Skip to content
Nutrition database · Beans and legumes

Black-Eyed Peas Nutrition Facts

Black-eyed peas (1 cup, 171 g) has 198 calories, 13.2 g protein, 35.5 g carbohydrate and 0.9 g fat, according to USDA FoodData Central. 100 g has 116 calories. Change the serving below and the label, the summary and the full nutrient table update together.

Default serving
1 cup (171 g)

Black-Eyed Peas Nutrition Facts label

Nutrition Facts 1 serving per container Serving size 1 cup (171g) Amount per serving Calories 200 % Daily Value* Total Fat 1g 1% Saturated Fat 0g 1% Trans Fat 0g Cholesterol 0mg 0% Sodium 5mg 0% Total Carbohydrate 35g 13% Dietary Fiber 11g 40% Total Sugars 6g Includes 0g Added Sugars 0% Protein 13g Vitamin D 0mcg 0% Calcium 40mg 3% Iron 4.3mg 24% Potassium 480mg 10% The % Daily Value (DV) tells you how much a nutrient in a serving of food contributes to a daily diet. 2,000 calories a day is used for general nutrition advice. *

FDA standard format. Values use the FDA rounding rules for the serving you pick. Nutrients USDA does not report for this food print as 0 on the panel and as "not reported" in the table.

Download this label: · PNG Free to use as a reference. A label for a product you sell needs your full recipe and ingredient statement.

1 cup (171 g)

At a glance

Calories
198
Protein
13.2 g · 26%
Total carbohydrate
35.5 g · 13%
Total fat
0.9 g · 1%
Dietary fiber
11.1 g · 40%
Total sugars
5.6 g · 0%
Sodium
6.8 mg · 0%
Use black-eyed peas in a recipe

Opens the free label generator with this amount of black-eyed peas already added. Add the rest of your ingredients and the label updates as you go.

All nutrients for this serving
1 cup (171 g)
NutrientPer serving% DV*Per 100 g
Calories and macronutrients
Calories198116
Total fat0.9 g1%0.53 g
Saturated fat0.2 g1%0.14 g
Trans fat0 g0 g
Monounsaturated fat0.1 g0.04 g
Polyunsaturated fat0.4 g0.23 g
Cholesterol0 mg0%0 mg
Sodium6.8 mg0%4 mg
Total carbohydrate35.5 g13%20.8 g
Dietary fiber11.1 g40%6.5 g
Total sugars5.6 g3.3 g
Added sugars0 g0%0 g
Protein13.2 g7.73 g
Vitamins
Vitamin D0 mcg0%0 mcg
Vitamin A1.7 mcg0%1 mcg
Vitamin C0.68 mg1%0.4 mg
Vitamin E0.48 mg3%0.28 mg
Vitamin K2.9 mcg2%1.7 mcg
Thiamin (B1)0.35 mg29%0.2 mg
Riboflavin (B2)0.09 mg7%0.06 mg
Niacin (B3)0.85 mg5%0.5 mg
Vitamin B60.17 mg10%0.1 mg
Folate (DFE)356 mcg89%208 mcg
Vitamin B120 mcg0%0 mcg
Choline55 mg10%32.2 mg
Minerals
Calcium41 mg3%24 mg
Iron4.3 mg24%2.51 mg
Potassium475 mg10%278 mg
Magnesium91 mg22%53 mg
Phosphorus267 mg21%156 mg
Zinc2.2 mg20%1.29 mg
Copper0.46 mg51%0.27 mg
Manganese0.81 mg35%0.48 mg
Selenium4.3 mcg8%2.5 mcg
Other
Water119.8 g70 g
Caffeine0 mg0 mg
Alcohol0 g0 g

* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet (FDA reference values for adults and children 4 years and older). Per-100 g values are USDA figures before label rounding.

Black-Eyed Peas nutrition by serving size

Every serving below is a USDA household measure for this food, a fraction of one, or a unit conversion. Amounts are USDA values scaled by weight; only the Nutrition Facts panel applies the coarser FDA label rounding.

ServingWeightCaloriesTotal carbohydrateProteinTotal fatDietary fiberTotal sugars
1 cup171 g19835.5 g13.2 g0.9 g11.1 g5.6 g
100 g100 g11620.8 g7.7 g0.5 g6.5 g3.3 g
1 oz28.4 g335.9 g2.2 g0.2 g1.8 g0.9 g

How many calories are in black-eyed peas?

Black-eyed peas (1 cup, 171 g) has 198 calories. 100 g has 116 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 200.

How much folate is in black-eyed peas?

Black-eyed peas (1 cup, 171 g) has 356 mcg of folate, 89% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 208 mcg. At 20% DV or more per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for an "excellent source" claim.

How much copper is in black-eyed peas?

Black-eyed peas (1 cup, 171 g) has 0.46 mg of copper, 51% of the Daily Value. 100 g has 0.27 mg. At 20% DV or more per serving, that meets the FDA threshold for an "excellent source" claim.

Black-Eyed Peas nutrition per 100 grams

100 g of black-eyed peas has 116 calories, 7.73 g protein, 20.8 g carbohydrate, 6.5 g fiber, 3.3 g sugars and 0.53 g fat.

Where the calories in black-eyed peas come from

About 70% of the calories in black-eyed peas come from carbohydrate, 4% from fat and 26% from protein (Atwater factors of 4, 9 and 4 calories per gram).

Black-Eyed Peas nutrition label for Canada, the EU and the UK

The same serving of black-eyed peas, drawn by the label formats other markets require: the Canadian bilingual Nutrition Facts table, the EU nutrition declaration (per 100 g, energy in kJ and kcal, salt instead of sodium) and the UK nutrition information table with reference intakes. The generator switches between these and many more from one recipe.

Frequently asked questions about black-eyed peas

How many calories are in black-eyed peas?
Black-eyed peas (1 cup, 171 g) has 198 calories. 100 g has 116 calories. On a Nutrition Facts label, calories are rounded to the nearest 5 or 10, so the panel above may show 200.
How many calories are in 100 g of black-eyed peas?
100 g of black-eyed peas has 116 calories, 7.73 g protein, 20.8 g carbohydrate and 0.53 g fat.
How much protein is in black-eyed peas?
Black-eyed peas (1 cup, 171 g) has 13.2 g protein, 26% of the 50 g Daily Value. 100 g has 7.73 g.
How many calories are in black-eyed peas, raw vs cooked?
100 g of black-eyed peas has 336 calories dry and 116 calories boiled. It takes up water as it cooks, so the same weight holds fewer calories. Weigh it in the same state as the values you use.
What is a serving of black-eyed peas?
This page defaults to 1 cup (171 g), a USDA household measure. The serving size on a packaged food label is set by the FDA reference amount (RACC) for its category, so a product label can use a different amount. The selector above shows every USDA measure for black-eyed peas.
Can I use black-eyed peas in a Nutrition Facts label calculation?
Yes. Open the generator with black-eyed peas added, enter the weight you use, add your other ingredients and the label is calculated from the same USDA record shown here. A label for a product you sell must reflect your actual recipe and finished serving.

Black-Eyed Peas compared with other forms

Different forms of the same food are separate USDA records, so each has its own page. Per 100 g:

FormCaloriesProteinTotal fatTotal carbohydrate
Black-Eyed PeasCowpeas, common (blackeyes, crowder, southern), mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt1167.73 g0.53 g20.8 g
Canned Black-Eyed PeasCowpeas, common (blackeyes, crowder, southern), mature seeds, canned, plain774.74 g0.55 g13.6 g
Dry Black-Eyed PeasCowpeas, common (blackeyes, crowder, southern), mature seeds, raw33623.5 g1.26 g60 g

Often compared or used with black-eyed peas

More in Beans and legumes

Tools and guides for labeling black-eyed peas

If you make and sell a product that contains black-eyed peas, these free tools cover the next steps.

Source and method

Nutrient values are from USDA FoodData Central, SR Legacy (April 2018 release, public domain), record 173759: "Cowpeas, common (blackeyes, crowder, southern), mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt". Values are stored per 100 g exactly as USDA reports them and scaled to each serving by weight. The Nutrition Facts panel applies the FDA rounding rules in 21 CFR 101.9; tables and text show the scaled amounts at reading precision, so a figure can differ slightly from the panel. A nutrient USDA does not report for this food is shown as not reported, never as a guessed value.

SR Legacy predates the added sugars field. This is a whole or unsweetened food, so added sugars are shown as 0 g. View the USDA record ↗

Make a Nutrition Facts label with black-eyed peas

Add black-eyed peas and the rest of your recipe. The label, %DV and serving math are done for you. Free to start.