weight. The Nutrition Facts panel applies the FDA rounding rules in 21 CFR 101.9; tables and text show the scaled amounts at reading precision, so a figure can differ slightly from the panel. A nutrient USDA does not report for this food is shown as not reported, never as a guessed value.

SR Legacy predates the added sugars field. This is a whole or unsweetened food, so added sugars are shown as 0 g. View the USDA record ↗

Make a Nutrition Facts label with instant coffee

Add instant coffee and the rest of your recipe. The label, %DV and serving math are done for you. Free to start.