Skip to content
Nutrition database · Coffee and tea

Coffee Nutrition Facts

Coffee nutrition facts from USDA FoodData Central: 2 calories in 1 cup (8 fl oz), with 0.3 g protein, 0 g carbohydrate and <0.1 g fat. Change the serving below and the label, the summary and the full nutrient table update together.

Default serving
1 cup (8 fl oz) (237 g)

Coffee Nutrition Facts label

Nutrition Facts 1 serving per container Serving size 1 cup (237g) Amount per serving Calories 0 % Daily Value* Total Fat 0g 0% Saturated Fat 0g 0% Trans Fat 0g Cholesterol 0mg 0% Sodium 0mg 0% Total Carbohydrate 0g 0% Dietary Fiber 0g 0% Total Sugars 0g Includes 0g Added Sugars 0% Protein 0g Vitamin D 0mcg 0% Calcium 0mg 0% Iron 0mg 0% Potassium 115mg 2% The % Daily Value (DV) tells you how much a nutrient in a serving of food contributes to a daily diet. 2,000 calories a day is used for general nutrition advice. *

FDA standard format. Values use the FDA rounding rules for the serving you pick. Nutrients USDA does not report for this food print as 0 on the panel and as "not reported" in the table.

Download this label: · PNG Free to use as a reference. A label for a product you sell needs your full recipe and ingredient statement.

1 cup (8 fl oz) (237 g)

At a glance

Calories
2
Protein
0.3 g · 1%
Total carbohydrate
0 g · 0%
Total fat
<0.1 g · 0%
Dietary fiber
0 g · 0%
Total sugars
0 g · 0%
Sodium
4.7 mg · 0%
Use coffee in a recipe

Opens the free label generator with this amount of coffee already added. Add the rest of your ingredients and the label updates as you go.

All nutrients for this serving
1 cup (8 fl oz) (237 g)
NutrientPer serving% DV*Per 100 g
Calories and macronutrients
Calories21
Total fat<0.1 g0%0.02 g
Saturated fat<0.1 g0%0 g
Trans fat0 g0 g
Monounsaturated fat<0.1 g0.02 g
Polyunsaturated fat<0.1 g0 g
Cholesterol0 mg0%0 mg
Sodium4.7 mg0%2 mg
Total carbohydrate0 g0%0 g
Dietary fiber0 g0%0 g
Total sugars0 g0 g
Added sugars0 g0%0 g
Protein0.3 g0.12 g
Vitamins
Vitamin D0 mcg0%0 mcg
Vitamin A0 mcg0%0 mcg
Vitamin C0 mg0%0 mg
Vitamin E<0.1 mg0%0.01 mg
Vitamin K0.24 mcg0%0.1 mcg
Thiamin (B1)<0.1 mg3%0.01 mg
Riboflavin (B2)0.18 mg14%0.08 mg
Niacin (B3)0.45 mg3%0.19 mg
Vitamin B6<0.1 mg0%0 mg
Folate (DFE)4.7 mcg1%2 mcg
Vitamin B120 mcg0%0 mcg
Choline6.2 mg1%2.6 mg
Minerals
Calcium4.7 mg0%2 mg
Iron<0.1 mg0%0.01 mg
Potassium116 mg2%49 mg
Magnesium7.1 mg2%3 mg
Phosphorus7.1 mg1%3 mg
Zinc<0.1 mg0%0.02 mg
Copper<0.1 mg1%0 mg
Manganese0.05 mg2%0.02 mg
Selenium0 mcg0%0 mcg
Other
Water235.6 g99.4 g
Caffeine95 mg40 mg
Alcohol0 g0 g

* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet (FDA reference values for adults and children 4 years and older). Per-100 g values are USDA figures before label rounding.

Coffee nutrition by serving size

Every serving below is a USDA household measure for this food, a fraction of one, or a unit conversion. Amounts are USDA values scaled by weight; only the Nutrition Facts panel applies the coarser FDA label rounding.

ServingWeightCaloriesTotal carbohydrateProteinTotal fatDietary fiberTotal sugars
1 fl oz29.6 g00 g<0.1 g<0.1 g0 g0 g
6 fl oz178 g20 g0.2 g<0.1 g0 g0 g
1 cup (8 fl oz)237 g20 g0.3 g<0.1 g0 g0 g
100 g100 g10 g0.1 g<0.1 g0 g0 g

How many calories are in coffee?

Coffee (1 cup, 237 g) has 2 calories. 100 g has 1 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 0.

How much riboflavin is in coffee?

Coffee (1 cup, 237 g) has 0.18 mg of riboflavin, 14% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 0.08 mg. At 10 to 19% DV per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for a "good source" claim.

Coffee nutrition per 100 grams

100 g of coffee has 1 calories, 0.12 g protein, 0 g carbohydrate, 0 g fiber, 0 g sugars and 0.02 g fat.

Where the calories in coffee come from

About 0% of the calories in coffee come from carbohydrate, 27% from fat and 73% from protein (Atwater factors of 4, 9 and 4 calories per gram).

Coffee nutrition label for Canada, the EU and the UK

The same serving of coffee, drawn by the label formats other markets require: the Canadian bilingual Nutrition Facts table, the EU nutrition declaration (per 100 g, energy in kJ and kcal, salt instead of sodium) and the UK nutrition information table with reference intakes. The generator switches between these and many more from one recipe.

Frequently asked questions about coffee

How many calories are in coffee?
Coffee (1 cup, 237 g) has 2 calories. 100 g has 1 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 0.
What is a serving of coffee?
This page defaults to 1 cup (8 fl oz) (237 g), a USDA household measure. The serving size on a packaged food label is set by the FDA reference amount (RACC) for its category, so a product label can use a different amount. The selector above shows every USDA measure for coffee.
Can I use coffee in a Nutrition Facts label calculation?
Yes. Open the generator with coffee added, enter the weight you use, add your other ingredients and the label is calculated from the same USDA record shown here. A label for a product you sell must reflect your actual recipe and finished serving.

Coffee compared with other forms

Different forms of the same food are separate USDA records, so each has its own page. Per 100 g:

FormCaloriesProteinTotal fatTotal carbohydrate
CoffeeBeverages, coffee, brewed, prepared with tap water10.12 g0.02 g0 g
Decaf CoffeeBeverages, coffee, brewed, prepared with tap water, decaffeinated00.1 g0 g0 g
Instant CoffeeBeverages, coffee, instant, regular, prepared with water20.1 g0 g0.34 g
Instant Coffee PowderBeverages, coffee, instant, regular, powder35312.2 g0.5 g75.4 g

Often compared or used with coffee

More in Coffee and tea

Tools and guides for labeling coffee

If you make and sell a product that contains coffee, these free tools cover the next steps.

Source and method

Nutrient values are from USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy (April 2018 release, public domain), record 171890: "Beverages, coffee, brewed, prepared with tap water". Values are stored per 100 g exactly as USDA reports them and scaled to each serving by weight. The Nutrition Facts panel applies the FDA rounding rules in 21 CFR 101.9; tables and text show the scaled amounts at reading precision, so a figure can differ slightly from the panel. A nutrient USDA does not report for this food is shown as not reported, never as a guessed value.

SR Legacy predates the added sugars field. This is a whole or unsweetened food, so added sugars are shown as 0 g. View the USDA record ↗

Make a Nutrition Facts label with coffee

Add coffee and the rest of your recipe. The label, %DV and serving math are done for you. Free to start.