How many calories are in baking powder?
Baking powder (1 tsp, 4.6 g) has 2 calories. 100 g has 53 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 0.
Baking Powder nutrition facts from USDA FoodData Central: 2 calories in 1 tsp, with 0 g protein, 1.3 g carbohydrate and 0 g fat. Change the serving below and the label, the summary and the full nutrient table update together.
FDA standard format. Values use the FDA rounding rules for the serving you pick. Nutrients USDA does not report for this food print as 0 on the panel and as "not reported" in the table.
Download this label: · PNG Free to use as a reference. A label for a product you sell needs your full recipe and ingredient statement.
1 tsp (4.6 g)
Opens the free label generator with this amount of baking powder already added. Add the rest of your ingredients and the label updates as you go.
| Nutrient | Per serving | % DV* | Per 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories and macronutrients | |||
| Calories | 2 | 53 | |
| Total fat | 0 g | 0% | 0 g |
| Saturated fat | 0 g | 0% | 0 g |
| Trans fat | not reported | ||
| Monounsaturated fat | 0 g | 0 g | |
| Polyunsaturated fat | 0 g | 0 g | |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg | 0% | 0 mg |
| Sodium | 488 mg | 21% | 10,600 mg |
| Total carbohydrate | 1.3 g | 0% | 27.7 g |
| Dietary fiber | <0.1 g | 0% | 0.2 g |
| Total sugars | 0 g | 0 g | |
| Added sugars | 0 g | 0% | 0 g |
| Protein | 0 g | 0 g | |
| Vitamins | |||
| Vitamin D | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Vitamin A | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg | 0% | 0 mg |
| Vitamin E | 0 mg | 0% | 0 mg |
| Vitamin K | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Thiamin (B1) | 0 mg | 0% | 0 mg |
| Riboflavin (B2) | 0 mg | 0% | 0 mg |
| Niacin (B3) | 0 mg | 0% | 0 mg |
| Vitamin B6 | 0 mg | 0% | 0 mg |
| Folate (DFE) | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Vitamin B12 | 0 mcg | 0% | 0 mcg |
| Choline | 0 mg | 0% | 0 mg |
| Minerals | |||
| Calcium | 270 mg | 21% | 5,876 mg |
| Iron | 0.51 mg | 3% | 11 mg |
| Potassium | 0.92 mg | 0% | 20 mg |
| Magnesium | 1.2 mg | 0% | 27 mg |
| Phosphorus | 101 mg | 8% | 2,191 mg |
| Zinc | <0.1 mg | 0% | 0.01 mg |
| Copper | <0.1 mg | 0% | 0.01 mg |
| Manganese | <0.1 mg | 0% | 0.01 mg |
| Selenium | <0.1 mcg | 0% | 0.2 mcg |
| Other | |||
| Water | 0.2 g | 5 g | |
| Caffeine | 0 mg | 0 mg | |
| Alcohol | 0 g | 0 g | |
* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet (FDA reference values for adults and children 4 years and older). Per-100 g values are USDA figures before label rounding.
Every serving below is a USDA household measure for this food, a fraction of one, or a unit conversion. Amounts are USDA values scaled by weight; only the Nutrition Facts panel applies the coarser FDA label rounding.
| Serving | Weight | Calories | Total carbohydrate | Protein | Total fat | Dietary fiber | Total sugars |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 tsp | 4.6 g | 2 | 1.3 g | 0 g | 0 g | <0.1 g | 0 g |
| 1/2 tsp | 2.3 g | 1 | 0.6 g | 0 g | 0 g | <0.1 g | 0 g |
| 100 g | 100 g | 53 | 27.7 g | 0 g | 0 g | 0.2 g | 0 g |
Baking powder (1 tsp, 4.6 g) has 2 calories. 100 g has 53 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 0.
Baking powder (1 tsp, 4.6 g) has 270 mg of calcium, 21% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 5,876 mg. At 20% DV or more per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for an "excellent source" claim.
Baking powder (1 tsp, 4.6 g) has 488 mg of sodium, 21% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 10,600 mg. That is 20% DV or more per serving, which the FDA treats as high.
100 g of baking powder has 53 calories, 0 g protein, 27.7 g carbohydrate, 0.2 g fiber, 0 g sugars and 0 g fat.
About 100% of the calories in baking powder come from carbohydrate, 0% from fat and 0% from protein (Atwater factors of 4, 9 and 4 calories per gram).
The same serving of baking powder, drawn by the label formats other markets require: the Canadian bilingual Nutrition Facts table, the EU nutrition declaration (per 100 g, energy in kJ and kcal, salt instead of sodium) and the UK nutrition information table with reference intakes. The generator switches between these and many more from one recipe.
| Fat / Lipides | 0 g | 0 % |
| Saturated / Saturés | 0 g + Trans 0 g | 0 % |
| Cholesterol / Cholestérol | 0 mg | 0 % |
| Sodium | 490 mg | 21 % |
| Carbohydrate / Glucides | 1 g | 0 % |
| Fibre / Fibres | 0 g | 0 % |
| Sugars / Sucres | 0 g | 0 % |
| Protein / Protéines | 0 g | |
| Vitamin D / Vitamine D | 0 mcg | 0 % |
| Calcium | 270 mg | 21 % |
| Iron / Fer | 1 mg | 3 % |
| Potassium | 1 mg | 0 % |
| Per 100g | |
|---|---|
| Energy | 222 kJ / 53 kcal |
| Fat | 0.0 g |
| of which saturates | 0.0 g |
| Carbohydrate | 28 g |
| of which sugars | 0.0 g |
| Protein | 0.0 g |
| Salt | 26 g |
| Per 100g | Per 4.6g | %RI* | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Energy | 222 kJ 53 kcal |
10 kJ 2 kcal |
<1% |
| Fat | 0 gg | 0 gg | <1% |
| of which saturates | 0 gg | 0 gg | <1% |
| Carbohydrate | 28g | 1.3g | <1% |
| of which sugars | 0 gg | 0 gg | <1% |
| Fibre | 0 gg | 0 gg | - |
| Protein | 0 gg | 0 gg | <1% |
| Salt | 26.5g | 1.2g | 20% |
If you make and sell a product that contains baking powder, these free tools cover the next steps.
Nutrient values are from USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy (April 2018 release, public domain), record 172803: "Leavening agents, baking powder, double-acting, sodium aluminum sulfate". Values are stored per 100 g exactly as USDA reports them and scaled to each serving by weight. The Nutrition Facts panel applies the FDA rounding rules in 21 CFR 101.9; tables and text show the scaled amounts at reading precision, so a figure can differ slightly from the panel. A nutrient USDA does not report for this food is shown as not reported, never as a guessed value.
SR Legacy predates the added sugars field. This is a whole or unsweetened food, so added sugars are shown as 0 g. View the USDA record ↗