How many calories are in canned mackerel?
Canned mackerel (1 cup, 190 g) has 296 calories. 100 g has 156 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 300.
Canned Mackerel nutrition facts from USDA FoodData Central: 296 calories in 1 cup, with 44.1 g protein, 0 g carbohydrate and 12 g fat. Change the serving below and the label, the summary and the full nutrient table update together.
FDA standard format. Values use the FDA rounding rules for the serving you pick. Nutrients USDA does not report for this food print as 0 on the panel and as "not reported" in the table.
Download this label: · PNG Free to use as a reference. A label for a product you sell needs your full recipe and ingredient statement.
1 cup (190 g)
Opens the free label generator with this amount of canned mackerel already added. Add the rest of your ingredients and the label updates as you go.
| Nutrient | Per serving | % DV* | Per 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories and macronutrients | |||
| Calories | 296 | 156 | |
| Total fat | 12 g | 15% | 6.3 g |
| Saturated fat | 3.5 g | 18% | 1.86 g |
| Trans fat | not reported | ||
| Monounsaturated fat | 4.2 g | 2.23 g | |
| Polyunsaturated fat | 3.1 g | 1.65 g | |
| Cholesterol | 150 mg | 50% | 79 mg |
| Sodium | 720 mg | 31% | 379 mg |
| Total carbohydrate | 0 g | 0% | 0 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g | 0% | 0 g |
| Total sugars | 0 g | 0 g | |
| Added sugars | 0 g | 0% | 0 g |
| Protein | 44.1 g | 23.2 g | |
| Vitamins | |||
| Vitamin D | 14 mcg | 69% | 7.3 mcg |
| Vitamin A | 247 mcg | 27% | 130 mcg |
| Vitamin C | 1.7 mg | 2% | 0.9 mg |
| Vitamin E | 2 mg | 13% | 1.03 mg |
| Vitamin K | 0.19 mcg | 0% | 0.1 mcg |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.08 mg | 6% | 0.04 mg |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0.4 mg | 31% | 0.21 mg |
| Niacin (B3) | 12 mg | 73% | 6.18 mg |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.4 mg | 23% | 0.21 mg |
| Folate (DFE) | 9.5 mcg | 2% | 5 mcg |
| Vitamin B12 | 13 mcg | 549% | 6.94 mcg |
| Choline | 162 mg | 29% | 85 mg |
| Minerals | |||
| Calcium | 458 mg | 35% | 241 mg |
| Iron | 3.9 mg | 22% | 2.04 mg |
| Potassium | 369 mg | 8% | 194 mg |
| Magnesium | 70 mg | 17% | 37 mg |
| Phosphorus | 572 mg | 46% | 301 mg |
| Zinc | 1.9 mg | 18% | 1.02 mg |
| Copper | 0.28 mg | 31% | 0.15 mg |
| Manganese | 0.08 mg | 3% | 0.04 mg |
| Selenium | 72 mcg | 130% | 37.7 mcg |
| Other | |||
| Water | 131.4 g | 69.2 g | |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | |
| Alcohol | 0 g | 0 g | |
* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet (FDA reference values for adults and children 4 years and older). Per-100 g values are USDA figures before label rounding.
Every serving below is a USDA household measure for this food, a fraction of one, or a unit conversion. Amounts are USDA values scaled by weight; only the Nutrition Facts panel applies the coarser FDA label rounding.
| Serving | Weight | Calories | Total carbohydrate | Protein | Total fat | Dietary fiber | Total sugars |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 oz, boneless | 28.4 g | 44 | 0 g | 6.6 g | 1.8 g | 0 g | 0 g |
| 1 cup | 190 g | 296 | 0 g | 44.1 g | 12 g | 0 g | 0 g |
| 1 cubic inch | 16 g | 25 | 0 g | 3.7 g | 1 g | 0 g | 0 g |
| 1 can (15 oz) | 361 g | 563 | 0 g | 83.7 g | 22.7 g | 0 g | 0 g |
| 100 g | 100 g | 156 | 0 g | 23.2 g | 6.3 g | 0 g | 0 g |
Canned mackerel (1 cup, 190 g) has 296 calories. 100 g has 156 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 300.
Canned mackerel (1 cup, 190 g) has 13 mcg of vitamin B12, 549% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 6.94 mcg. At 20% DV or more per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for an "excellent source" claim.
Canned mackerel (1 cup, 190 g) has 72 mcg of selenium, 130% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 37.7 mcg. At 20% DV or more per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for an "excellent source" claim.
100 g of canned mackerel has 156 calories, 23.2 g protein, 0 g carbohydrate, 0 g fiber, 0 g sugars and 6.3 g fat.
About 0% of the calories in canned mackerel come from carbohydrate, 38% from fat and 62% from protein (Atwater factors of 4, 9 and 4 calories per gram).
The same serving of canned mackerel, drawn by the label formats other markets require: the Canadian bilingual Nutrition Facts table, the EU nutrition declaration (per 100 g, energy in kJ and kcal, salt instead of sodium) and the UK nutrition information table with reference intakes. The generator switches between these and many more from one recipe.
| Fat / Lipides | 12 g | 16 % |
| Saturated / Saturés | 3.5 g + Trans 0 g | 18 % |
| Cholesterol / Cholestérol | 150 mg | 50 % |
| Sodium | 720 mg | 31 % |
| Carbohydrate / Glucides | 0 g | 0 % |
| Fibre / Fibres | 0 g | 0 % |
| Sugars / Sucres | 0 g | 0 % |
| Protein / Protéines | 44 g | |
| Vitamin D / Vitamine D | 14 mcg | 69 % |
| Calcium | 458 mg | 35 % |
| Iron / Fer | 4 mg | 22 % |
| Potassium | 369 mg | 11 % |
| Per 100g | |
|---|---|
| Energy | 653 kJ / 156 kcal |
| Fat | 6.3 g |
| of which saturates | 1.9 g |
| Carbohydrate | 0.0 g |
| of which sugars | 0.0 g |
| Protein | 23 g |
| Salt | 0.9 g |
| Per 100g | Per 190g | %RI* | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Energy | 653 kJ 156 kcal |
1240 kJ 296 kcal |
15% |
| Fat | 6.3g | 12g | 17% |
| of which saturates | 1.9g | 3.5g | 18% |
| Carbohydrate | 0 gg | 0 gg | <1% |
| of which sugars | 0 gg | 0 gg | <1% |
| Fibre | 0 gg | 0 gg | - |
| Protein | 23g | 44g | 88% |
| Salt | 0.95g | 1.8g | 30% |
Different forms of the same food are separate USDA records, so each has its own page. Per 100 g:
| Form | Calories | Protein | Total fat | Total carbohydrate |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Canned MackerelFish, mackerel, jack, canned, drained solids | 156 | 23.2 g | 6.3 g | 0 g |
| MackerelFish, mackerel, Atlantic, cooked, dry heat | 262 | 23.9 g | 17.8 g | 0 g |
If you make and sell a product that contains canned mackerel, these free tools cover the next steps.
Nutrient values are from USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy (April 2018 release, public domain), record 175121: "Fish, mackerel, jack, canned, drained solids". Values are stored per 100 g exactly as USDA reports them and scaled to each serving by weight. The Nutrition Facts panel applies the FDA rounding rules in 21 CFR 101.9; tables and text show the scaled amounts at reading precision, so a figure can differ slightly from the panel. A nutrient USDA does not report for this food is shown as not reported, never as a guessed value.
SR Legacy predates the added sugars field. This is a whole or unsweetened food, so added sugars are shown as 0 g. View the USDA record ↗