Skip to content
Nutrition database · Fish

Herring Nutrition Facts

Herring nutrition facts from USDA FoodData Central: 173 calories in 3 oz, with 19.6 g protein, 0 g carbohydrate and 9.9 g fat. Change the serving below and the label, the summary and the full nutrient table update together.

Default serving
3 oz (85 g)

Herring Nutrition Facts label

Nutrition Facts 1 serving per container Serving size 3 oz (85g) Amount per serving Calories 170 % Daily Value* Total Fat 10g 13% Saturated Fat 2g 11% Trans Fat 0g Cholesterol 65mg 22% Sodium 100mg 4% Total Carbohydrate 0g 0% Dietary Fiber 0g 0% Total Sugars 0g Includes 0g Added Sugars 0% Protein 20g Vitamin D 4.6mcg 23% Calcium 60mg 5% Iron 1.2mg 7% Potassium 360mg 8% The % Daily Value (DV) tells you how much a nutrient in a serving of food contributes to a daily diet. 2,000 calories a day is used for general nutrition advice. *

FDA standard format. Values use the FDA rounding rules for the serving you pick. Nutrients USDA does not report for this food print as 0 on the panel and as "not reported" in the table.

Download this label: · PNG Free to use as a reference. A label for a product you sell needs your full recipe and ingredient statement.

3 oz (85 g)

At a glance

Calories
173
Protein
19.6 g · 39%
Total carbohydrate
0 g · 0%
Total fat
9.9 g · 13%
Dietary fiber
0 g · 0%
Total sugars
0 g · 0%
Sodium
98 mg · 4%
Use herring in a recipe

Opens the free label generator with this amount of herring already added. Add the rest of your ingredients and the label updates as you go.

All nutrients for this serving
3 oz (85 g)
NutrientPer serving% DV*Per 100 g
Calories and macronutrients
Calories173203
Total fat9.9 g13%11.6 g
Saturated fat2.2 g11%2.62 g
Trans fatnot reported
Monounsaturated fat4.1 g4.79 g
Polyunsaturated fat2.3 g2.74 g
Cholesterol65 mg22%77 mg
Sodium98 mg4%115 mg
Total carbohydrate0 g0%0 g
Dietary fiber0 g0%0 g
Total sugars0 g0 g
Added sugars0 g0%0 g
Protein19.6 g23 g
Vitamins
Vitamin D4.6 mcg23%5.4 mcg
Vitamin A31 mcg3%36 mcg
Vitamin C0.6 mg1%0.7 mg
Vitamin E1.2 mg8%1.37 mg
Vitamin K0.09 mcg0%0.1 mcg
Thiamin (B1)0.1 mg8%0.11 mg
Riboflavin (B2)0.25 mg20%0.3 mg
Niacin (B3)3.5 mg22%4.12 mg
Vitamin B60.3 mg17%0.35 mg
Folate (DFE)10 mcg3%12 mcg
Vitamin B1211 mcg465%13.1 mcg
Choline71 mg13%83.3 mg
Minerals
Calcium63 mg5%74 mg
Iron1.2 mg7%1.41 mg
Potassium356 mg8%419 mg
Magnesium35 mg8%41 mg
Phosphorus258 mg21%303 mg
Zinc1.1 mg10%1.27 mg
Copper0.1 mg11%0.12 mg
Manganese<0.1 mg1%0.04 mg
Selenium40 mcg72%46.8 mcg
Other
Water54.5 g64.2 g
Caffeine0 mg0 mg
Alcohol0 g0 g

* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet (FDA reference values for adults and children 4 years and older). Per-100 g values are USDA figures before label rounding.

Herring nutrition by serving size

Every serving below is a USDA household measure for this food, a fraction of one, or a unit conversion. Amounts are USDA values scaled by weight; only the Nutrition Facts panel applies the coarser FDA label rounding.

ServingWeightCaloriesTotal carbohydrateProteinTotal fatDietary fiberTotal sugars
1 fillet143 g2900 g32.9 g16.6 g0 g0 g
3 oz85 g1730 g19.6 g9.9 g0 g0 g
100 g100 g2030 g23 g11.6 g0 g0 g

How many calories are in herring?

Herring (3 oz, 85 g) has 173 calories. 100 g has 203 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 170.

How much vitamin B12 is in herring?

Herring (3 oz, 85 g) has 11 mcg of vitamin B12, 465% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 13.1 mcg. At 20% DV or more per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for an "excellent source" claim.

How much selenium is in herring?

Herring (3 oz, 85 g) has 40 mcg of selenium, 72% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 46.8 mcg. At 20% DV or more per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for an "excellent source" claim.

Herring nutrition per 100 grams

100 g of herring has 203 calories, 23 g protein, 0 g carbohydrate, 0 g fiber, 0 g sugars and 11.6 g fat.

Where the calories in herring come from

About 0% of the calories in herring come from carbohydrate, 53% from fat and 47% from protein (Atwater factors of 4, 9 and 4 calories per gram).

Herring nutrition label for Canada, the EU and the UK

The same serving of herring, drawn by the label formats other markets require: the Canadian bilingual Nutrition Facts table, the EU nutrition declaration (per 100 g, energy in kJ and kcal, salt instead of sodium) and the UK nutrition information table with reference intakes. The generator switches between these and many more from one recipe.

Frequently asked questions about herring

How many calories are in herring?
Herring (3 oz, 85 g) has 173 calories. 100 g has 203 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 170.
What is a serving of herring?
This page defaults to 3 oz (85 g), a USDA household measure. The serving size on a packaged food label is set by the FDA reference amount (RACC) for its category, so a product label can use a different amount. The selector above shows every USDA measure for herring.
Can I use herring in a Nutrition Facts label calculation?
Yes. Open the generator with herring added, enter the weight you use, add your other ingredients and the label is calculated from the same USDA record shown here. A label for a product you sell must reflect your actual recipe and finished serving.

Herring compared with other forms

Different forms of the same food are separate USDA records, so each has its own page. Per 100 g:

FormCaloriesProteinTotal fatTotal carbohydrate
HerringFish, herring, Atlantic, cooked, dry heat20323 g11.6 g0 g
Kippered HerringFish, herring, Atlantic, kippered21724.6 g12.4 g0 g
Pickled HerringFish, herring, Atlantic, pickled26214.2 g18 g9.64 g

Often compared or used with herring

More in Fish

Tools and guides for labeling herring

If you make and sell a product that contains herring, these free tools cover the next steps.

Source and method

Nutrient values are from USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy (April 2018 release, public domain), record 175117: "Fish, herring, Atlantic, cooked, dry heat". Values are stored per 100 g exactly as USDA reports them and scaled to each serving by weight. The Nutrition Facts panel applies the FDA rounding rules in 21 CFR 101.9; tables and text show the scaled amounts at reading precision, so a figure can differ slightly from the panel. A nutrient USDA does not report for this food is shown as not reported, never as a guessed value.

SR Legacy predates the added sugars field. This is a whole or unsweetened food, so added sugars are shown as 0 g. View the USDA record ↗

Make a Nutrition Facts label with herring

Add herring and the rest of your recipe. The label, %DV and serving math are done for you. Free to start.