How many calories are in wheat bread?
Wheat bread (1 slice, 29 g) has 79 calories. 100 g has 274 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 80.
Wheat Bread nutrition facts from USDA FoodData Central: 79 calories in 1 slice, with 3.1 g protein, 13.8 g carbohydrate and 1.3 g fat. Change the serving below and the label, the summary and the full nutrient table update together.
FDA standard format. Values use the FDA rounding rules for the serving you pick. Nutrients USDA does not report for this food print as 0 on the panel and as "not reported" in the table.
Download this label: · PNG Free to use as a reference. A label for a product you sell needs your full recipe and ingredient statement.
1 slice (29 g)
Opens the free label generator with this amount of wheat bread already added. Add the rest of your ingredients and the label updates as you go.
| Nutrient | Per serving | % DV* | Per 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories and macronutrients | |||
| Calories | 79 | 274 | |
| Total fat | 1.3 g | 2% | 4.53 g |
| Saturated fat | 0.2 g | 1% | 0.7 g |
| Trans fat | <0.1 g | 0.03 g | |
| Monounsaturated fat | 0.2 g | 0.61 g | |
| Polyunsaturated fat | 0.5 g | 1.62 g | |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg | 0% | 0 mg |
| Sodium | 137 mg | 6% | 473 mg |
| Total carbohydrate | 13.8 g | 5% | 47.5 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1.2 g | 4% | 4 g |
| Total sugars | 1.7 g | 5.73 g | |
| Added sugars | not reported | ||
| Protein | 3.1 g | 10.7 g | |
| Vitamins | |||
| Vitamin D | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Vitamin A | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Vitamin C | 0.06 mg | 0% | 0.2 mg |
| Vitamin E | 0.06 mg | 0% | 0.19 mg |
| Vitamin K | 1.4 mcg | 1% | 4.9 mcg |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.12 mg | 10% | 0.41 mg |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.07 mg | 6% | 0.25 mg |
| Niacin (B3) | 1.6 mg | 10% | 5.59 mg |
| Vitamin B6 | <0.1 mg | 2% | 0.11 mg |
| Folate (DFE) | 29 mcg | 7% | 99 mcg |
| Vitamin B12 | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Choline | 5.4 mg | 1% | 18.7 mg |
| Minerals | |||
| Calcium | 36 mg | 3% | 125 mg |
| Iron | 1 mg | 6% | 3.6 mg |
| Potassium | 41 mg | 1% | 141 mg |
| Magnesium | 12 mg | 3% | 41 mg |
| Phosphorus | 37 mg | 3% | 129 mg |
| Zinc | 0.3 mg | 3% | 1.04 mg |
| Copper | <0.1 mg | 5% | 0.15 mg |
| Manganese | 0.3 mg | 13% | 1.03 mg |
| Selenium | 8.4 mcg | 15% | 28.8 mcg |
| Other | |||
| Water | 10.2 g | 35.3 g | |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | |
| Alcohol | 0 g | 0 g | |
* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet (FDA reference values for adults and children 4 years and older). Per-100 g values are USDA figures before label rounding.
Every serving below is a USDA household measure for this food, a fraction of one, or a unit conversion. Amounts are USDA values scaled by weight; only the Nutrition Facts panel applies the coarser FDA label rounding.
| Serving | Weight | Calories | Total carbohydrate | Protein | Total fat | Dietary fiber | Total sugars |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 slice | 29 g | 79 | 13.8 g | 3.1 g | 1.3 g | 1.2 g | 1.7 g |
| 100 g | 100 g | 274 | 47.5 g | 10.7 g | 4.5 g | 4 g | 5.7 g |
| 1 oz | 28.4 g | 78 | 13.5 g | 3 g | 1.3 g | 1.1 g | 1.6 g |
Wheat bread (1 slice, 29 g) has 79 calories. 100 g has 274 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 80.
Wheat bread (1 slice, 29 g) has 8.4 mcg of selenium, 15% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 28.8 mcg. At 10 to 19% DV per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for a "good source" claim.
Wheat bread (1 slice, 29 g) has 0.3 mg of manganese, 13% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 1.03 mg. At 10 to 19% DV per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for a "good source" claim.
100 g of wheat bread has 274 calories, 10.7 g protein, 47.5 g carbohydrate, 4 g fiber, 5.73 g sugars and 4.53 g fat.
About 70% of the calories in wheat bread come from carbohydrate, 15% from fat and 16% from protein (Atwater factors of 4, 9 and 4 calories per gram).
The same serving of wheat bread, drawn by the label formats other markets require: the Canadian bilingual Nutrition Facts table, the EU nutrition declaration (per 100 g, energy in kJ and kcal, salt instead of sodium) and the UK nutrition information table with reference intakes. The generator switches between these and many more from one recipe.
| Fat / Lipides | 1.3 g | 2 % |
| Saturated / Saturés | 0.2 g + Trans 0 g | 1 % |
| Cholesterol / Cholestérol | 0 mg | 0 % |
| Sodium | 135 mg | 6 % |
| Carbohydrate / Glucides | 14 g | 5 % |
| Fibre / Fibres | 1 g | 4 % |
| Sugars / Sucres | 2 g | 2 % |
| Protein / Protéines | 3 g | |
| Vitamin D / Vitamine D | 0 mcg | 0 % |
| Calcium | 36 mg | 3 % |
| Iron / Fer | 1 mg | 6 % |
| Potassium | 41 mg | 1 % |
| Per 100g | |
|---|---|
| Energy | 1146 kJ / 274 kcal |
| Fat | 4.5 g |
| of which saturates | 0.7 g |
| Carbohydrate | 48 g |
| of which sugars | 5.7 g |
| Protein | 11 g |
| Salt | 1.2 g |
| Per 100g | Per 29g | %RI* | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Energy | 1146 kJ 274 kcal |
332 kJ 79 kcal |
4% |
| Fat | 4.5g | 1.3g | 1.9% |
| of which saturates | 0.7g | 0.2g | 1% |
| Carbohydrate | 48g | 14g | 5.3% |
| of which sugars | 5.7g | 1.7g | 1.8% |
| Fibre | 4.0g | 1.2g | - |
| Protein | 11g | 3.1g | 6.2% |
| Salt | 1.2g | 0.34g | 5.7% |
If you make and sell a product that contains wheat bread, these free tools cover the next steps.
Nutrient values are from USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy (April 2018 release, public domain), record 172686: "Bread, wheat". Values are stored per 100 g exactly as USDA reports them and scaled to each serving by weight. The Nutrition Facts panel applies the FDA rounding rules in 21 CFR 101.9; tables and text show the scaled amounts at reading precision, so a figure can differ slightly from the panel. A nutrient USDA does not report for this food is shown as not reported, never as a guessed value.
SR Legacy predates the added sugars field, and this processed food may contain some, so added sugars are shown as not reported. The label panel prints 0 g because a row cannot be blank; a real product label needs the figure from its recipe. View the USDA record ↗