How many calories are in butternut squash?
Butternut squash (1 cup, cubes, 205 g) has 82 calories. 100 g has 40 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 80.
Butternut squash (1 cup, cubes, 205 g) has 82 calories, 1.8 g protein, 21.5 g carbohydrate and 0.2 g fat, according to USDA FoodData Central. 100 g has 40 calories. Change the serving below and the label, the summary and the full nutrient table update together.
FDA standard format. Values use the FDA rounding rules for the serving you pick. Nutrients USDA does not report for this food print as 0 on the panel and as "not reported" in the table.
Download this label: SVG · PNG Free to use as a reference. A label for a product you sell needs your full recipe and ingredient statement.
1 cup, cubes (205 g)
Opens the free label generator with this amount of butternut squash already added. Add the rest of your ingredients and the label updates as you go.
| Nutrient | Per serving | % DV* | Per 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories and macronutrients | |||
| Calories | 82 | 40 | |
| Total fat | 0.2 g | 0% | 0.09 g |
| Saturated fat | <0.1 g | 0% | 0.02 g |
| Trans fat | 0 g | 0 g | |
| Monounsaturated fat | <0.1 g | 0.01 g | |
| Polyunsaturated fat | 0.1 g | 0.04 g | |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg | 0% | 0 mg |
| Sodium | 8.2 mg | 0% | 4 mg |
| Total carbohydrate | 21.5 g | 8% | 10.5 g |
| Dietary fiber | 6.6 g | 23% | 3.2 g |
| Total sugars | 4 g | 1.97 g | |
| Added sugars | 0 g | 0% | 0 g |
| Protein | 1.8 g | 0.9 g | |
| Vitamins | |||
| Vitamin D | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Vitamin A | 1144 mcg | 127% | 558 mcg |
| Vitamin C | 31 mg | 34% | 15.1 mg |
| Vitamin E | 2.6 mg | 18% | 1.29 mg |
| Vitamin K | 2.1 mcg | 2% | 1 mcg |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0.15 mg | 12% | 0.07 mg |
| Riboflavin (B2) | <0.1 mg | 3% | 0.02 mg |
| Niacin (B3) | 2 mg | 12% | 0.97 mg |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.25 mg | 15% | 0.12 mg |
| Folate (DFE) | 39 mcg | 10% | 19 mcg |
| Vitamin B12 | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Choline | not reported | ||
| Minerals | |||
| Calcium | 84 mg | 6% | 41 mg |
| Iron | 1.2 mg | 7% | 0.6 mg |
| Potassium | 582 mg | 12% | 284 mg |
| Magnesium | 59 mg | 14% | 29 mg |
| Phosphorus | 55 mg | 4% | 27 mg |
| Zinc | 0.27 mg | 2% | 0.13 mg |
| Copper | 0.13 mg | 15% | 0.07 mg |
| Manganese | 0.35 mg | 15% | 0.17 mg |
| Selenium | 1 mcg | 2% | 0.5 mcg |
| Other | |||
| Water | 180 g | 87.8 g | |
* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet (FDA reference values for adults and children 4 years and older). Per-100 g values are USDA figures before label rounding.
Every serving below is a USDA household measure for this food, a fraction of one, or a unit conversion. Amounts are USDA values scaled by weight; only the Nutrition Facts panel applies the coarser FDA label rounding.
| Serving | Weight | Calories | Total carbohydrate | Protein | Total fat | Dietary fiber | Total sugars |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 cup, cubes | 205 g | 82 | 21.5 g | 1.8 g | 0.2 g | 6.6 g | 4 g |
| 100 g | 100 g | 40 | 10.5 g | 0.9 g | 0.1 g | 3.2 g | 2 g |
| 1 oz | 28.4 g | 11 | 3 g | 0.3 g | <0.1 g | 0.9 g | 0.6 g |
Butternut squash (1 cup, cubes, 205 g) has 82 calories. 100 g has 40 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 80.
Butternut squash (1 cup, cubes, 205 g) has 1144 mcg of vitamin A, 127% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 558 mcg. At 20% DV or more per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for an "excellent source" claim.
Butternut squash (1 cup, cubes, 205 g) has 31 mg of vitamin C, 34% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 15.1 mg. At 20% DV or more per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for an "excellent source" claim.
100 g of butternut squash has 40 calories, 0.9 g protein, 10.5 g carbohydrate, 3.2 g fiber, 1.97 g sugars and 0.09 g fat.
About 90% of the calories in butternut squash come from carbohydrate, 2% from fat and 8% from protein (Atwater factors of 4, 9 and 4 calories per gram).
The same serving of butternut squash, drawn by the label formats other markets require: the Canadian bilingual Nutrition Facts table, the EU nutrition declaration (per 100 g, energy in kJ and kcal, salt instead of sodium) and the UK nutrition information table with reference intakes. The generator switches between these and many more from one recipe.
| Fat / Lipides | 0 g | 0 % |
| Saturated / Saturés | 0 g + Trans 0 g | 0 % |
| Cholesterol / Cholestérol | 0 mg | 0 % |
| Sodium | 10 mg | 0 % |
| Carbohydrate / Glucides | 22 g | 8 % |
| Fibre / Fibres | 7 g | 23 % |
| Sugars / Sucres | 4 g | 4 % |
| Protein / Protéines | 2 g | |
| Vitamin D / Vitamine D | 0 mcg | 0 % |
| Calcium | 84 mg | 6 % |
| Iron / Fer | 1 mg | 7 % |
| Potassium | 582 mg | 17 % |
| Per 100g | |
|---|---|
| Energy | 167 kJ / 40 kcal |
| Fat | 0.1 g |
| of which saturates | 0.0 g |
| Carbohydrate | 10 g |
| of which sugars | 2.0 g |
| Protein | 0.9 g |
| Salt | 0.0 g |
| Per 100g | Per 205g | %RI* | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Energy | 167 kJ 40 kcal |
343 kJ 82 kcal |
4.1% |
| Fat | 0 gg | 0 gg | <1% |
| of which saturates | 0 gg | 0 gg | <1% |
| Carbohydrate | 10g | 22g | 8.3% |
| of which sugars | 2.0g | 4.0g | 4.5% |
| Fibre | 3.2g | 6.6g | - |
| Protein | 0.9g | 1.8g | 3.7% |
| Salt | 0 gg | 0.02g | <1% |
Different forms of the same food are separate USDA records, so each has its own page. Per 100 g:
| Form | Calories | Protein | Total fat | Total carbohydrate |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Butternut SquashSquash, winter, butternut, cooked, baked, without salt | 40 | 0.9 g | 0.09 g | 10.5 g |
| Raw Butternut SquashSquash, winter, butternut, raw | 45 | 1 g | 0.1 g | 11.7 g |
If you make and sell a product that contains butternut squash, these free tools cover the next steps.
Nutrient values are from USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy (April 2018 release, public domain), record 169296: "Squash, winter, butternut, cooked, baked, without salt". Values are stored per 100 g exactly as USDA reports them and scaled to each serving by weight. The Nutrition Facts panel applies the FDA rounding rules in 21 CFR 101.9; tables and text show the scaled amounts at reading precision, so a figure can differ slightly from the panel. A nutrient USDA does not report for this food is shown as not reported, never as a guessed value.
SR Legacy predates the added sugars field. This is a whole or unsweetened food, so added sugars are shown as 0 g. View the USDA record ↗