Skip to content
Nutrition database · Leafy greens

Cooked Spinach Nutrition Facts

Cooked Spinach nutrition facts from USDA FoodData Central: 41 calories in 1 cup, with 5.3 g protein, 6.8 g carbohydrate and 0.5 g fat. Change the serving below and the label, the summary and the full nutrient table update together.

Default serving
1 cup (180 g)

Cooked Spinach Nutrition Facts label

Nutrition Facts 1 serving per container Serving size 1 cup (180g) Amount per serving Calories 40 % Daily Value* Total Fat 0g 1% Saturated Fat 0g 0% Trans Fat 0g Cholesterol 0mg 0% Sodium 125mg 5% Total Carbohydrate 7g 2% Dietary Fiber 4g 15% Total Sugars less than 1g Includes 0g Added Sugars 0% Protein 5g Vitamin D 0mcg 0% Calcium 240mg 19% Iron 6.4mg 36% Potassium 840mg 18% The % Daily Value (DV) tells you how much a nutrient in a serving of food contributes to a daily diet. 2,000 calories a day is used for general nutrition advice. *

FDA standard format. Values use the FDA rounding rules for the serving you pick. Nutrients USDA does not report for this food print as 0 on the panel and as "not reported" in the table.

Download this label: · PNG Free to use as a reference. A label for a product you sell needs your full recipe and ingredient statement.

1 cup (180 g)

At a glance

Calories
41
Protein
5.3 g · 11%
Total carbohydrate
6.8 g · 2%
Total fat
0.5 g · 1%
Dietary fiber
4.3 g · 15%
Total sugars
0.8 g · 0%
Sodium
126 mg · 5%
Use cooked spinach in a recipe

Opens the free label generator with this amount of cooked spinach already added. Add the rest of your ingredients and the label updates as you go.

All nutrients for this serving
1 cup (180 g)
NutrientPer serving% DV*Per 100 g
Calories and macronutrients
Calories4123
Total fat0.5 g1%0.26 g
Saturated fat0.1 g0%0.04 g
Trans fat0 g0 g
Monounsaturated fat<0.1 g0.01 g
Polyunsaturated fat0.2 g0.11 g
Cholesterol0 mg0%0 mg
Sodium126 mg5%70 mg
Total carbohydrate6.8 g2%3.75 g
Dietary fiber4.3 g15%2.4 g
Total sugars0.8 g0.43 g
Added sugars0 g0%0 g
Protein5.3 g2.97 g
Vitamins
Vitamin D0 mcg0%0 mcg
Vitamin A943 mcg105%524 mcg
Vitamin C18 mg20%9.8 mg
Vitamin E3.7 mg25%2.08 mg
Vitamin K888 mcg740%494 mcg
Thiamin (B1)0.17 mg14%0.1 mg
Riboflavin (B2)0.42 mg33%0.24 mg
Niacin (B3)0.88 mg6%0.49 mg
Vitamin B60.44 mg26%0.24 mg
Folate (DFE)263 mcg66%146 mcg
Vitamin B120 mcg0%0 mcg
Choline35 mg6%19.7 mg
Minerals
Calcium245 mg19%136 mg
Iron6.4 mg36%3.57 mg
Potassium839 mg18%466 mg
Magnesium157 mg37%87 mg
Phosphorus101 mg8%56 mg
Zinc1.4 mg12%0.76 mg
Copper0.31 mg35%0.17 mg
Manganese1.7 mg73%0.94 mg
Selenium2.7 mcg5%1.5 mcg
Other
Water164.2 g91.2 g
Caffeine0 mg0 mg
Alcohol0 g0 g

* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet (FDA reference values for adults and children 4 years and older). Per-100 g values are USDA figures before label rounding.

Cooked Spinach nutrition by serving size

Every serving below is a USDA household measure for this food, a fraction of one, or a unit conversion. Amounts are USDA values scaled by weight; only the Nutrition Facts panel applies the coarser FDA label rounding.

ServingWeightCaloriesTotal carbohydrateProteinTotal fatDietary fiberTotal sugars
1 cup180 g416.8 g5.3 g0.5 g4.3 g0.8 g
100 g100 g233.8 g3 g0.3 g2.4 g0.4 g
1 oz28.4 g71.1 g0.8 g0.1 g0.7 g0.1 g

How many calories are in cooked spinach?

Cooked spinach (1 cup, 180 g) has 41 calories. 100 g has 23 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 40.

How much vitamin K is in cooked spinach?

Cooked spinach (1 cup, 180 g) has 888 mcg of vitamin K, 740% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 494 mcg. At 20% DV or more per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for an "excellent source" claim.

How much vitamin A is in cooked spinach?

Cooked spinach (1 cup, 180 g) has 943 mcg of vitamin A, 105% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 524 mcg. At 20% DV or more per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for an "excellent source" claim.

Cooked Spinach nutrition per 100 grams

100 g of cooked spinach has 23 calories, 2.97 g protein, 3.75 g carbohydrate, 2.4 g fiber, 0.43 g sugars and 0.26 g fat.

Where the calories in cooked spinach come from

About 51% of the calories in cooked spinach come from carbohydrate, 8% from fat and 41% from protein (Atwater factors of 4, 9 and 4 calories per gram).

Cooked Spinach nutrition label for Canada, the EU and the UK

The same serving of cooked spinach, drawn by the label formats other markets require: the Canadian bilingual Nutrition Facts table, the EU nutrition declaration (per 100 g, energy in kJ and kcal, salt instead of sodium) and the UK nutrition information table with reference intakes. The generator switches between these and many more from one recipe.

Frequently asked questions about cooked spinach

How many calories are in cooked spinach?
Cooked spinach (1 cup, 180 g) has 41 calories. 100 g has 23 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 40.
What is a serving of cooked spinach?
This page defaults to 1 cup (180 g), a USDA household measure. The serving size on a packaged food label is set by the FDA reference amount (RACC) for its category, so a product label can use a different amount. The selector above shows every USDA measure for cooked spinach.
Can I use cooked spinach in a Nutrition Facts label calculation?
Yes. Open the generator with cooked spinach added, enter the weight you use, add your other ingredients and the label is calculated from the same USDA record shown here. A label for a product you sell must reflect your actual recipe and finished serving.

Cooked Spinach compared with other forms

Different forms of the same food are separate USDA records, so each has its own page. Per 100 g:

FormCaloriesProteinTotal fatTotal carbohydrate
Cooked SpinachSpinach, cooked, boiled, drained, without salt232.97 g0.26 g3.75 g
SpinachSpinach, raw232.86 g0.39 g3.63 g
Frozen SpinachSpinach, frozen, chopped or leaf, unprepared (Includes foods for USDA's Food Distribution Program)293.63 g0.57 g4.21 g

Often compared or used with cooked spinach

More in Leafy greens

Tools and guides for labeling cooked spinach

If you make and sell a product that contains cooked spinach, these free tools cover the next steps.

Source and method

Nutrient values are from USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy (April 2018 release, public domain), record 168463: "Spinach, cooked, boiled, drained, without salt". Values are stored per 100 g exactly as USDA reports them and scaled to each serving by weight. The Nutrition Facts panel applies the FDA rounding rules in 21 CFR 101.9; tables and text show the scaled amounts at reading precision, so a figure can differ slightly from the panel. A nutrient USDA does not report for this food is shown as not reported, never as a guessed value.

SR Legacy predates the added sugars field. This is a whole or unsweetened food, so added sugars are shown as 0 g. View the USDA record ↗

Make a Nutrition Facts label with cooked spinach

Add cooked spinach and the rest of your recipe. The label, %DV and serving math are done for you. Free to start.