Cottage food labeling rules by state: all 50 states and DC
The exact home-kitchen statement, required label elements, sales cap and Nutrition Facts rule for every US state and Washington, DC, each linked to its official source. Checked 19 October 2026.
What almost every state requires
Cottage food laws let you sell certain low-risk foods made in your home kitchen, usually directly to consumers in your own state. The labeling rules differ by state, but most labels need the same core elements: the product name, the producer's name and address (or a registration number), an ingredient list in descending order by weight, the major food allergens, and a statement that the food was made in a home kitchen that is not inspected. Many states also ask for net weight or volume.
Most states do not require a Nutrition Facts panel on cottage food, but in the states that address it, a panel becomes mandatory as soon as the label makes a nutrient content or health claim such as "low sugar" or "high protein". Federal rules for that panel are explained in the FDA Nutrition Facts guide. Selling across state lines generally takes you out of cottage food rules altogether.
Jump to a state:
Alabama · Alaska · Arizona · Arkansas · California · Colorado · Connecticut · Delaware · District of Columbia · Florida · Georgia · Hawaii · Idaho · Illinois · Indiana · Iowa · Kansas · Kentucky · Louisiana · Maine · Maryland · Massachusetts · Michigan · Minnesota · Mississippi · Missouri · Montana · Nebraska · Nevada · New Hampshire · New Jersey · New Mexico · New York · North Carolina · North Dakota · Ohio · Oklahoma · Oregon · Pennsylvania · Rhode Island · South Carolina · South Dakota · Tennessee · Texas · Utah · Vermont · Virginia · Washington · West Virginia · Wisconsin · Wyoming
Quick comparison
"Limited" means the state has no full cottage food program but allows some home-produced food under a narrower permit or exemption. Sales caps are annual gross sales unless noted.
| State | Mandated label statement | Annual sales cap | Nutrition Facts panel |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | Yes | No cap | Not stated |
| Alaska | Yes | No cap | Not stated |
| Arizona | Yes | None stated | Not stated |
| Arkansas | Yes | None stated | Not stated |
| California | Yes | $75,000 (Class A) or $150,000 (Class B) a year, adjusted yearly | Only if you make a nutrient or health claim |
| Colorado | Yes | $10,000 net revenue per product a year | Not stated |
| Connecticut | Yes | $25,000 a year | Not stated |
| Delaware (limited) | Yes | None stated; direct in-state sales only | Not stated |
| District of Columbia | Yes | No cap (removed in 2020) | Only if you make a nutrient or health claim |
| Florida | Yes | $250,000 a year | Only if you make a nutrient or health claim |
| Georgia | Yes | None stated | Only if you make a nutrient or health claim |
| Hawaii | Yes | None stated | Not stated |
| Idaho | Yes | No cap; in-state sales to consumers only | Not stated |
| Illinois | Yes | None stated | Not stated |
| Indiana | Yes | None stated | Not stated |
| Iowa | Yes | None for cottage food; under $50,000 for licensed home processors | Not stated |
| Kansas (limited) | No fixed wording | None stated | Not stated |
| Kentucky | Yes | $60,000 a year | Only if you make a nutrient or health claim |
| Louisiana | No fixed wording | Under $30,000 a year | Not stated |
| Maine | No fixed wording | None stated | Not stated |
| Maryland | Yes | $50,000 a year | Only if you make a nutrient or health claim |
| Massachusetts (limited) | No fixed wording | None stated | Only if you make a nutrient or health claim |
| Michigan | Yes | $50,000 a year ($75,000 if items cost $250 or more each) | Not stated |
| Minnesota | Yes | $78,000 a year (two registration tiers) | Not stated |
| Mississippi | Yes | $35,000 a year | Only if you make a nutrient or health claim |
| Missouri (limited) | Yes | None stated | Not stated |
| Montana | Yes | None stated | Not stated |
| Nebraska | Yes | No cap | Not stated |
| Nevada | Yes | Not confirmed | Not stated |
| New Hampshire | Yes | None stated | Not stated |
| New Jersey | Yes | $50,000 a year | Not stated |
| New Mexico | Yes | None stated | Not stated |
| New York (limited) | No fixed wording | None stated | Not stated |
| North Carolina (limited) | No fixed wording | None stated | Not stated |
| North Dakota | Yes | None stated | Not stated |
| Ohio | Yes | None stated | Only if you make a nutrient or health claim |
| Oklahoma | Yes | $75,000 a year | Not stated |
| Oregon | Yes | $52,700 a year | Only if you make a nutrient or health claim |
| Pennsylvania (limited) | No fixed wording | None stated | Not stated |
| Rhode Island | Yes | $50,000 a year | Not stated |
| South Carolina | Yes | None stated | Not stated |
| South Dakota | Yes | None stated | May be required for some packaged foods |
| Tennessee | Yes | None stated | Not stated |
| Texas | Yes | $50,000 before SB 541; new cap not confirmed | Not stated |
| Utah | Yes | None stated | Required unless exempt; any claim removes the exemption |
| Vermont | Yes | $30,000 a year | Only if you make a nutrient or health claim |
| Virginia | Yes | $9,000 for acidified foods; none stated otherwise | Not stated |
| Washington | Yes | $35,000 a year | Only if you make a nutrient or health claim |
| West Virginia | Yes | None stated | Not stated |
| Wisconsin (limited) | Yes | $5,000 for home-canned foods; none stated for baked goods | Not stated |
| Wyoming | Yes | No cap | Not stated |
State-by-state label requirements
"This product may contain allergens."
"This food is not inspected by the Health Department."
- Name of individual or business
- Physical address or post office box
- Common name of the food
- Ingredient list with ingredients and sub-ingredients in order of predominance by weight
- Minimum 10-point font
- Every package must be labeled; labels approved by county health department
Sales cap: No cap · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
Source: aces.edu
Packaged: "This food was made in a home kitchen, is not regulated or inspected, except for meat and meat products, and may contain allergens."
Unpackaged (communicated to consumer): stating that the food "was prepared in accordance with AS 17.20.332 - 17.20.338" "and is not subject to certain state certification, labeling, licensing, packaging, regulation, or inspection requirements"
- Label must be clear and prominent
- Producer's name
- Current address
- Telephone number
- Business license number
Sales cap: No cap · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
Source: dec.alaska.gov, dec.alaska.gov
"This product was produced in a home kitchen that may come in contact with common FOOD allergens and pet allergens" ... "and is not subject to public health inspection."
"To obtain additional information about cottage foods or to report a foodborne illness, go to azdhs.gov/Cottagefood"
- Name and registration number of the cottage food preparer registered with the Department
- Complete list of ingredients
- Date the cottage food was made
- If applicable, statement that the food was prepared in the home kitchen of a facility for individuals with developmental disabilities
- Food packaged at the home with an attached label
Sales cap: None stated · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
The statement above is shown as the source quotes it; confirm the exact wording against the statute before printing.
Source: azdhs.gov
"This product was produced in a private residence that is exempt from state licensing and inspection."
"This product may contain allergens."
- Date the product was made, produced, or processed
- Producer's name, address, and phone number, OR an identification number from the Arkansas Department of Agriculture if withheld for safety reasons
- Common or usual name of the food
- Ingredients listed from most to least prevalent
- Disclosure statement
- Bulk sales: disclosures in separate written document at time of sale
- Online sales: information shown on website and package labeled
Sales cap: None stated · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
Source: healthy.arkansas.gov
"Made in a Home Kitchen" in 12-point type on the principal display panel
- Common or descriptive name of the product on the principal display panel
- Name of the CFO, city, state and ZIP (street address if not listed in current telephone directory)
- Class A registration or Class B permit number; Class B also name of the issuing county
- Ingredients in descending order of predominance by weight (sub-ingredients in parentheses)
- Net quantity in English and metric units on principal display panel
- Allergen declaration for major food allergens (summary 'Contains' statement or in ingredient list)
- Labels legible and in English (other languages optional)
- Food-grade labels/packaging
- If sold unpackaged or used in a retail food facility, consumer must be told it was made in a home kitchen
Sales cap: $75,000 (Class A) or $150,000 (Class B) a year, adjusted yearly · Nutrition Facts: Only if you make a nutrient or health claim
Source: cdph.ca.gov, monocounty.ca.gov, ucanr.edu
"This product was produced in a home kitchen that is not subject to state licensure or inspection and that may also process common food allergens such as tree nuts, peanuts, eggs, soy, wheat, milk, fish, and crustacean shellfish. This product is not intended for resale."
- Product name
- Producer's name
- Full physical address where the product was made
- Producer's current email address or phone number
- Date the product was produced
- Complete ingredient list in descending order by weight
- Disclaimer statement
- Cannot be labeled 'allergen free'; 'organic' on primary label requires USDA certification (CDPHE)
Sales cap: $10,000 net revenue per product a year · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
The statement above is shown as the source quotes it; confirm the exact wording against the statute before printing.
"Made in a Cottage Food Operation that is not Subject to Routine Government Food Safety Inspection." (at least ten-point type, clear and conspicuous)
- Name and physical home address of the CFO (no PO box)
- Product name
- Ingredients in descending order of predominance by weight, with sub-ingredients
- Net weight or net volume including metric equivalent
- Allergen information per federal labeling rules (tree nuts named specifically)
- Required statement in at least 10-point type
Sales cap: $25,000 a year · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
Source: portal.ct.gov, portal.ct.gov
Cottage Food Establishment (4458A §8.2.4): "This food is made in a Cottage Food Establishment and is NOT subject to routine Government Food Safety Inspections"
On-Farm Home Processing (3 DE Admin Code 101 §9.1, ten-point type): "This product is home-produced and processed"
- 4458A: Name of the CFE, product name, and 'town/city, Delaware'
- Phone number or email of the CFE
- Net weight or unit count
- Date of production or lot number
- Ingredients in decreasing order by weight (available on request if label too small)
- Food source of each major allergen
- Text at least 10-point in contrasting color
- On-farm (101 §9.1): name of product; name and address of manufacturer; ingredients in decreasing order by weight; net weight or unit count; date processed
Sales cap: None stated; direct in-state sales only · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
Source: archive.regulations.delaware.gov, regulations.justia.com
"Made by a cottage food business that is not subject to the District of Columbia's food safety regulations." (minimum 10-point font, color contrasting clearly with label background)
- Cottage food business identification number
- Name of the cottage food product
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Net weight or net volume
- Allergen information as specified by federal labeling requirements
- Product must be prepackaged
Sales cap: No cap (removed in 2020) · Nutrition Facts: Only if you make a nutrient or health claim
Source: code.dccouncil.gov, code.dccouncil.gov
"Made in a cottage food operation that is not subject to Florida's food safety regulations." (at least 10-point type, contrasting color)
- Name and address of the cottage food operation (physical home address, not PO box)
- Name of the cottage food product
- Ingredients in descending order of predominance by weight
- Net weight or net volume
- Allergen information as specified by federal labeling requirements
- Labels printed in English
Sales cap: $250,000 a year · Nutrition Facts: Only if you make a nutrient or health claim
Source: ccmedia.fdacs.gov
"MADE IN A COTTAGE FOOD OPERATION THAT IS NOT SUBJECT TO STATE FOOD SAFETY INSPECTIONS." (10-pt Times New Roman or Arial, legible color)
- Business name and address of the cottage food operation
- Common name of the product
- Ingredients in descending order of predominance by weight, with sub-ingredients
- Net weight or volume
- Allergen declarations per FDA (milk, eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, wheat, peanuts, soybeans, sesame)
- Cottage food statement
Sales cap: None stated · Nutrition Facts: Only if you make a nutrient or health claim
Source: agr.georgia.gov
"Made in a home kitchen not routinely inspected by the Department of Health"
- Common or descriptive name of the product
- Ingredient list (if two or more ingredients) in descending order by weight
- Major food allergens (milk, eggs, fish, shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, soybeans, sesame)
- Name and contact information of the homemade food operator
Sales cap: None stated · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
Source: health.hawaii.gov
SB 1283 (sign, label, or card): "This product is not subject to government food safety inspection or licensing requirements." "It may contain allergens."
Former IDAPA cottage food rule (SWDH fact sheet 6/2021): label must "clearly state that the food was prepared in a home kitchen that is not subject to regulation and inspection" "by the regulatory authority and that it may contain allergens."
- Producer's name and contact information
- List of ingredients if two or more
- Perishable foods: handling instructions for safe storage and preparation
- Animal-share meat: 'not for sale' package label
- Disclaimer on a conspicuous sign, label, or card
Sales cap: No cap; in-state sales to consumers only · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
Source: legislature.idaho.gov, legislature.idaho.gov, swdh.id.gov
"This product was produced in a home kitchen not inspected by a health department that may also process common food allergens. If you have safety concerns, contact your local health department." (prominent lettering; same statement on placard at point of sale / online sales interface)
- Name of the cottage food operation and unit of local government where located
- Registration number from local health department and name of municipality or county where registration filed
- Common or usual name of the food
- All ingredients including any color, artificial flavor, and preservative, in descending order by predominance of weight
- Date the product was processed
- Allergen labeling per federal requirements
- Prepackaged; packaging meets Illinois Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act labeling
- Net weight (per U of I Extension)
Sales cap: None stated · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
The statement above is shown as the source quotes it; confirm the exact wording against the statute before printing.
Source: ilga.gov, extension.illinois.edu, dph.illinois.gov
"This product is home produced and processed and the production area has not been inspected by the State Department of Health. NOT FOR RESALE" (at least 10-point type)
- Producer name and address
- Food product name
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Net weight or volume of final product, or numerical count
- Date the product was processed
Sales cap: None stated · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
The statement above is shown as the source quotes it; confirm the exact wording against the statute before printing.
This entry comes from extension or county guidance rather than the state agency; check with the agency before relying on it.
Source: marionhealth.org
Cottage food (Iowa Code 137F.20): "This product was produced at a residential property that is exempt from state licensing and inspection."
Licensed home food processing establishment (481 IAC 34.7): "This product was produced at a home food processing establishment."
- Name and address, phone number, or email address of the person preparing the food
- Common name of the food
- Ingredients in descending order of predominance
- Allergen statement identifying each major food allergen by common name
- Home-canned pickles/vegetables/fruits: date processed and canned
- (HFPE: name or license number; net quantity; refrigerated TCS RTE items expiration date not to exceed 7 days)
Sales cap: None for cottage food; under $50,000 for licensed home processors · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
Source: legis.iowa.gov, rules.iowa.gov
No fixed wording is required. No home-kitchen disclaimer stated; unpasteurized juice/cider requires a WARNING statement.
- Common name of the product
- Name and physical address of the person who made or is selling it
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major food allergens (nine) in plain language
- Net quantity by weight, volume, or count
Sales cap: None stated · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
Kansas has no formal cottage food law; these elements come from K-State Research and Extension guidance.
This entry comes from extension or county guidance rather than the state agency; check with the agency before relying on it.
Source: bookstore.ksre.ksu.edu
"This product is home-produced and processed" (at least 10-point type, color clearly contrasting with background)
- Name and address of the home-based processing operation
- Common or usual name of the food
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Net weight or net volume
- Allergen information per federal labeling rules
- Date the product was processed
Sales cap: $60,000 a year · Nutrition Facts: Only if you make a nutrient or health claim
Source: chfs.ky.gov, chfs.ky.gov
No fixed wording is required. The statute requires 'a label which clearly indicates that the food was not produced in a licensed or regulated facility' (R.S. 40:4.9(D)(1)(a)).
- No other label elements listed in R.S. 40:4.9
- Raw honey not processed to remove natural pollen exempt from labeling requirement
Sales cap: Under $30,000 a year · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
Source: legis.la.gov, legis.la.gov, legis.la.gov
No fixed wording is required.
- Common or usual name of the product
- Ingredients in order of predominance
- Net weight, net volume, or numerical count
- Name, address, and zip code of the producer
- No label required if sold directly to the consumer from the home
Sales cap: None stated · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
Source: maine.gov
"Made by a cottage food business that is not subject to Maryland's food safety regulations." (10 point or larger type, color clearly contrasting with background)
- Name and address of the business (a Department Unique ID# may replace the address, then name and phone number required)
- Name of the product
- Ingredients and sub-ingredients in descending order by weight
- Net weight, count, or net volume
- Allergen information per federal labeling requirements
- Retail food store sales: business phone number, business email, and date product was made
Sales cap: $50,000 a year · Nutrition Facts: Only if you make a nutrient or health claim
Source: health.maryland.gov
No fixed wording is required.
- Prepackaged with label in English
- Name and address of the Cottage Food Operation
- Name of the product
- Ingredients in descending order of predominance by weight, including sub-ingredients
- Net weight or net volume
- Allergen information per federal labeling requirements
Sales cap: None stated · Nutrition Facts: Only if you make a nutrient or health claim
Source: mass.gov
"Made in a home kitchen that has not been inspected by the Michigan Department of Agriculture & Rural Development" (at least the equivalent of 11-point font, about 1/8 inch tall, contrasting color)
- Name and physical address of the cottage food operation (no PO box; MSU Product Center voluntary registration number + phone may be used instead)
- Name of the cottage food product
- Ingredients in descending order of predominance by weight, including sub-ingredients
- Net weight or net volume with metric equivalent
- Allergen labeling per federal requirements (tree nuts named specifically)
Sales cap: $50,000 a year ($75,000 if items cost $250 or more each) · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
Source: michigan.gov, michigan.gov, michigan.gov
"These products are homemade and not subject to state inspection."
- Ingredients (with allergens for human food)
- Production date
- Producer or business name
- Registration number or the maker's address
Sales cap: $78,000 a year (two registration tiers) · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
Source: mda.state.mn.us
"Made in a cottage food operation that is not subject to Mississippi's food safety regulations." (at least 10-point type, contrasting color)
- Name and home address of the cottage food operation
- Name of the product
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Allergen disclosures per federal rules (type of tree nut, fish, shellfish specified)
- Net weight or volume in metric and U.S. customary units
Sales cap: $35,000 a year · Nutrition Facts: Only if you make a nutrient or health claim
Source: extension.msstate.edu, accessibility.extension.msstate.edu
RSMo 196.298.4: label shall include "a statement that the food is not inspected by the department or local health department." (exact label wording not mandated)
Food Code individual stands: "a statement that the product is prepared in a kitchen that is not subject to inspection by the department"
- Name and address of the cottage food production operation (RSMo 196.298)
- Food Code individual stands (packaged): name and address of manufacturer or processor; common name; ingredients by predominance; net weight in English or metric units
- Placard at point of sale for unpackaged portions
- Recommended (not required) honey infant statement
Sales cap: None stated · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
This entry comes from extension or county guidance rather than the state agency; check with the agency before relying on it.
Source: revisor.mo.gov, coopercohealth.gov
Cottage Food Operation (11-point or greater): "Made in a home kitchen that is not subject to retail food establishment regulations or inspections."
Local Food Choice Act (notice to end consumer): "Producers are required to inform the end consumer that the homemade food products have not been licensed, permitted, certified, packaged, labeled, or inspected under any official regulations."
- Cottage food: name, address, city, state, and zip code of the operation
- Name of the cottage food product
- Ingredients in descending order by weight with sub-ingredients in parentheses
- Net quantity, weight, count, or volume
- Allergen labeling ('Contains' statement acceptable)
- Local Food Choice Act: health claims not allowed on labels, ads, or social media
Sales cap: None stated · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
Source: dphhs.mt.gov, dphhs.mt.gov
"The food was prepared in a kitchen that is not subject to regulation and inspection by a regulatory authority;" and "may contain allergens" (UNL example: "This food was prepared in a kitchen not subject to regulation or inspection by the state regulatory authority and may contain allergens.")
- Legible and in English
- Common name of the food
- Producer's name and address on package or container label
- TCS foods: ingredients in descending order of predominance by weight
- Kitchen/allergen notification displayed at sale location, at private home, on website, and in advertising
Sales cap: No cap · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
Source: cottagefoodlaw.unl.edu
"MADE IN A COTTAGE FOOD OPERATION THAT IS NOT SUBJECT TO GOVERNMENT FOOD SAFETY INSPECTION" (printed prominently on label of each item)
- Label complies with federal labeling requirements
- Major food allergens disclosed (parenthetical or 'Contains' statement)
- Ingredients name specific sources (e.g., 'almonds' not 'nuts')
- Durable packaging
Sales cap: Not confirmed · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
The program moves to the Nevada Department of Agriculture on 1 July 2027 under AB 352; check for updated rules.
Source: dpbh.nv.gov, leg.state.nv.us, southernnevadahealthdistrict.org
Exempt: "This product is exempt from New Hampshire licensing and inspection." (at least 10-point font)
Licensed: "This product is made in a residential kitchen licensed by NH DHHS." (at least 10-point font)
- Operation's name, physical home-kitchen address, and phone number
- Product name
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- Major food allergens unless named in ingredient list
- Product code with batch number
- Licensed: net weight/volume/count in U.S. customary and metric; product code incl. manufacture date, container size, lot/batch
Sales cap: None stated · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
Source: dhhs.nh.gov, extension.unh.edu
"This food is prepared pursuant to N.J.A.C. 8:24-11 in a home kitchen that has not been inspected by the Department of Health." (printed exactly as written)
- Common name of the product
- Ingredients in descending order by weight
- 'Contains' statement listing major food allergens
- Full personal name, business name, and CFO Permit number (business name alone not sufficient)
- Municipality where food is prepared followed by 'New Jersey' or 'NJ'
Sales cap: $50,000 a year · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
The statement above is shown as the source quotes it; confirm the exact wording against the statute before printing.
"This product is home produced and is exempt from state licensing and inspection. This product may contain allergens."
- Processor's name, home address, telephone number, and email address
- Common or usual name of the food item
- Ingredients in descending order of predominance, including sub-ingredients
- Required statement (label or place card)
Sales cap: None stated · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
Source: env.nm.gov
No fixed wording is required. Ag & Markets says home processors 'should add a phrase like' "Made at Home by XYZ," "Made in the Home Kitchen of XYZ," or "Made in a Home Kitchen" (1/16th inch or larger).
- Common or usual name of the product
- Ingredient list in order of predominance by weight
- Net quantity of contents
- Processor name
- Full address (street or PO Box, city, state, ZIP)
- Allergens (eggs, milk, fish, shellfish, soybeans, peanuts, tree nuts, wheat, sesame) clearly identified in ingredient statement
Sales cap: None stated · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
Source: agriculture.ny.gov
No fixed wording is required.
- Statement of identity (product name)
- Manufacturer's name and address
- Net contents (weight, volume, or count)
- Complete ingredient list in order of predominance by weight
- Top 9 allergens by common name
- Tree nuts and seafood identified by species
- Labels required when sold self-service or shipped
Sales cap: None stated · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
This entry comes from extension or county guidance rather than the state agency; check with the agency before relying on it.
"This product is made in a home kitchen that is not inspected by the state or local health department."
- Operator must inform end consumer the product is not certified, labeled, licensed, packaged, regulated, or inspected (23-09.5-02(5))
- Consumer advisory sign at point of sale may satisfy the label statement (23-09.5-02(8))
- Refrigerated items (cream, custard, meringue, cheesecake): safe handling instructions and disclosure that product was transported and maintained frozen (23-09.5-02(7))
Sales cap: None stated · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
Source: ndlegis.gov
"This Product is Home Produced." (10-point type)
- Statement of identity (name of the food)
- Net quantity of contents in U.S. Customary and metric units with 'NET WEIGHT' or abbreviation
- Ingredients in descending order by weight with sub-ingredients in parentheses
- Statement of responsibility (business name, street address, city, state, ZIP)
- Major food allergens declared in ingredient list or 'Contains' statement (specific tree nut/fish/shellfish types)
Sales cap: None stated · Nutrition Facts: Only if you make a nutrient or health claim
This entry comes from extension or county guidance rather than the state agency; check with the agency before relying on it.
Source: portagehealth.net, farmoffice.osu.edu, codes.ohio.gov
"This product was produced in a private residence that is exempt from government licensing and inspection."
- Producer's name and phone number
- Physical address where the product was made
- Description of the product
- Ingredients in descending order of proportion
- Presence of any of the nine major allergens
- At least 10-point font
- Optional OSDH registration number ($15/yr) may replace name, phone and/or address (HB 2975)
Sales cap: $75,000 a year · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
Source: extension.okstate.edu
"This product is homemade, is not prepared in an inspected food establishment, and must be stored and displayed separately if merchandised by a retailer."
- Name of the food
- Ingredients and sub-ingredients in descending order by weight or volume
- Business name and business phone number
- Address (full street, or city/state/ZIP if listed in city directory, or ODA-issued UIN)
- Net weight or volume in U.S. and metric units
- FALCPA allergen declaration
- Pet disclosure naming each species if pets live in the home
- Legible, lowercase letters at least 1/16 inch tall
Sales cap: $52,700 a year · Nutrition Facts: Only if you make a nutrient or health claim
The statement above is shown as the source quotes it; confirm the exact wording against the statute before printing.
Source: oregon.gov
No fixed wording is required. Home kitchens are registered and inspected; only juice requires an unpasteurized warning.
- Common name of the product
- Net weight or volume
- Ingredients list including sub-ingredients and allergen declaration
- Name and address of manufacturer or processor
- Some exemptions for bakery products
Sales cap: None stated · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
This entry comes from extension or county guidance rather than the state agency; check with the agency before relying on it.
Source: extension.psu.edu
Cottage food (§ 21-27-6.2, at least ten-point type, clear and conspicuous, contrasting): "Made by a Cottage Food Business Registrant that is not Subject to Routine Government Food Safety Inspection,"
Farm home food (§ 21-27-6.1 as amended by 2026 S 2506 Sub A): "Made by a registered farm home food manufacturer that is not subject to routine government food safety inspection."
- Name, address, and telephone number
- Ingredients in descending order of predominance by weight or volume
- Allergen information per federal and state labeling (milk, eggs, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, soybeans, etc.)
- Statement not required if prepared in a department-licensed commercial kitchen
Sales cap: $50,000 a year · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
Source: webserver.rilegislature.gov, health.ri.gov, webserver.rilegislature.gov
"PROCESSED AND PREPARED BY A HOME-BASED FOOD PRODUCTION OPERATION THAT IS NOT SUBJECT TO SOUTH CAROLINA'S FOOD SAFETY REGULATIONS." (all capital letters, contrasting color)
- Name and address of the home-based food operation, or SCDA Home-based Food ID number
- Standard name of the product
- Ingredients in descending order of predominance by weight
- Each major allergen named, or disclaimer that the food may contain any major allergen; tree nuts specified by type
- No health claims
Sales cap: None stated · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
The statement above is shown as the source quotes it; confirm the exact wording against the statute before printing.
Source: agriculture.sc.gov
"This product was not produced in a commercial kitchen. It has been home-processed in a kitchen that may also process common food allergens such as tree nuts, peanuts, eggs, soy, wheat, milk, fish, and crustacean shellfish."
- Product name that identifies what the product is
- Producer name and contact information
- Date the product was made or canned
- Ingredients listed from largest to smallest by net weight or volume
- Disclaimer in prominent, easy-to-read font
- Do not include 'SDSU' or claims the product was tested for safety
- Display-case items: information may be on the case or provided in writing at purchase
Sales cap: None stated · Nutrition Facts: May be required for some packaged foods
The statement above is shown as the source quotes it; confirm the exact wording against the statute before printing.
Source: extension.sdstate.edu
"This product was produced at a private residence that is exempt from state licensing and inspection."
"This product may contain allergens."
- Producer's name, home address, and telephone number
- Common or usual name of the item
- Ingredients in order of predominance
- Disclosure statement
- Packaged items: label affixed; bulk: label on container; unpackaged non-bulk: placard at point of sale; internet sales: info on webpage; phone/custom orders: verbal disclosure and info on request
Sales cap: None stated · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
The statement above is shown as the source quotes it; confirm the exact wording against the statute before printing.
Source: foodscience.tennessee.edu, tn.gov
Current (SB 541, eff. 9/1/2025), on label and vendor sign: "THIS PRODUCT WAS PRODUCED IN A PRIVATE RESIDENCE THAT IS NOT SUBJECT TO GOVERNMENTAL LICENSING OR INSPECTION."
Former (pre-9/1/2025): "This food is made in a home kitchen and is not inspected by the Department of State Health Services or a local health department."
- Name and address of the operation (or DSHS-issued unique identification number if registered)
- Common or usual name of the product (pre-SB 541 list)
- Major food allergens (pre-SB 541 list)
- Date made for TCS foods and food sold by a cottage food vendor
- TCS foods: 12-point safe handling statement 'SAFE HANDLING INSTRUCTIONS: To prevent illness from bacteria, keep this food refrigerated or frozen until the food is prepared for consumption.' on label or invoice/receipt
- Unique batch number for pickled/fermented/acidified canned goods (pre-SB 541)
- Internet sales: address or ID number on label after payment
Sales cap: $50,000 before SB 541; new cap not confirmed · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
Senate Bill 541 changed the required statement from 1 September 2025. Some state pages may still show the older wording.
Source: capitol.texas.gov, agrilifeextension.tamu.edu, dshs.state.tx.us
Cottage food (R70-560-6): the words "Home Produced" in bold and conspicuous 12-point type on the principal display panel
Homemade Food Act: "Not for Resale – Processed and prepared without the benefit of state or local inspection"
- Cottage food: name specified by federal regulation or common/descriptive name
- Ingredients in descending order of predominance by weight (if 2+ ingredients)
- Food source of each major food allergen
- Accurate net quantity of contents
- Name and place of business
- Telephone number
- Label per 21 CFR Ch. 1 Subch. A and B; minimum print height 1/16 inch (UDAF guide)
- Homemade Food Act: disclaimer and allergen list
Sales cap: None stated · Nutrition Facts: Required unless exempt; any claim removes the exemption
Source: law.cornell.edu, ag.utah.gov, ag.utah.gov
"Made in a home kitchen not inspected by the Vermont Department of Health." (at least 10-point font, contrasting color)
- Name and address of producer (home kitchen physical address, not PO box)
- Name of the food product
- Ingredients from greatest to smallest amount
- Net weight or volume
- Allergen information per federal labeling requirements
- Bulk food may use visible sign, placard, or table tent
Sales cap: $30,000 a year · Nutrition Facts: Only if you make a nutrient or health claim
Source: healthvermont.gov
Low-risk and acidified foods: "NOT FOR RESALE — PROCESSED AND PREPARED WITHOUT STATE INSPECTION"
Honey: "PROCESSED AND PREPARED WITHOUT STATE INSPECTION. WARNING: Do Not Feed Honey to Infants Under One Year Old."
- On principal display panel: name, physical address, and phone number of the person who prepared the food
- Processing date
- Standard labeling: product name, net weight, manufacturer name and address, ingredient and sub-ingredient list
Sales cap: $9,000 for acidified foods; none stated otherwise · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
Source: vdacs.virginia.gov
"Made in a Home Kitchen that has not been subject to standard inspection criteria." (at least the equivalent of 11-point type, color clearly contrasting with background)
- Business name and WSDA permit number (RCW 69.22.030)
- Product name
- Ingredients in descending order of predominance by weight, with subcomponents
- Net weight or net volume (metric not required)
- Allergen information per federal labeling requirements
- Printed in English, affixed to prepackaged product (large cakes/bulk: label sheet to consumer)
Sales cap: $35,000 a year · Nutrition Facts: Only if you make a nutrient or health claim
"This product was made in a non-commercial kitchen that may not be subject to inspection and may contain cross-contact allergens not included in the allergen statement."
- Statement of identity (common name) on principal display panel
- Name of producer, packer, or distributor (with relationship statement if not the producer)
- City, state, and ZIP code
- Ingredient list in descending order by weight beginning with 'Ingredients:'
- Net contents or count in bottom third of primary panel, U.S. measure with metric equivalent (handwritten allowed for non-potentially hazardous if legible)
- 'Contains' major allergen statement directly below ingredients (specific tree nut/fish/shellfish)
- Refrigeration/freezing instructions and cooking temperatures where applicable
- Lot codes and safe handling instructions
Sales cap: None stated · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
The statement above is shown as the source quotes it; confirm the exact wording against the statute before printing.
Source: agriculture.wv.gov
Home-canned foods (DATCP): "This product was made in a private home not subject to state licensing or inspection."
Home bakers: same statement suggested by Sauk County (not mandated by DATCP guidance)
- Home-canned: name and address of the person who did the canning
- Canning date
- Ingredients by prominence with common allergen names spelled out (milk, eggs, fish, shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, soy, sesame)
- Home bakers (suggested, not mandatory per Sauk County): ingredients, name or business name and contact info, date made
Sales cap: $5,000 for home-canned foods; none stated for baked goods · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
Wisconsin has no cottage food statute. Home bakers operate under court rulings; mandated wording applies only to the home-canned foods exemption.
Source: datcp.wi.gov, datcp.wi.gov, co.sauk.wi.us
Consumer notice (11-49-103(e)): producer shall inform the end consumer that the food "is not certified, labeled, licensed, packaged, regulated or inspected."
Retail/grocery label (11-49-103(k)) for non-potentially hazardous food and dairy: "this food was made in a home kitchen, is not regulated or inspected and may contain allergens"
- Retail spaces selling homemade food must display a sign stating the food has not been inspected (11-49-103(d))
- No other label elements listed
Sales cap: No cap · Nutrition Facts: Not stated
Source: wyoleg.gov
Before you print
Cottage food laws change often: Idaho, Tennessee, Texas and Michigan all changed theirs in 2025 or 2026. Use this page to see what your state asks for, then confirm the current wording on your state agency's page (linked in each entry) or with your county health department before ordering labels. This page is general information, not legal advice.
Spotted a change? Contact us and we will update the entry.